We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel in a great location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Albergo Degli Amici

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Albergo Degli Amici
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in Monterosso al Mare
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice hotel in a great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

This hotel provided just what our family of 4 needed - a place to sleep while enjoying the beauty of the area. The included breakfast was wonderful. It provided many choices of fruit and bread and was the only place that had bacon and scrambled eggs during our entire Italian vacation. The WiFi was a problem in that it would only allow a certain number of users, and after that we had to wait to hook up. Front desk staff was helpful and the location is perfect.

The room was decent and clean and the air conditioning worked well.

I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TomK1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    118
    41
    20
    6
See reviews for
51
115
17
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, New York
Level Contributor
72 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

This hotel is located in a great, central area of Monterosso, making it easily accessible. The staff was friendly and helpful, the breakfast was plentiful with a plethora of options, it was clean and safe, so no complaints here. We had a 2 bedroom "suite", which is really a separate house by the outside roof garden, this part of the hotel was not easily accessible and it was an absolute mission to carry our luggage from the main building here, up and down very narrow and uneven steps. The rooms were outdated, the walls were paper thin - I could hear our neighbor, and the fact that we were on the top floor, and separate from the main building meant that our rooms weren't being cleaned until early to mid afternoon. Another fact that should be mentioned is that we had absolutely no wifi access in our room. We had to go to the lobby to be able to connect. Overall I wouldn't mind staying here again, even though I believe that it was very overpriced for what we got, however I would request a room in the main building, and I wouldn't go back during the summer. It's just too hot.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MissyMinns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

We booked late for our recent vacation in the Cinque Terre so I was happy to get this hotel when we booked. There is a lot to recommend it. The people who manage it are very nice. The breakfast is ample if mainly unchanging. We did have friend eggs the last day which was a nice change. The location was nice (if you want the most traditional beach definitely stay in Monterosso). There were a few problems though. Our air conditioner leaked; even though we told the hotel the first morning (in a four night stay) we were there it was never fixed during our stay. They did provide extra towels though to be fair. The toiletries are not great. It is almost impossible to get a lather with the soap provided. The ladies who worked the front desk were lovely and helped steer us to good reservations. We ate very well. Definitely hike as much of the main trail as you can. Bring water shoes because the beach is very rocky. Make sure to visit the beautifully roof top garden.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a private bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HubbellGardiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

The title of my review says it all. The location was great. It's hard to ruin the experience of this beautiful, small town. But the room itself seemed a bit lackluster. Was it the paper thin walls? Was it the less than modern feel? Was it the breakfast attendant with a short temper who had a hard time with the cappuccino machine?
On the plus side, our room offered a balcony with a view. If you find it on the upper level there is a wonderful outdoor area with tables and a great atmosphere. The front desk attendant was sweet as well.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carlos Rogelio D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodbridge, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

Stayed at the Albergo Degli Amici May 14 for 3 nts. The hotel is easy to access and has a beautiful gardden area with a breathtaking view. Good breakfast choices and the staff was very helpful and friendly. We had a big room with a balcony on the 4th floor facing the sea. Even though the AC is individual control, it is still a centrally controlled system as to whether you get heat or ac. They dont turn it on to AC until June though. They put a huge fan in our room though when we mentioned being warm. The towels in Cinque Terra are thin material more like a linen tablecloth because most places dont have dryers. (Grab one of the beach towels provided by the elevator). The shower head faced the shower curtain which was unusual and took getting used to. Loved being in the quaint old part of town. We would stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ppatton3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

I stayed here for 2 nights at the end of my two week journey, it was in a great location (since Monterosso is so small anyways) and it's about 10 mins walking from train station.
It's close to two beaches, one only 2 mins walk, the other about ten.
Breakfast was great, good selection of pastries, cereal, eggs, and juices. Lovely.
There is an elevator, which is always easier on the legs and knees when you are on the third floor.
Staff was helpful and friendly. Wifi works best in the hotel lobby, only at times was I able to get a connection in the room.
The rooms are clean, and nice clean bathrooms. The showers are small for a typical American. I'm a small person and I had some trouble with the small shower. But- it has hot water and it gets the job done. My only complaint is that the walls are thin, and we could hear every conversation from our neighbors. This only was a problem when trying to sleep with it being noisy. At the end of the day, this is a fabulous hotel in a good location, and it allows for a roof over your head while you sleep.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carly T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fishers, Indiana
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

Hotel is conveniently located in the old part of Monterosso but on a quiet side street. Room was very small and noisy when other guests talked too loudly, although bathroom was nicely updated. Staff were very helpful, breakfast was great, and rooftop garden is a quiet haven with a great view.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from other guests if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HoosierTraveler51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterosso al Mare hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel Monterosso Alto
Hotel Monterosso Alto
#15 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
4.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Porto Roca
Hotel Porto Roca
#8 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
4.0 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Stella della Marina
Hotel Stella della Marina
#3 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Margherita
Hotel Margherita
#5 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 601 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Accini
Hotel Villa Accini
#14 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
3.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel La Spiaggia
Hotel La Spiaggia
#6 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo Degli Amici? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo Degli Amici

Property: Albergo Degli Amici
Address: Via Buranco 36, 19016 Monterosso al Mare, Italy
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Cinque Terre > Monterosso al Mare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in Monterosso al Mare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Albergo Degli Amici 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Albergo Degli Amici reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Degli Amici Hotel Monterosso Al Mare
Albergo Degli Amici Monterosso Al Mare, Cinque Terre, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing