We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B&B”
Review of L'Antica Terrazza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
L'Antica Terrazza
Certificate of Excellence
Rapidan, Virginia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great B&B”
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We had a wonderful stay (3 nights) at this B&B in late September in the "Aria" room. We had a room with a balcony overlooking the quaint streets of Monterosso. The room is cozy but with a very efficient use of space. The room and bathroom were kept impeccably clean. There is a little street / bar noise at night, but the windows did a very good job of blocking the sound once we closed them for the night. Raffaella and John are wonderful and helpful hosts. We felt welcomed and taken care of from the beginning. We enjoyed the breakfast very much. The fresh croissants and focaccia bread were delicioius as were the cappuccinos. The communal terrace is very nice - we wished we could have used it more, but it rained quite a bit during our stay. There is a grocery store right downstairs (fyi - only opened in the morning most days) where you can buy supplies, food, wine, etc. During our stay, we used a full service laundry in the new town. They delivered our clothes right to the B&B the next day during breakfast - very convenient. We would definitely stay here again if we return to the Monterosso. Highly recommend this B&B!

Room Tip: We really enjoyed watching the goings on of the street below from our balcony in the Aria room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CTCondit_Travelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    185
    36
    2
    3
    0
See reviews for
21
149
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at L'Antica Terrazza or 3 nights in August. This charming B&B is tucked away among the narrow, Easter-egg colored buildings. The room was quaint and we had a small balcony looking over the cobblestoned street and small shops. There was a larger balcony on a community upper landing that looked over the green-shuttered buildings with a view of the sea. Breakfast downstairs consisted of croissants, pastries, tea, and coffee at a cafe table under a crystal chandelier. The building has been in Rafaella's family for generations and she, her husband, and their young son are friendly hosts. They recommended good restaurants (one we enjoyed so much we had dinner there every night) and at Rafaella's suggestion we went kayaking at a discount based on her relationship with the kayak proprietor. In fact, we forgot to bring our IDs to rent the kayaks but because we were staying with Rafaella, the proprietor let us rent them without ID. I loved Monterosso and I would stay at L'Antica Terrazza again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level Contributor
49 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013 via mobile

The place is well situated in Monterosso. Restaurants, shops and beach are walking distance. The room was small but practical. Very clean. Nice terrace at the top floor where we enjoyed some wine and cheese while chilling out with friends. Jon and Rafaella were extremely friendly and helpful. You can not go wrong with this place.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank themode
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne Vic
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

My husband and I stayed for 3 nights in Sept 13. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel very welcome . Both Jon and Rafaella were excellent hosts. They were very friendly and nothing was ever an issue for them.They helped us familiarise ourselves with the area as well as the other villages. The rooms were very clean and had alot of charm. The outside terrace was brilliant for sitting down at the end of the day with a bottle of wine and some tasty pasta from the restaurant next door. As the B & B has been in the family for the past 5 generations, you can tell that they are very proud of there business and were more than happy to accomodate our needs.
The B & B was very well located in the middle of town and just a short walk to the beach and station. The walk between the villages is highly recommended although be prepared for an adventure. Would love to go back to L Antica Terrazza one day as we had a wonderful time.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 2nd floor in the Aqua room. It was quiet and just a few short steps to the outdoor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MillieMelbourneVic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

We loved our night at L'Antica Terrazza! The B&B is located right in the heart of Monterosso and has cute rooms (although small), a beautiful terrace and friendly hosts. Its also right next door to a delicious restaurant and a cozy wine bar. We would go back in a heartbeat...although maybe not in the height of tourist season!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Whitney B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

The place dates back 240 years and has been in the same family for 5 generations. It's nicely updated (after the big flood), extremely clean, and perfectly situated on a tiny little street next to a local market. Jon and Rafaella are the owners and they run the B and B. Jon had tons and tons of info for us on how to get around from town to town and what we should do for activities. He was also very familiar with the hiking trails and up to date as to which trails were currently closed. Rafaella knew about the local cultural activities and the best food and restaurants in the area.

On the top floor is the terrace which is a communal place for the other people staying at L'Antica Terrazza. Great place to meet others and talk over some wine. The terrace is really comfortable with two or three larger couches and a couple with seats coffee tables. From the Terrace there's a small view of the sea. It's breezy and sunny up there and a nice place to relax (either day or night). Breakfast included focaccia (of course) and cafe/espresso, yogurt, bananas, milk and OJ, and small biscuits and croissants.

I would stay here again, especially since it's in Monterosso which is the largest of the towns and offers the best beaches and outdoor activities. My stay here included hiking, kayaking, boating, and plenty of eating/drinking. This was a honeymoon trip so Rafaella, as a celebratory gift, set up snacks and wine (apperativo) on the terrace for my wife and I. It was a really nice gesture and something that we really appreciate.

From the train stop, L'Anitca Terrazza is about a ten minute walk. I believe there are cabs or shuttles as well but it was an easy walk, even with the luggage. Loved this place!!

Room Tip: Our room on the top floor had a detached bathroom while other people's rooms had an en suite. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jon O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Located well within walking distance of the train station and nestled in the heart of lots of shops and restaurants. Jon greeted me upon arrival; he was very relaxed and extremely helpful. I only met Rafaella briefly when I checked out and stored my bag, but she was very friendly and inviting.

I stayed in the apartment as the B&B rooms were fully booked. The apartment was cozy and fully-equipped. I cooked two wonderful dinners using ingredients bought at the market right around the corner. The apartment got a bit chilly (stayed just last weekend, mid-September), but Jon had already offered and brought an extra blanket in anticipation of the cold night. The pull-out bed was quite comfortable.

I don't think my trip would have been nearly as good if I had stayed elsewhere. Jon's trail recommendations and restaurant recommendations were spot on. If you stay here (or even if you don't), then you MUST try San Martino which is right next door. Excellent food, inexpensive, and friendly chef.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amkmh60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterosso al Mare hotels
0.1 mi away
Albergo Marina
Albergo Marina
#18 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Stella della Marina
Hotel Stella della Marina
#3 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
5.0 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Monterosso Alto
Hotel Monterosso Alto
#15 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
4.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Margherita
Hotel Margherita
#5 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Porto Roca
Hotel Porto Roca
#9 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
4.0 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Souvenir
Hotel Souvenir
#6 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
4.0 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Antica Terrazza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Antica Terrazza

Property: L'Antica Terrazza
Address: Via San Martino 1, 19016 Monterosso al Mare, Italy
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Cinque Terre > Monterosso al Mare
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Monterosso al Mare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
L'Antica Terrazza is a small and cosy Bed & Breakfast located in the middle of the historic center of Monterosso al Mare in Cinque Terre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your L'Antica Terrazza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l`Antica Terrazza Hotel Monterosso Al Mare
L'Antica Terrazza Monterosso Al Mare, Cinque Terre, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing