We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“IMPORTANT must read”
Review of Hotel Baia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Baia
Ranked #17 of 20 Hotels in Monterosso al Mare
Paris, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“IMPORTANT must read”
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Before you book here please Read the reviews. They are not exaggerated by any means. This would have to be by far the worst hotel in Europe that we stayed in and we did one month of traveling!It will ruin your trip. Worst bed ever, worst service by far, only have wifi in lobby which we got kicked out of at night because they wanted to go to bed. Elevator only for bags. Young workers there were nice but the old lady will have you begging god to bless you with patience and not strength cause you will want to throw her of the balcony.Dont waste your money on this place.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank BeauKane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    120
    90
    34
    60
See reviews for
66
193
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

I'm not a fan of writing negative comments however after what was supposed to be a romantic stay in Cinque Terre, I feel compelled to share our experience.

Firstly on arrival we weren't greeted nicely at all. The elder lady on reception was extremely rude and condescending.

After 5 minutes of her ranting in Italian after we explained half a dozen times we only speak English, we were told she did not have our booking in her diary.

It took three staff members to assist in finding our reservation at which time they tried to tell us a different room and price to what we had already booked.

Eventually we made it to out room, the corridors were trashy and dimly lit. Not in any way an ambient or romantic hotel. The elevator is for luggage and staff only. And the room was like a bar cave, dark and cold.

As for the facilities, don't rely on the hair drier, there was no cold water so we had boiling hot showers, no toiletries or information on the facilities.

We had to ask for the wifi connection which we could only use in the reception and outside - horrible if you need any privacy. We wouldn't have minded using it in the foyer, if after hours it wasn't occupied by I assume one of the owners smoking, drinking and watching an Italian soap opera. We were rudely asked to leave the foyer half way through booking out next days travels and told we could use it outside on the street in the freezing cold.

For the stupid amount we paid to stay here, I am disgusted. This is by far the worst hotel in Europe we have experienced and I would never stay here again nor recommend it to anyone. The location is amazing, easy access to the train station but a total disaster in every other aspect.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jejaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Monterosso al Mare hotels

Sudbury, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

We booked last minute, just due to its proximity to the train station and the fact that you walk right out the front door to the Mediterranean, literally across the sidewalk. No regrets. Great location, excellent breakfast. Everything is right at your door. And you can't beat falling asleep or waking up to the sound of the waves coming onto the beach. If you plan to hike the Cinque Terre, this is an excellent place to stay.

Room Tip: Ask for one with an ocean view, there are only a few.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Maureen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed here during summer despite reading some negative reviews on trip advisor. We chose Hotel Baia based on its location and although slightly nervous at first we were not disappointed. We stayed in the ocean view room - it was basic with air conditioning, exactly what we needed. Even if the hotel is relatively expensive, it was worth it for the location and convenience. We had no complaints about the staff either, we found them to be quite helpful. We were happy with breakfast in the mornings, and yes wifi was only available in the lobby but with all the beautiful surroundings why would you bother spending hours in your room using wifi. Dinner at the restaurant was lovely also. We would definitely stay there again.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank ruby_a01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

We decided to take a train trip to Cinque Terra not knowing anything. When we go to the train station in Monterrosa we asked if there were any Hotels.They gave us a list and high lighted Baia. Baia is just steps away from the train station. We asked for a room with a view (120 euros) vs a room in the back (100 euros) Since we were there for only one night we went with the beautiful view of the Mediterranean Ocean....bellisima. The room was small (as most are in Europe), clean, and the breakfast was good. We did not have any problem with the staff, they were lovely (it may have been because if was starting to be off-season.) They only take VISA. Usually the restaurant only take cash, but again, since it was off season they were will to take our VISA.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FriedaLucy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunbury, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Beautiful location directly opposite the Mediterrainean Sea, very romantic, lovely large rooms and very clean, the staff were very friendly and helpful, but obviously smokers !!
The restaurant was too expensive to have dinner at but breakfasts were convenient although not delicious, thank heavens for fruit (tinned) & yoghurt.
The second night we were there the hot water was cut off due to broken boiler, the staff were very apologetic but the owner outright rude, in hindsight we should have asked for compensation.
Wifi only worked in front foyer.
It was also a very noisy hotel from within and outside, Saturday night was very noisy.
We were charged 10 euro each to use there beach, even though we were already paying customers, plus 2 euro each for a towel each, so an afternoon at beach cost 24 euro.
Overall far too expensive, certainly not value for money.

Room Tip: I'd avoid this place despite excellent location
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jennifer610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We tried to get into every hotel in monterosso without any success. We eventually got the last room for the Thursday Friday nights. It is an expensive hotel, but then again, that is most of Europe. Yes, there are flies. Yes, the internet is only available in the foyer, but it is free. The beach is across the road and it is a short work to almost everywhere. The ferry is five minutes away which is just five minutes walk away, as is the station. I would have much rather have stayed at the hotel le spiaggia next door, but we missed out on the last room there by just a minute. The room was clean, but very basic. Breakfast was a typical Italian deal with cheese and ham etc. The bar doesn't open until five which is annoying when I wanted to use the internet, sit in the sun and have a glass of wine whilst watching the world go by at about 4pm.

Beware. You can book using your Amex card but can't pay for your bill with it. Doesn't seem to make sense.

If I was ever there again, I probably would chose somewhere else. And yes, the old Italian bird is a bit of hard work. Would be nice if she smiled once in a while.

Room Tip: If you are going to stay, get a balcony room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MelCraigSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterosso al Mare hotels
0.4 mi away
Albergo Marina
Albergo Marina
#18 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
609 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel 5 Terre
Hotel 5 Terre
#10 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
406 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Monterosso Alto
Hotel Monterosso Alto
#14 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Porto Roca
Hotel Porto Roca
#8 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
592 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Palme
Hotel Palme
#16 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
274 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Adriana
Hotel Villa Adriana
#9 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Baia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Baia

Property: Hotel Baia
Address: Via Fegina 88, 19016 Monterosso al Mare, Italy
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Cinque Terre > Monterosso al Mare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 20 Hotels in Monterosso al Mare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Baia 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Baia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baia Hotel Monterosso Al Mare
Hotel Baia Monterosso Al Mare, Cinque Terre, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing