We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Value in Cinque Terre”

La Cantina del Pescatore
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$14
Cuisines: Bar, Cafe, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast
Description: tel + 39 0187 81 7589
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best Value in Cinque Terre”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Love this ristorante! Owners and staff are extremely friendly. Their homemade food is scrumptious and very inexpensive, and they even have a gift shop that sells limoncello custom-made for their shop.

Try the green limoncello if you go. It's made from "young" lemons and has a beautiful green hue and a slightly tart flavor. It paired perfectly with the fresh bruschetta and caprese.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank QueenJared
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    164
    76
    9
    1
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
toronto
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Skip the trattoria and just eat fried fresh fish”
Reviewed 23 May 2014

In this Cinque Terra town, the specialty is supposed to be fried fish. This little place does it best. A paper cone of mixed fish and veg (mostly fish, with some zucchini and onion rings), with another of French fries, will do nicely for lunch for two. It will also fill your quota for fried food for the week. But it's really good and varied, all for about ten euros.

I said it has outdoor seating. That's two benches outside the place.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank g26sailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Very friendly service, nice fresh food”
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We were very pleased to come across this small restaurant/shop in our first hour of arriving in Monterosso -- a good start to our holiday. Service was good, polite and friendly. The bruschetta was fresh, tasty and good value for money. The wine was also good. We sat outside and observed the locals, this is a good relaxed location from which to do that. Overall, this is the kind of place that you'll want to do well, want to give your money to in return for enjoyable food. We didn't get chance to come back (it was closed the evenings we tried), which was a shame, but it would definitely be on our list should we ever return to Monterosso. Recommended.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BritinHD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Good wine but perfect service!”
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Admittedly, we stopped in here due to an emergency: we needed a phone. The generous proprietor, Simon, lent us his with no questions asked. When we decided to stick around for wine and a snack, we found the wine to be really lovely, at a reasonable price and the cookies to be quite tasty. Simon was attentive and kind, and we ended up chatting with him for a few hours! We bought the wine we drank and a few other items and he gave us a canvas tote bag for free.

We enjoyed it so much, we stopped by the next day for coffee and were delighted to meet his girlfriend, and co-proprietor, Veronica. The espresso was quite expertly pulled, the cappuccino had perfect froth and the foccacia was light and savory. Additionally, each time we were here the bill was incredibly small!

We cannot recommend it enough, not just for the cheap drinks and food, but for the perfect staff and service!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank stbride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eagle, Idaho
Level 6 Contributor
466 reviews
191 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 232 helpful votes
“Great lunch”
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We saw this place on trip adviser and its just around the corner from where we are staying , so we stopped in for lunch.
I had a sandwich which was delicious and Cindy had caprisso salad , we share with each other and drank two beers , super fresh and good !

total bill 16€ what a bargain, we" ll be back !

Mike

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Cantina del Pescatore also viewed

Monterosso al Mare, Cinque Terre
Monterosso al Mare, Cinque Terre
 
Monterosso al Mare, Cinque Terre
Monterosso al Mare, Cinque Terre
 

Been to La Cantina del Pescatore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing