We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect! Charming! Welcoming!”
Review of Hotel Villa Steno

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Monterosso al Mare
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Villa Steno
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Matteo and his whole family and team at Hotel Steno made our Cinque Terre holiday a fantastic experience. The views of the beautiful sea from above the town are quintessential Italian Riviera
And having a drink on the terrace tops off every day. Breakfast is exactly as simple and lovely as it should be with camaraderie of fellow hikers and visitors. We thoroughly enjoyed Cinque Terre and
The wonderful Hotel Steno

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ronk215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,311)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

584 - 590 of 1,311 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2014

My husband and I travelled to Monterosso with our niece for 3 nights in June 2014. From the moment my husband sent an email to Matteo requesting a price to the morning we left we could not fault both the staff and the Hotel. It is family owned and run and they couldn't do enough for us even advising before we arrived that if we wanted a taxi to meet our train then they could book it for us as there are only 3 taxis in town. Breakfasts provided were the best we have had for the 4 weeks we have been away. Great location, lovely views and very clean comfortable rooms. If you can get in then you would be silly not to book. Thanks Matteo and Carla and Anna for a wonderful time in Monterosso. Wal and Anita from Australia

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anita S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Literally at the top of the town, Hotel Villa Steno overlooks the exceedingly picturesque town of Monterosso. The room we had was spacious, with new fixtures, and a large bathroom. Breakfast each morning was complimentary, and wonderful. Fresh fruits, scrambled eggs, pastries, etc. There is a terrace at the top of the property with unbeatable views of the town and the bay. We spent a couple of hours each day drinking wine from the hotel bar and enjoying the scenery. The staff was very friendly and accessible. Tutto era molto buono!

Room Tip: All the rooms have views of the town. The hotel terrace is superb, so skip the rooms with a private...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charles A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay here in early June 2014 - every member of staff was so friendly and helpful! From the extensive information provided at check-in, to booking cabs for us to and from the train station, to the fantastic breakfasts each morning, we were thoroughly looked after during our stay.
The room was well appointed and very comfortable - we were lucky enough to have a room with a terrace overlooking the water... such an amazing view!
We would definitely recommend this place to anyone planning to visit the Cinque Terre.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a balcony/terrace overlooking the water... it's well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jon E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We stayed here 7 years ago and loved it, and this time it's still magnificent. We had the Quad room this time (two bedrooms with common bathroom) and a large private terrace with table, chairs and lounges. The views from here are absolutely stunning. A perfect place to enjoy the welcome drink and sundowners.
Matteo and all of the staff were friendly and most helpful. It is located perfectly in the old town combining views and proximity to everything Monterosso has to offer. The hotel has a small car park on the property which was very important for us; otherwise parking is near impossible in town.
We highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

What a wonderful experience. We loved this hotel in old town. Our room was perfect. We stayed in the family room with 2 bedrooms and it's own rooftop deck, complete with a patio table and chairs, and loungers. The views are unbelievable, right out to the Harbour. The hotel owners are a lovely couple, so polite and eager to help. So different from our experience in Italy this far. The included breakfast was huge and delicious and perfect, eaten on the balcony overlooking old town and the ocean. Eggs, bacon, fruit, yogurt, baked goods, cappuccinos, juices and more. You won't go wrong staying here!! My only regret is that we only have 2 nights here.

Stayed: June 2014
3  Thank JMS75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

If you are looking for a truly remarkable experience in Cinque Terre stay at this wonderful hotel high above the town of Monterosso al Mare. Our room had a view of the town and of the sea with a spacious, lovely patio where we simply sat and stared at the majesty, had a pizza at the picnic table, or a drink with the stunning backdrop. The room was very, very nice and perfect for our purposes. The best part of the hotel was the extraordinary kindness given to us by the owner, Matteo. He and his wife run the hotel and do a variety of things to keep it up to standards of excellence. There are two drawbacks to staying at this hotel which must be overcome. I will explain the problem with the solution so that they do not deny you the opportunity to experience this wonderful place to stay. First, to get there, if you arrive by car, as we did, you must be calm and cool about driving along very narrow roads that wind through the mountains from the Carrodano-Levanto exit on the autostrade. Despite being warned in advance about this by fellow writers on TA, and being a very anxious person in general, I attempted to do it anyway. I found it very hard, and the weather was perfect. Had it been raining, I don't think I could have done it. I was very anxious about the drive back, but Matteo solved the problem for me by driving my car back up the mountain and taking a taxi back to the hotel, which I, of course, paid for. I would never count on his amazing sensitivity to me needs, however, and when we return (not if), we will either take the train to the town of Monterosso from Levanto or wherever we happen to be. So solution one- use the outstanding train train system to get there. If you drive, incidentally, there is a great parking lot at the hotel, and Matteo will rearrange your car so that you do not have to turn it around. Second, to reach the hotel there dozens of steps to climb or you could go around through the town up the driveway to the entrance. Both trudges are very difficult. Again, we solved this problem by taking a taxi when we were just too tired. Two problems, very solvable, and my wife and I look forward to staying at Villa Steno again when we use Monterosso as our base of operations for the Cinque Terre and other parts of the Ligurian Coast.

Room Tip: Ask for view balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alanjgreenhalgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterosso al Mare hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Stella della Marina
Hotel Stella della Marina
#3 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
425 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Monterosso Alto
Hotel Monterosso Alto
#18 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
178 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Porto Roca
Hotel Porto Roca
#8 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Albergo Marina
Albergo Marina
#15 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
633 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel La Spiaggia
Hotel La Spiaggia
#6 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
794 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Margherita
Hotel Margherita
#5 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Steno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Steno

Address: Via Roma 109, 19016 Monterosso al Mare, Italy
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Cinque Terre > Monterosso al Mare
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Monterosso al Mare
#1 Family Hotel in Monterosso al Mare
Price Range: £115 - £221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Also Known As:
Steno Hotel Monterosso Al Mare
Hotel Steno
Hotel Villa Steno Monterosso Al Mare, Cinque Terre, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing