We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best there is!”
Review of Hotel Villa Steno

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Monterosso al Mare
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Villa Steno
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Once again, I was fortunate to return to Monterosso and the Hotel Villa Steno. Matteo and Carla are the warmest and kindest of hosts imaginable. They are extremely knowledgeable about the area and offer many tips on where and what to visit, restaurants, and hiking trails. The breakfast is worth the stay - best coffee of any place in Italy, great homemade marmalades and jams, meats and cheeses, fresh scrambled eggs which are "yummy" (and I don't even particularly like eggs!), juices, breads, homemade cakes, cookies, fruit, yogurt, cereals, and more. Eating on the terrace with a view of the sea and the town or indoors is equally pleasant. Rooms are clean, nice size, electric tea kettle, painted with warm colors, have air-conditioning, and most have terraces or balconies with wonderful views of the sea. The terrace above the hotel provides a quiet spot for reading, sunbathing, relaxing, and taking in the views.
Hotel Villa Steno is a "must stay" hotel if you are in the Cinque Terre area.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony or terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Cadorina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,314)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

628 - 634 of 1,314 reviews

Reviewed 20 January 2014

Hotel Villa Steno is the place to be in Monterosso al Mare. The bedroom had a terrace, it was big with a great bathroom. The breakfast is great and home made jams are so good you can leave without buying one! There is a roof terrace which offers a great view of Monterosso al mare!Great value for money, very comfy place to stay. Staff very friendly!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank myrlito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013 via mobile

Positioned high above the town, Hotel Steno is still only a short walk to all the sights such as the lemon grove. The rooms are divine, decorated in a buttercup yellow and we had a large balcony to sit and admire the view. We enjoyed the huge breakfast and great company before heading off on with the map and trail guide (only 1 was open when we went). Wish we could have stayed longer. Thank you!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jenny L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013

It was hard to leave Villa Steno after our 3rd night. We wish we had stayed at least one more day. Matteo and Carla are so warm and welcoming. Matteo sent us taxi and walking directions from the train that were excellent. Service before and during our stay could not have been better. The breakfast on their terrace restaurant is a beautiful way to start each day. We stayed in a larger room (a triple) which was exceptionally comfortable and this gives you a nice terrace garden overlooking the mountains, ocean and the original section of Monterosso al mare. The hotel is well located in the center of town for easy access to everything.

Room Tip: If you feel like splurging, the triple room with the private garden and terrace is a nice, peaceful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rjansen00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013

Got great driving directions emailed from the staff. We drove in from Nice with no trouble and the hotel had parking. If coming by train it is a pretty good walk. Our room was great with two balconies and super views. The staff could not be nicer or more helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for a cash discount.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rassaslaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Vila Steno came highly recommended and did not disappoint. We stayed here in mid October with another couple and we could not have been happier. Like other reviews, Matteo, Carla and Anna were welcoming and helpful, never rushed and made us feel totally at home.We rang the hotel just before our arrival and they organized a taxi to be waiting for us at the station. A great way to start our stay in Monterosso. The rooms were spotless, well equipped and the colour tones created a peaceful setting. The balcony afforded us views of the town and sea, as did their outdoor terraces. The breakfast was delicious.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Villa Steno is the ideal place to stay for a visit to the Cinque Terre. Matteo and Carla do a wonderful job of making you feel at home. The breakfast was excellent. You have to try the lemon marmalade - to die for. The hotel is located very near the center of town with everything readily accessible.
The rooms are very comfortable. We appreciated the laundry service. We were able to park our car on site, which was very helpful. We are looking forward to our next visit and hope it is for longer than the three nights we stayed this time.
The Cinque Terre is an amazing place, and the Villa Steno will help make your time there even better.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kaylene L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monterosso al Mare
0.1 mi away
Hotel Stella della Marina
Hotel Stella della Marina
#3 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
426 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Porto Roca
Hotel Porto Roca
#8 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
621 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Monterosso Alto
Hotel Monterosso Alto
#18 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Locanda del Sole
Locanda del Sole
#2 of 11 in Riomaggiore
309 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Margherita
Hotel Margherita
#5 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
663 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel La Spiaggia
Hotel La Spiaggia
#7 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Steno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Steno

Address: Via Roma 109, 19016 Monterosso al Mare, Italy
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Cinque Terre > Monterosso al Mare
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Monterosso al Mare
#1 Romantic Hotel in Monterosso al Mare
Price Range: £116 - £222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Also Known As:
Steno Hotel Monterosso Al Mare
Hotel Steno
Hotel Villa Steno Monterosso Al Mare, Cinque Terre, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing