We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very cute”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Albergo Degli Amici
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in Monterosso al Mare
Reviewed 30 September 2013

What a sweet little place, tucked away in a quiet corner, we loved it. Yes it's small and basic, but very comfortable , decent wifi, and a nice staff. I also thought the breakfast was quite good. We stayed there only one night so we could arrive for Angelo's boat tour on time, and so happy we had the chance to explore the town.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank luvsbgi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (284)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

113 - 119 of 286 reviews

Reviewed 30 September 2013

This hotel was in an excellent location in Monterosso Old Town. It was a short walk to the main town centre and beach, but far enough away that you weren't hindered by the noise or the tourists. The hotel has a fabulous roof garden which you could take your own drinks up to to watch the sunset, with stunning views over the town.

Our room had slight ocean views, it was small but comfortable and very clean. The breakfast at the hotel had a great selection and while the stay was expensive as it was high season, we very much enjoyed our time at this hotel. It is a 10 minute walk from the main station and you have to walk up a slight incline, to get there, but it's surrounded by great restaurants, wine bars and Gastronimcas all 5 minutes from the hotel front door.

Room Tip: Get a balcony room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KMAC06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

This hotel is in a quiet location despite being just steps away from the centre of the old town. The staff at the reception were nice and helpful and you can even borrow beach towels free of charge. There was a safe in the room (included in the room rate) and wifi worked well. The size of the room was reasonable and we had enough space for our things although it was not a large room. The beds were hard and not very comfortable and the pillows were very hard and even more uncomfortable. Breakfast was a slight disappointment, because of the poor selection of bread (instead they had a larger selection of sweet cakes, which we are not used to for breakfast) and the juice was not very good either.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zenita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Centrally located in "old" Monterosso, near all the cafe's and shops. Friendly, courteous staff. Great breakfast, room was very clean and quiet. Reasonably priced, after seeing the other hotels we couldn't get a room at, we were even more happier with our choice. The garden area is the big bonus here. It was great to go upstairs and have a bottle of wine, overlooking Monterosso and the ocean. when we come back, we will be staying here again. GREAT PLACE!

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Huggy33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013 via mobile

My family and I stayed here for 2 nights. The staff from the reception to the cleaning ladies were all so nice and helpful. They loved our Yorkshire terrier who we brought along. We live 3 hours away and it was our first time in the Cinque Terre. I did'nt read anything Monterosso being in a very restricted area in the sense of parking. It should be specifically mentioned that 2 parking lots are available via a 15 min walk or taxi or shuttle. Many foreign visitors come from the train station and often don't know how the transport system works and have to wait 30 min to be taken to their hotels. We came with our car and left it at the paid car park and taxi'ed it back after our stay. Even the taxi drivers would like more information put out there. There are 3 of them offering their services. We used Amico Taxi and the driver was extremely helpful. Monterosso is well connected via train or a nice challenging hike to the next town of Varnazza. Gorgeous!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank catgio1901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

I came back this year again due to the warm friendless staff, the location in the centre if the old town tucked in a corner so no noise and the fantastic roof garden with lemon trees, olive and lemon trees! That it! The rooms are a good size and up to the standard of any older Italian hotel. You spend very little time in the room anyway as there is o much to do & see & then the train takes you to all the other little villages!! I love it too as people dress very casual and it is great for walking. Enjoy!

Room Tip: Bring your own hair dryer ladies
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Agreatplace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

The staff on reception were very helpful, and welcoming.
The room was clean, and bright, adequate space.
The garden has the most amazing view in Monterosso, a peaceful slice of paradise.
The breakfast was very very good. You'll find your room number on one of the tables, look for your room number and that is your table. The lady in the breakfast room is a little cranky and may shout at you if you sit at the wrong table :P
You'll get a little voucher for a % off a local restaurant when you check in, use it...it was our best meal in Italy. L'ancora della Tortuga I think it's called, booking is advise, the setting is amazing, and the food very very good.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fionab555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterosso al Mare hotels
0.0 mi away
Albergo Marina
Albergo Marina
#15 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
628 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Monterosso Alto
Hotel Monterosso Alto
#18 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
176 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Margherita
Hotel Margherita
#5 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Porto Roca
Hotel Porto Roca
#8 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
613 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Adriana
Hotel Villa Adriana
#9 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
450 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Stella della Marina
Hotel Stella della Marina
#3 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo Degli Amici? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo Degli Amici

Address: Via Buranco 36, 19016 Monterosso al Mare, Italy
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Cinque Terre > Monterosso al Mare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in Monterosso al Mare
Price Range: £105 - £202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Albergo Degli Amici 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Albergo Degli Amici reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Degli Amici Hotel Monterosso Al Mare
Albergo Degli Amici Monterosso Al Mare, Cinque Terre, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing