We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Room With A View”
Review of Hotel Villa Steno

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Monterosso al Mare
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Villa Steno
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

This nice little hotel is set on the hillside 200-250 yards from the beach; this was a positive to us since it kept the July crowds at bay. One convenience is that parking is allowed. It is a tiny parking lot, but the owner moves the cars around to get maximum usage. (The road to get here is a 30 minute drive from the A1 on small winding roads. Be prepared if you do not like this type of driving or these types of views.) The hotel is clean on the inside and outside, something many of the hotels in the Cinque Terre cannot say ( even my boys commented that many needed a coat of paint ). The rooms are average size and nicely decorated. A large breakfast is included as well as a welcome glass of wine. The view over the town toward the sea is stunning. The owner is knowledgeable with helpful advice on places to dine and trails to hike.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Vernon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,272)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Villa Steno
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

530 - 536 of 1,272 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2014

Stayed here 2 nights with my family in July. Very clean and comfortable rooms with views of the town and sea. My four sons shared a family room with two bedrooms, four twin beds and a shared bath and large terrace overlooking the sea-very nice!! Breakfast was very good and the staff helpful in planning our hikes through the Cinque Terre and finding restaurants. Would highly recommend Villa Steno and Monterossa al Mare as a base for exploring the Cinque Terre's beautiful coast and charming villages.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ckuveke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Reasons to say at IL STENO: Matteo and Carla may be the sweetest, most hospitable and helpful hosts you will find in Italy! They work hard and it shows. They run a tight ship. The VIEW! We had a room with a view of the town and sea---and breakfast with the same view---and there is a beautiful public terrace up above where you may sun or order a drink. The location is high above the busy town---but you exist in a lovely neighborhood right in town. Also, Monterosso is the perfect place from which to explore the rest of Cinque Terre by train and by boat. Be sure to take the boat ride to see all five towns, plus Portovenere and The Gulf of Poets. The boatride is spectacular. Don't miss it. The local home made jams and honey at breakfast are superb. Be sure to try the bitter orange (there is also lemon, strawberry and apricot)---and the local honey tastes like flowers. They do your laundry for the same price if you were to do your own. This just doesn't happen anywhere else in Italy! The hotel is immaculately clean. There are lemon trees everywhere. I would pick them and squeeze them in my water. There is a mini fridge where you can store picnic food and eat on your balcony. There is a small food store as you exit the hotel--focaccia, local cheese, salami and homemade appetizers all good. We drove---and they have a parking lot which you need to reserve and pay for---but for us, it was simply great---and needed. There is free wifi and the connection is good. There is air conditioning. They give you a welcome drink---a local sweet wine made in Cinque Terre. I did a lot of research before choosing Il Steno---and both Hubby and I agree that it was the right choice.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony and a view of the sea---it will be sea and town.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank susannamacomb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We stayed at Hotel Villa Steno for 4 nights in June. I did lots of research on Monterosso al Mare Hotels and decided on Hotel Villa Steno as our first choice. When I requested the reservation, the hotel was full, and we went on the waiting list. Matteo and Carla, the owners, emailed me about 5 days later, they had a cancellation, and had room for us! Wow! This was a girlfriend vacation, and they were happy to accommodate our request for 2 single beds. (some hotels don't offer that choice). Ana, the front desk manager contacted me about a week before our arrival, and offered to make a taxi reservation for us from the train station, which we happily accepted. Upon arrival we were greeted by Ana, who treated us to a delicious glass of local wine. Our room was modern, clean, air conditioned, had comfortable beds and a well stocked bathroom. Remember, this is Europe, and bedrooms and bathrooms are small.
The view from Hotel Villa Steno is truly fantastic, whether you are on the top terrace, the breakfast terrace, or from your room. (most rooms have a view, ours didn't, but no big deal)
Breakfast is complimentary and quite delicious…scrambled eggs, bacon, ham, cheeses, breads, etc. and Carla's yummy homemade jam. For a few Euros you can take some jam home with you!
Hotel Villa Steno is about half way up the "hill". You can walk there by taking a number of quaint stone flights of steps, or you can walk up a little winding hill that the cars and taxis use. I have bad knees and usually used the winding walkway.
It didn't take long for us to feel like we were at home. Matteo, Carla and Ana made us feel like we were part of the family. They always had time for our questions and needs, and Ana offered to make ice bags for my aching knees. Thank you Ana!
This is a lovely small hotel, run by a lovely family, in a lovely part of the world. I really hope I have the opportunity to stay at Hotel Villa Steno again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank robinegg02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at Hotel Villa Steno in June. Matteo and Carla the owners were lovely.
We had a triple room (#15) with a large patio that overlooked a large lemon grove and a view of the water below. The room was spacious, a large room with a king and a smaller room with a twin bed for our teenage daughter. The room was well appointed. The bathroom was small, as are most in this level of hotel in Italy, but had everything one needed with large fluffy towels and was meticulously clean.
We had a car and were able to drive right to the B&B and park it for our 3 night stay for a nominal charge.
We will definitely stay at Villa Steno again!

Room Tip: Higher floors have best view of water and patios.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Lila2lucy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Charming luxury, with superb discreet service from always helpful staff. Fantastic views both from the rooms and the terrace above. Easy access to the city centre by stairs.
Wonderful breakfast. Love this place.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Siri C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Seldom do you stay at a hotel and regret not staying longer. We would have skipped ROME!
On our return to Italy we will go here first.....rest and enjoy at least a week with Matteo & Carla.
Villa Steno became our comfy home. I pine for the Cappacinos Matteo's father would make. The warm and fresh pastries in the morning . Cappicino overlooking the bay at breakfast....oh ya!
Our family of 8 stayed and travelled together....and we all feel this way.
What is Romantic place.
We will see you again soon Matteo & Carla.
The Rhodes family.
Calgary, canada

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Darrell R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monterosso al Mare
0.1 mi away
Albergo Marina
Albergo Marina
#16 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
622 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Stella della Marina
Hotel Stella della Marina
#2 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
405 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Porto Roca
Hotel Porto Roca
#8 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel La Spiaggia
Hotel La Spiaggia
#7 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
784 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Monterosso Alto
Hotel Monterosso Alto
#17 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
172 reviews
5.5 mi away
Locanda del Sole
Locanda del Sole
#2 of 11 in Riomaggiore
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Steno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Steno

Address: Via Roma 109, 19016 Monterosso al Mare, Italy
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Cinque Terre > Monterosso al Mare
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Monterosso al Mare
#1 Romantic Hotel in Monterosso al Mare
Price Range: £114 - £220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Also Known As:
Steno Hotel Monterosso Al Mare
Hotel Steno
Hotel Villa Steno Monterosso Al Mare, Cinque Terre, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing