We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, affordable price!”
Review of Hotel Souvenir

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Souvenir
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Location, affordable price!”
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

The hotel is located in the middle of the old town. This location allows to get the whole experience of Monterosso.

The rooms are very clean and the service as a whole is great. Its American breakfast is also good with many different choices.

One of the only cons its the internet quality (wich is only available in common areas) and the tiny size of the bathrooms.

I`d recomend this hotel to anyone!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Juan Jose Anton... A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    153
    147
    39
    6
    9
See reviews for
55
195
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

PROS:
*great staff - warm and friendly, helpful
*strong water pressure and shower head in bathroom
*varied breakfast options but coffee was from a self-serve machine
*mechanized blackout curtains covering the balcony door

CONS:
*TERRIBLE sheets - scratchy, rough, noisy, very low thread count - incredibly uncomfortable
*Flat pillows
*Spotty wi-fi - only works on some iPhone models and even so it frequently cuts out
*Sounds carry in halls and through bathroom vents
*Balcony had view of opposite building
*Front door locks at 10.30pm, so you must carry an extra key (quite large!)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RMD_NYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

I booked the most basic room via Hotels.com. When my husband and I checked in, the receiptionist automatically upgraded us to the Junior suite at no cost! This hotel was recently renovated so everything was brand new and clean. They use card keys that also controls the electricity in the room. The window blinds were automatic. You do get your own bathroom. I have no complaints about his hotel other than the wifi not working. The complimentary breakfast was decent and you can order espresso drinks at no additional cost.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mdvu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We enjoyed our stay here. Great location and Monterosso is amazing! James and Joseph were so nice! There is no AC, which was a killer for us in July. The breakfast was very good. Overall, a good value.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SarahLovesCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Although our room was small, it was newly renovated in modern sophisticated style with a balcony (always a bonus). The hotel is tucked away in a quiet neighborhood in Old Towne Monterosso with a great courtyard. There are a lot of stairs, but the hotel staff assisted us with our bags without hesitation. The free wi-fi worked very well in our room -- we had no issues with it at all. The only thing that kept me from giving 5 stars was the noise level that could be heard from the hallways -- the walls seem rather thin. Other than that, Hotel Souvenir was fantastic.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dallask10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

No WIFI in your room sums this place up. Essential for most travelers, you need to sit at the hotel bar to enjoy access to the web. Basic amenities with no air conditioning. We stayed in room 3 which was average.
Great and friendly service. Good if you are looking for an base in cinque terra with no flash. Head in with low expectations.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Chrisbell084
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Souvenir P, Direttore at Hotel Souvenir, responded to this review, 7 April 2016
Hello,

thank you for your review. We had a problem in 2014 with the wifi, "digital divide" unfortunately, now we have network access in all the rooms.
We have air conditioning in all the comforts room.

Thank you for your stay, we hope to have you here again.

Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota, USA
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

My friend Susie and I stayed at Hotel Souvenir...and just LOVED it! We were first thrilled we choose Monterosso...as we think it's the best place to stay in Cinque Terre! The hotel was recently renovated, darling rooms (modern italian feel)...with all new fixtures and fabulous NEW bathrooms. Our room was quite roomy too for the area. The air conditioner worked great as well. The hotel staff...Riminna and Daniel were absolutely wonderful. So helpful and kind. Tip for all the American Travelers...travel light...unless you want to lug your bag around and the rooms won't be as big as in the states! There are no elevators...but this is a quaint part of Italy...so you'll get some stairs in - you'll be fine - you can have another gelato! The breakfast was wonderful and the courtyard was lovely! Thw wifi works out there...don't come to Cinque Terre if all you want to do is be online...stay home:) It's a little oasis among the hotels!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monterosso al Mare
0.1 mi away
Albergo Marina
Albergo Marina
#18 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
598 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Monterosso Alto
Hotel Monterosso Alto
#14 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
161 reviews
5.4 mi away
Locanda del Sole
Locanda del Sole
#2 of 11 in Riomaggiore
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
No photo provided
Hotel Porto Roca
#8 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
584 reviews
4.3 mi away
No photo provided
Luna di Marzo
#4 of 11 in Riomaggiore
192 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel 5 Terre
Hotel 5 Terre
#10 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Souvenir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Souvenir

Property: Hotel Souvenir
Address: Via Vincenzo Gioberti 24, 19016 Monterosso al Mare, Italy
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Cinque Terre > Monterosso al Mare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Monterosso al Mare
#10 Romantic Hotel in Monterosso al Mare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Souvenir 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the historic centre of Monterosso, at only 5 minutes from the beach, there is the Souvenir, a hotel with a unique design that mixes past and modern; it welcomes you with the quietness of its colours and the scents of its garden. It is easily reachable, at the Souvenir you can taste a fresh cocktail admiring the sunset from the common terrace or surrounded by the quietness of the garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Souvenir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Souvenir Monterosso Al Mare, Cinque Terre, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing