We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Monterosso al Mare
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Villa Steno
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 September 2007

My mom (60) and I (26) stayed at this hotel for 3 nights on a 5-week European trip in August and September. We thought this hotel (and Cinque Terre) were just ok. First, the pluses: amazing views from the terrace/dining area. Our room did not have a balcony, so we enjoyed the hotel's balcony, using it to read during the day and share a bottle or wine in the evening. Also, the breakfast was very good at this hotel, and it is included in the price of the room.

Now, for the negatives: this is a very long uphill walk from the train station if you have lots of luggage. Taxis are very difficult to come by in Monterosso, and if you have lots of luggage I'd recommend staying someplace closer to the train station (granted, you may not get as nice a view, but it will save you a hassle). Also, our bathroom was tiny. I'm not really one to complain about bathroom sizes b/c I recognize all European bathrooms are very small, but this was small by even that standard. Additionally, our entire hall smelled like sewage, and we saw at least a couple of other parties complaining to the front desk. Finally, the staff was not very helpful. They couldn't really recommend restaurants, didn't have the bus schedules, and were often nowhere to be found.

I don't know if I would stay here again - the view was absolutely fantastic, but I bet there are much nicer places to stay within the same price range.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
9  Thank DFWgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,311)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,161 - 1,167 of 1,311 reviews

Reviewed 12 September 2007

My boyfriend and I were at the hotel earlier this month for a three night stay. We really appreciated the hotel's great location, the very accomodating and friendly staff, and the beautiful garden terrace (with sea view) attached to our room (I believe we were in room 6). The rooms were completely adequate and very clean.

We also loved it that the hotel has parking, since Monterosso al Mare is packed during the summer -- and also because lugging our luggage up the hill to the hotel would have been a huge pain. Instead, we drove up to the town's gate, I ran up the steep hill to the hotel for the gate pass, and we were able to drive right up to the hotel. Very convenient!! (Especially since the nearest empty parking spot was about a 20 minute walk from the hotel.)

Also, we had amazing meals at Ciak -- a restaurant you are sure to pass on the way to the beach. It's definitely not something you should miss!

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank JetSetNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2007

Hotel Villa Steno was picture perfect. It was set into the hill of the wonderful town of Monterossa and had a charming view from the breakfast room. Matteo and other staff were friendly and very accommodating. With all the lemon trees on the property they produced a wonderful lemon marmalade which was a perfect for the croissants and rolls at breakfast. Prepare for a hardy walk up the hill to the hotel entrance but that is normal for most of the homes in the village.
Kathy
Los Angeles

Stayed: August 2007
Thank kbrehm1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2007

My wife and I stayed in this hotel for 3 days. It is an excellent hotel with very nice owners who went out of their way to accomodate anything you may need.
The view from the room was beautiful and it is a in a very good location. The hotel has its own lemon garden.
Our only problem with this hotel was that the air conditioning, although it worked, did not cool off the room very well so it was a little hot at night.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank sak475
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2007

This hotel met our expectations,even based on the good reviews on this site. There was plenty of room for 2 adults and 2 children in the room. The owners were very accommodating. The view from the large terrace was wonderful and the setting very relaxing. We really enjoyed the breakfast. The hotel is very very clean. Be prepared for the aggressive smell of disinfectant when you pass by the corridor during the morning cleaning time. And be prepared for an invigorating walk from the train station. Pay attention to the directions, and make sure you don't try to lift your luggage up all the stairs! Take the ramp road instead.

The town is lovely. I would particularly recommend a walk up to the residential district in the evening. The views and the attractive colors of the buildings are really something to see. We found ourselves very much at home with the evening entertainment - one night we saw a charming concert with a children's orchestra, and another a live band in the public square near the ocean. It was just like being at an Italian wedding with children and couples dancing happily together. And yet another night, we saw a piano and tenor duo performing in another square.

This is a beautiful family oriented resort town. I would highly recommend staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank JenAnnB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2007

Our second stay here. First trip was in July 2005. Stayed 3 nights 06-09 August 2007. This time 2 doubles with a balcony and wonderful view of the village, chuch tower and sea. Nothing has changed, accomodations are good, service friendly and efficient. Great breakfast included. Parking free as well.They still have a good deal on laundry, fill a bag for 13 euros. With 2 kids and still 2 more weeks of travel it was great to leave with all clean clothes again. Rooms have A/C, bathrooms well stocked. Hotel is up a hill so if you have issues with stairs this would be a problem. we like being away from the bars etc as I think it could very likely be noisy right on the main street. Rate 145 euros per night.

Food at Miky and Lampara Ciak was still awesome. We hope to return in a few years .

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Sungirlxxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2007

My husband and I stayed at the Villa Steno from July 8th to July 10th, 2007.

Originally we wanted to stay in Vernazzo (sp?) but unfortunately everything was booked and we were directed to this hotel as their sister hotel the Pasquale (sp?) was also booked.

The staff was so incredibly accomodating and helpful both before we departed for Italy as well as when we arrived. We had changed our reservation at one point to only one night and then changed it again on the day before arrival and there was no problem. Even though they only had one room with two seperate beds for us they made sure we were comfortable and even changed the bed the second night for something that they thought would be better for us. The staff also tried to help us make reservation in Milan and was happy to provide us water after our trek to the hotel.

That is the one negative. The hotel is on the top of the hill as you come into this part of town so about a 10 minute walk from the train station. By the time we got to the top we were a little tired. Plus each time you go up and down into town you have to climb the steps. Not such a big deal, but worth noting.

The room was clean, although small and the bathroom was very tiny but also clean and the shower was good. We had everything we needed.

Finally the breakfast was great. They had granola, breads, homemade jams, coffee and more. It was great to fuel up before we did the five town hike.

The one other thing I would note is that this could be a difficult hotel for someone who has trouble with stairs as even if you drove into the hotel you would need to request a room on the first floor as each floor is on another level only accessible by a stairway.

I would very much recommend the hotel although Monterosso was not my favorite town of the five. I would def. head over to some of the other towns for lunch or dinner.

The one recommendation that I would give the hotel is to charge one flat rate of like 2 Euro's a day for guests for the internet or something rather than by the hour. The internet is extremely expensive in this town and I think it would be a nice extra touch for guests.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank sbeny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterosso al Mare hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Stella della Marina
Hotel Stella della Marina
#3 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
424 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Monterosso Alto
Hotel Monterosso Alto
#18 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
178 reviews
0.1 mi away
Albergo Marina
Albergo Marina
#15 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Porto Roca
Hotel Porto Roca
#8 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
622 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Margherita
Hotel Margherita
#4 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
662 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel La Spiaggia
Hotel La Spiaggia
#7 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Steno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Steno

Address: Via Roma 109, 19016 Monterosso al Mare, Italy
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Cinque Terre > Monterosso al Mare
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Monterosso al Mare
#1 Family Hotel in Monterosso al Mare
Price Range: £114 - £220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Also Known As:
Steno Hotel Monterosso Al Mare
Hotel Steno
Hotel Villa Steno Monterosso Al Mare, Cinque Terre, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing