We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent in every way”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Villa Steno

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Monterosso al Mare
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Villa Steno
Certificate of Excellence
Bendigo, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
107 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Excellent in every way”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

I can't think of one single thing that this hotel could improve on! Yes, there are a lot of steps up to the hotel but that comes with the view. Rooms are well decorated and furnished, pay the extra for a sea view. Sitting on our balcony with a drink in hand looking out at the sea was the perfect way to finish our days. Breakfast is very good, sitting on the breakfast terrace is a must to start the day. Our hosts were friendly, obliging and willing to help with train times, tickets etc. Laundry service is provided and very reasonable. Much appreciated when you have been travelling for a few weeks. Wifi free and connection good. This is a family run hotel and Matteo and Carla really know how to make you feel welcome. Must try the home made lemon jam and lemon cake, yum. Do book early it would be a shame to miss out on this hotel if staying in Monterosso.

Room Tip: Balcony room with a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kennedys2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,203 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,112
    81
    9
    1
    0
See reviews for
350
564
60
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (292)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

Matteo and his whole family and team at Hotel Steno made our Cinque Terre holiday a fantastic experience. The views of the beautiful sea from above the town are quintessential Italian Riviera
And having a drink on the terrace tops off every day. Breakfast is exactly as simple and lovely as it should be with camaraderie of fellow hikers and visitors. We thoroughly enjoyed Cinque Terre and
The wonderful Hotel Steno

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ron k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fingal Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

My husband and I travelled to Monterosso with our niece for 3 nights in June 2014. From the moment my husband sent an email to Matteo requesting a price to the morning we left we could not fault both the staff and the Hotel. It is family owned and run and they couldn't do enough for us even advising before we arrived that if we wanted a taxi to meet our train then they could book it for us as there are only 3 taxis in town. Breakfasts provided were the best we have had for the 4 weeks we have been away. Great location, lovely views and very clean comfortable rooms. If you can get in then you would be silly not to book. Thanks Matteo and Carla and Anna for a wonderful time in Monterosso. Wal and Anita from Australia

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anita S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
53 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

Literally at the top of the town, Hotel Villa Steno overlooks the exceedingly picturesque town of Monterosso. The room we had was spacious, with new fixtures, and a large bathroom. Breakfast each morning was complimentary, and wonderful. Fresh fruits, scrambled eggs, pastries, etc. There is a terrace at the top of the property with unbeatable views of the town and the bay. We spent a couple of hours each day drinking wine from the hotel bar and enjoying the scenery. The staff was very friendly and accessible. Tutto era molto buono!

Room Tip: All the rooms have views of the town. The hotel terrace is superb, so skip the rooms with a private...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay here in early June 2014 - every member of staff was so friendly and helpful! From the extensive information provided at check-in, to booking cabs for us to and from the train station, to the fantastic breakfasts each morning, we were thoroughly looked after during our stay.
The room was well appointed and very comfortable - we were lucky enough to have a room with a terrace overlooking the water... such an amazing view!
We would definitely recommend this place to anyone planning to visit the Cinque Terre.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a balcony/terrace overlooking the water... it's well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jon E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

We stayed here 7 years ago and loved it, and this time it's still magnificent. We had the Quad room this time (two bedrooms with common bathroom) and a large private terrace with table, chairs and lounges. The views from here are absolutely stunning. A perfect place to enjoy the welcome drink and sundowners.
Matteo and all of the staff were friendly and most helpful. It is located perfectly in the old town combining views and proximity to everything Monterosso has to offer. The hotel has a small car park on the property which was very important for us; otherwise parking is near impossible in town.
We highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
161 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

What a wonderful experience. We loved this hotel in old town. Our room was perfect. We stayed in the family room with 2 bedrooms and it's own rooftop deck, complete with a patio table and chairs, and loungers. The views are unbelievable, right out to the Harbour. The hotel owners are a lovely couple, so polite and eager to help. So different from our experience in Italy this far. The included breakfast was huge and delicious and perfect, eaten on the balcony overlooking old town and the ocean. Eggs, bacon, fruit, yogurt, baked goods, cappuccinos, juices and more. You won't go wrong staying here!! My only regret is that we only have 2 nights here.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank JMS75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monterosso al Mare
0.3 mi away
Hotel Porto Roca
Hotel Porto Roca
#9 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
4.0 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Stella della Marina
Hotel Stella della Marina
#3 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Monterosso Alto
Hotel Monterosso Alto
#15 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
4.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Albergo Marina
Albergo Marina
#18 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
4.4 mi away
Luna di Marzo
Luna di Marzo
#4 of 11 in Riomaggiore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
5.5 mi away
Locanda del Sole
Locanda del Sole
#2 of 11 in Riomaggiore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Steno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Steno

Property: Hotel Villa Steno
Address: Via Roma 109, 19016 Monterosso al Mare, Italy
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Cinque Terre > Monterosso al Mare
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Monterosso al Mare
#1 Family Hotel in Monterosso al Mare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 16
Also Known As:
Steno Hotel Monterosso Al Mare
Hotel Steno
Hotel Villa Steno Monterosso Al Mare, Cinque Terre, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing