We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easy Walk From Train Station, Clean, Comfortable, Quiet”
Review of Hotel Punta Mesco

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Punta Mesco
Ranked #11 of 20 Hotels in Monterosso al Mare
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 October 2011

Stayed here two nights. We arrived by train so it was nice to have the hotel just a brief walk from the station. (Save your energy for the famous walking trails.) The town of Monterosso is not that big so don't be put off or think you're missing anything by staying in the "new part" of town. It's just a 10 minute beautiful scenic walk (either through a tunnel or up over a outlook path) to the "old part". The hotel isn't next to any restaurants so it was quiet at night. The breakfast was a nice variety, much more than I expected from reading the guidebooks. The nearby grocery had reasonable prices and a nice variety. Our full day started with taking the boat to Riomaggiore, walking the Love's Way Path (Via Dell'Amore) and then our group split. The more hearty souls chose the hiking paths, others just taking a boat from village to village. Either way it's quite memorable and worth the time.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cats_Pajamas_99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (376)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

172 - 178 of 376 reviews

Reviewed 7 October 2011

We stayed in this hotel in September 2011 and had a great time. It is located just a couple blocks away from the beach. Not a fancy hotel/room, but it has everything you need and the room sizes are pretty good. Monterosso is beautiful and easily walkable at night. A lot of great restaurants and the beach is amazing!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank edinovo3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2011

Loved this place. It's in the new part of town. The old part is "party town" at night, with lots of young people. The new part is where the adults hang out (much quieter, pleasant). The hotel is not right on the beach, but close enough to walk back to the hotel to use the restroom if you're laying on the beach. Rooms are VERY clean, with COLD air conditioning, they are a good size, but the bathroom is small. If you are built like an NFL linebacker or a women's size 28+ you might not find the shower manageable and there is no tub. There is an area on the terrace (no view) to hang your laundry. Diego (who runs the place) is extremely organized and helpful. Pleasant breakfast room, cold, continental breakfast items. They also had beach towels. Internet was free, a little slow, but OK, I was still able to get work done. Small TV we didn't use. NON-HOTEL INFO: Best meal we had in Italy was a short ways down the street at Miky's - make a reservation! Lavarapido laundry service also nearby - we were disappointed in Lavarapido, they didn't sort the laundry by color, had we know this we would have paid extra for a separate load of lights, as it was, we ended up with whites that had a blue jean tinge to them the rest of the trip. So, sort them yourself beforehand! There is also a small grocery store very nearby that has sandwich makings, cold soft drinks, fruit, etc. Reasonable prices, be aware they close for siesta, so you won't be dropping by at 1pm to pick up something for lunch.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BikerChick99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2011

Cinque Terre has 5 villages. In my opinion Monterosso and Vernazza are the best in terms of number of restaurants and shops.
Monterosso has an "old town" to the east and a "new town" to the west all within 10 minutes walking distance.
Tourists are not allowed to drive to the "old town"
Main beach is in the "new town"
Hotel is in the "new town" on a back street less than 100 metres from the sea.
Free car parking in a secure carpark.
Michelin restaurant "Micki" is just around the corner.
The hotel has no seaview. In fact it has no view. So you get a good price for a brilliant location.
The rooms are a bit on the small size, so it is OK for one or two days, but probably too small for a longer stay.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joseph86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2011

My husband and I recently stayed at
Punta Mesco for one night. Due to our tight travel itinery we arrived late in the afternoon, the receptionist (Anna) was so helpful. She provided all the necessary information to maximise our time whilst we were there. We would love to come back and spend more time. Sue (Melbourne)

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SDhammett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2011

Stayed 25 July 11 for 3 nights, this was our second time at this hotel, great location close to the beach, big advantage that you can drive right to the hotel and that they have parking across the road.
Rooms are quite adequate, we had a pleasant terrace, good bathroom with everything very clean and well maintained.
Breakfast was great and a decent choice of food, very close to the Railway Station and easy stroll to the ferries servicing the villages.
Overall a very good, convenient hotel in this lovely area with friendly and very helpful staff, all at a reasonable rate.
Would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KiwiTravellers008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2011

I chose this hotel because it was by the beach. The hotel staff are very helpful and friendly. The man that works in the breakfast room (sorry, I forgot your name) was so nice and made great coffee. Breakfast was wonderful, it included ham, cheese, fruit and delicious breads. There was fresh orange and lemon juice too. The wifi worked well. We were in the room for 4, my daughter and her friend slept on the bunk bed. It was a large clean room. The bathroom was a good size too. The beds were comfortable. We paid 200Euro a night including parking. The girls used the bikes that are offered at the hotel.1 night was not enough, we didn't have time to see all 5 towns. Next time I stay, I will go to the beach on the far right near the statue where the locals go.

Room Tip: Use the bikes right after check-in to get get a quick tour of the town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kpocampo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterosso al Mare hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Porto Roca
Hotel Porto Roca
#8 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
622 reviews
0.4 mi away
Albergo Marina
Albergo Marina
#15 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
633 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Monterosso Alto
Hotel Monterosso Alto
#18 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Adriana
Hotel Villa Adriana
#9 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
453 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Margherita
Hotel Margherita
#4 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
662 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Stella della Marina
Hotel Stella della Marina
#3 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Punta Mesco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Punta Mesco

Address: Via Molinelli 35, 19016 Monterosso al Mare, Italy
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Cinque Terre > Monterosso al Mare
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Monterosso al Mare
#7 Family Hotel in Monterosso al Mare
Price Range: £112 - £158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Punta Mesco 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Punta Mesco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Punta Mesco Hotel
Hotel Punta Mesco Monterosso Al Mare, Cinque Terre, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing