We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Palme

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Palme
Ranked #17 of 20 Hotels in Monterosso al Mare
Mornington, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
114 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

The Hotel Palme was a fantastic place to stay. The breakfast was quite good with some variety. The room was comfortable and the view was over the backyard of another home. Tbhe staff were fantasic especially when we had discoved that we had been pickpocketed. They helped by letting us use their phone when ours wouldnt connect. They directed us to the police. They were very helpful and supportive. They were great for places of interest to see and do. They had free wifi which we could access in the lobby and outside under their palm trees. It was a very relaxing place to stay. It was 5 min to the station. I would definately stay there again if I went.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    95
    75
    27
    17
See reviews for
41
130
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Venice, Italy
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2013

5 minute walk to the train station, 2 minute walk to beach and plenty of great restaurants. The room was spacious and very clean, i was given new towels every day. Staff were helpful with restaurant suggestions and ways to get around. Breakfast was substantial with plenty of variety. I would definitely stay here again and plan to next time I visit!

Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Fantales N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
perth
Level Contributor
152 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2013

Only a short walk from the train station which was just as well because we had overpacked (6 weeks away from home) we were promptly checked in and shown to our room. One of the few hotels we have encountered with a lift for all our luggage!! Breakfast was pleasant and quite adequate. Rooms were clean if not overly large. We had a balcony with table and chairs but no view. It was to hot to sit outside anyway..staff helpful. Free wifi in public areas only. Central to most attractions. Would recommend.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rb66Perth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Clarita, California, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2013

The rooms were clean, people welcoming and went out of their way to assist us. Ask for Anna Marie, she is the example of someone who enjoys her job and delivers with a smile. Great breakfast where both servers also were the example of exemplary service.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marty C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2013

In the vein of some of the other reviewers, the location is fine and the accommodations basic. More akin to a 2-3 star hotel ( yes even by Italian standards) in terms of a very basic, small room, with tiniest TV, smaller shower and generally dated interiors - this was the deluxe, I'd hate to see the normal double.

The real problem is the attitude of the staff. Everything was too much trouble and when the WIFI ( which you have to pay for and it only works in the lobby) failed to work even in the lobby, it was just by the by, oh well!! Ask for restaurant recommendations ( in my best Italian) were replied to in English pointing me to up the street - there are loads was the reply.

On a positive note the breakfast was quite good and balcony on a sunny day is lovely to sit out and look at the concrete cancer in the building next door.

Avoid!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank reviewarama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Monterosso al Mare hotels

Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2013

We arrived in Monteresso to very friendly helpful staff at hotel Palme. Our room was lovely with a small balcony with a table and chairs. Unfortunatly we did not have a view but it was still a lovely sunny spot. The room was very clean and well serviced and with everything we needed. The bathroom was quite small, however it was very clean and the shower had very good pressure which was excellent after long days of walking the many tracks in the area. Breakfast was excellent. There were signs up saying not to take food from the breakfast bar but I am sure this would be necessary to stop walkers filling their bags for the days walks ahead. Overall we found this an excellent place to stay and would highly reccomend it. Four days in Cinque Terre wasn't enough.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gail B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2012 via mobile

We arived in Monterosso and it was raining. The Palme is very close to the train station so we only had a short walk which was vey good. It is not in the "Old town" which you get to via a tunnel.
We were greeted promptly and asked for our passports, I handed them over and they were retained. In every other hotel we used in Italy the information that was required was collected and passports were returned immediately. We did get them back later that evening.
The lady on in the evening, I think her name was either Emma or Emily, was very helpful and had suggestions for the next day. Unfortunately there had recently been a landslide which hurt several walkers and after the rain of the previous few days the walking trails were all closed.
We ended up catching a boat from Monterosso to Riomaggiore and then catching the train back between each village.
The villages are very picturesque and my youngest son was particularly impressed by the boats being parked on trolleys along the streets and the boat lift.
The hotel breakfast was plentiful but beware of taking anything from the breakfst room. There are warning signs against doing this placed in the elevator.
The room was very basic and we couldn't open the bathroom door fully. The bathroom was compact to say the least and the shower cabinet the smallest I've ever seen. I think if you were weary after trekking all day the shower would have been a disappointment.

Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank MAD4711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterosso al Mare hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Porto Roca
Hotel Porto Roca
#9 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
4.0 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
0.5 mi away
Albergo Marina
Albergo Marina
#18 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel 5 Terre
Hotel 5 Terre
#10 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
4.0 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Suisse Hotel Bellevue
Suisse Hotel Bellevue
#13 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
4.0 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Accini
Hotel Villa Accini
#14 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
3.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Monterosso Alto
Hotel Monterosso Alto
#16 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
4.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palme? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palme

Property: Hotel Palme
Address: Via Quattro Novembre 18, 19016 Monterosso al Mare, Italy
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Cinque Terre > Monterosso al Mare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 20 Hotels in Monterosso al Mare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Palme 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Palme reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palme Hotel Monterosso Al Mare
Hotel Palme Monterosso Al Mare, Cinque Terre, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing