We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location is the only reason to stay here”
Review of Hotel Baia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Baia
Ranked #17 of 20 Hotels in Monterosso al Mare
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Great location just minutes from the train station and right on the beach in Monterosso. However, that was the only perl. For 160 euros a night our room was old, very basic, very small, and did not had a view. There was a large patio, but it was shared and faced the back so it was not somewhere anyone would want to spend time in the Cinque Terre. The bed was literally rock hard. So uncomfortable I didn't sleep very well. The bathroom was the worst part - TINY, smelly, and cramped. Breakfast was included, but nothing special.

The stafff was more or less very nice, and the hotel has umbrellas on the beach you can rent for a discounted rate. But for the cost, this place is not a value.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (378)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

122 - 128 of 378 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2014

Rooms super small.
Rude owner and reception.
No client attention at all.
Very, very, very expensive for the level of the service, infrastructure, size of rooms/beds (compared to European standards, not American)
And, again, terrible service and rudeness.
Definitely a very bad choice that ruined the whole beginning of our stay in Cinque Terre...

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Vacanceitaliana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We recently spent a week in Monterosso and stayed at the Baia hotel. We couldn't have chosen a better place. The hotel is in the new part of Monterosso. It lies only 200 meters from the railway station and right on the beach. From our balcony on the top floor we had a superb view of the sea, the beach and the whole Cinque Terre area.
On the negative side, there was no wifi in the rooms, only in the lobby; there was no elevator except for invalids and luggage; and it was quite expensive (but I suppose the whole area is expensive).

Room Tip: The rooms on the top floor with a balcony facing the sea have a view well worth the extra price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dag L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Hotel Baia is a nice comfortable hotel with a second to none location overlooking the water and only 100m from the train station. The room was adequate and clean. The wi fi worked well downstairs in the hotel. The buffet breakfast was excellent. The hotel is not cheap but good value for excellent location.

Room Tip: Water view rooms worth the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank david m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Position of the hotel is fantastic and so close to the station with heavy bags it is so easy to get to. But very expensive for what you get. Hotel is basic and clean and the young staff are friendly. But the older lady who runs it is very rude and inflexible about anything. We stayed four nights and one day they completely missed cleaning our room. No apology or offer of anything to make up for it. Yes the views are wonderful but the room was tiny. We couldn't lay out 2 suitcases and when it was cleaned they missed many things. We loved the village but felt the hotel was not good value and others would be better.

Room Tip: Front rooms overlooking the water have the best views but are very small. Don't know if others a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We had spent the sunny and warm afternoon on the beach had been back to the apartment showered, changed and looking for a drink before selecting a restaurant, we stopped under the umbrellas opposite the motel and spent a fantastic hour or so watching the people and very much enjoying the cold drinks an attentive waiter and extensive complimentary nibbles. A great way to end a day at the beach.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Graeme S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Monterosso is very busy once the tourist season commences. This hotel is in an excellent position across the road from the beach. It isn't cheap but then this is a tourist hotspot. The walk to Vernazza is well worth the effort. Restaurants are within easy reach. The staff were helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Longdistancetravel52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterosso al Mare hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Porto Roca
Hotel Porto Roca
#8 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
622 reviews
0.4 mi away
Albergo Marina
Albergo Marina
#15 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
633 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Monterosso Alto
Hotel Monterosso Alto
#18 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel 5 Terre
Hotel 5 Terre
#10 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
418 reviews
0.4 mi away
Suisse Hotel Bellevue
Suisse Hotel Bellevue
#13 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
297 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Palme
Hotel Palme
#16 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Baia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Baia

Address: Via Fegina 88, 19016 Monterosso al Mare, Italy
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Cinque Terre > Monterosso al Mare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 20 Hotels in Monterosso al Mare
Price Range: £133 - £194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Baia 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Baia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baia Hotel Monterosso Al Mare
Hotel Baia Monterosso Al Mare, Cinque Terre, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing