We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel La Spiaggia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel La Spiaggia
Certificate of Excellence
Muscatine, Iowa
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2012

This hotel was pretty awesome, although a little pricey. The furnishings were not quite as lush as many of the hotels we stayed in at the same price range, but the location is pretty perfect. It sits right on the beach in Monterosso al Mare. It is the "new" section of town, but the old town is just a 10 minute walk up the road and there is a LOT going on at this end. Sometimes that was good and sometimes that was bad (like if you are really tired). We had a second floor balcony room with a wonderful view, which we spent a lot of time on. No air conditioning, but if you leave the balcony doors open all day and night, you can get a great ocean breeze. There was also a fan provided. The bathroom was pretty small- not a shower you want to try and shave your legs in. The hotel's service was outstanding- the best customer service we saw in Italy! Both Ella and Andrea, the owner, were particularly helpful and accommodating. They would bend over backwards to make your stay perfect, recommend places to eat in and out of town, or whatever you could possibly need. My one and only complaint is that it can get quite noisy at night. There are people out late at the restaurants and bars just a story below and since we had the window open (we had to in that heat), we heard their drunken banter until at least 1 or 2 in the morning. It might be better if you are on the third or fourth story and would be much more quiet (but no view) if you had a room facing the back. Overall, I would highly recommend this hotel. You can pay for wifi or beach towels.

Room Tip: If you want quiet, pick a room near the back of the hotel. If you want a spectacular view and don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LeslieMcD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

744 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    469
    166
    52
    29
    28
See reviews for
130
405
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2012

While La Spiagga is a little expensive, and a bit of a beach hotel. Our overall experience there was quite pleasant. Breakfast was excellent. Andreas, Ela and Maria were all very helpful and kind, and made wonderful recommendations for dinners, hiking (definitely take the train to the other end of Cinque Terra and hike back toward Monterossa, as Andreas suggested) and even nice places to stop after we checked out, on our way to Lake Garda. While I don't really need art work on the walls of a hotel like this, I do think WiFi and beach towels should be included in the price of the room.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bkanes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallinn, Estonia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2012

Hotel La Spiaggia is located across the biggest beach in Monterosso Al Mare. Once arriving to the hotel we were offered cold white wine during check-in with some snacks so that the staff could smoothly fill out our hotel forms with contact details. This was a pleasant surprise to us.

The staff is mostly family and they are very helpful to guide you around the villages of Cinque Terre and provide tips for restaurants in different price categories. They are fluent in English and very friendly.

Hotel is located in a very great spot - across the beach and 100m from the train station and about 7min walk from the old town of Monterosso Al Mare. We enjoyed the sea view room with balcony and there was no noise during night. Since Monterosso is a small place then it is worth to consider that the hotels are not like large "chain" or boutique hotels. However, we enjoyed our stay in La Spiaggia and can definitely recommend this place for nice holiday.

Room Tip: Pick a sea view room on upper floors and ask for balcony. Third floor with balcony and sea view is a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank erkil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maryland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2012

we were staying in Florence during a little heat wave, decided to take a "day trip" to Cinque Terra. Well once you see this place, it becomes hard to move. and we didn't. We looked around at our options, judged the hotels around us, and immediately decided on La Spiaggia. What a welcoming staff! they let us pick the room we wanted, gave us drinks and wine while we waited a little while.
And don't forget to ask for advise, Andrea is full of excellent local knowledge from dining to hiking (which is EXCELLENT!) He did not steer us wrong once.
Room was large by Italian standards. I did notice the terrace below needing some tidying.
Breakfast was the best we had on our trip so far, only beaten by a home-cooked breakfast in Amsterdam later on the trip.

Room Tip: top floor, ocean facing
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robertdil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aurora, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2012

I felt totally ripped off at this hotel. Do your research before you book here. it is terribly expensive, and aside from a more than adequate breakfast there are zero amenities and more rules than a hockey game. There is a filthy terrace out back, a small room with dated furniture and not a piece of art of any kind on the need to be painted walls. No blow drier, corkscrew, wine glass or wifi. The hotel does have wifi, but boy do you pay. It is a beach hotel, but you must not take your towel to the beach, which I understand, but it is not cheap to rent one either. On the plus side...the woman at reception is an absolute delight, and the owner is full of good advice if you need it. On the plus plus side...Cinqueterre is a magical place.

Room Tip: We booked well in advance and were given the worst room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaSpiaggia, Owner at Hotel La Spiaggia, responded to this review, 19 July 2012
Dear Guest,

I feel like giving you an answer for all the complaints that you wrote in your letter as I consider them not right at all.

In our 50 years of business we have not ripped off anybody.
As you can notice 90 % of letters appeared on TripAdvisor they are very much in favour of us.

Our prices they have not been increased ever since 2007. When you booked we sent you the price and the type of room you were going to get, that for 5 Terre standard is pretty big.

I do not understand what sort of amenities you are looking for because nobody has ever spoken to me about amenities.

About the rules..most of them are suggestions to the customers i.e. mind the steps, be careful about gypsies on the trains, don't bring sand in the house, don't take our linen on the beach, don't make noise at night etc..

Talking about the filthy terrace, you probably meant that there is foliage all around. Our trees of evergreen oak they are changing their leaves in July and even though we sweap it once a day after one hour the floor gets full of them again.

"Pieces of art" in the reception we have a storage bench 400 years old; we have an oil measure Republic of Genoa dated 1601; we have a Tabernacle dated 1560 and we have some sets of chairs 120 years old. And the furniture that you call "dated" their date is 2009. This is when we bought it.

"Blow-dryers" if you mean hair dryer it's in every room, you can read it in comments sent by other customers.

Referring to cork screws and wine glasses, just ask at reception.

The walls in the rooms have been painted in May 2012 if there are any scratches is due to the customers that they bring up big pieces of luggage which scratch them.

Yes, we do have wifi and as in 5 Terre is not yet supplied by the State we have to get it from a private company that charges us every month and it's normal that we charge the users.
You shouldn't be surprised of this, as we send the price list together with the confirmation when you book.

Referring to the beach towels that we rent..for 2.5 Euros each we used to give them for free but in the last 2 years we lost 350 pieces because people they don't care to bring them back from the beach. Again, we sent you the prices in the info page when you booked.

If you know any cheaper places on Monterosso's promenade please let us know so we can send them customers.

Andrea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
204 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2012

Just finished a wonderful visit in Cinque Terre at La Spiaggia. What a great location - close to the train station and the beach. After lugging my suitcase around for several days through train stations, hotels, subways, it was a welcome relief that the hotel was so close to the staion. We tried several of Andrea's and Ela's recommendations and they were fabulous (gelato, restaurants, hikes). Our room(s)-had two during our stay, were very pleasant, with a/c, spacious by Italian standards, shower, and the best cable tv yet. Not that I watched much, but it was nice to watch cnbc and check out the real world as Cinque Terre is truly just a dream state. Did all the hikes and they were spectacular. Andrea gave us a helpful tip on the Monterroso to Vernanza hike - start in Vernanza - as the start in Monterossa is straight up 700+ steps. The last night we enjoyed a wonderful talk at the bar with Ela and Andrea, enjoying a good Belgian beer and outstanding conversation. I would definitely stay here again and recommend to others.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
581 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2012

This hotel had been recommended to us; was worth every penny! Booked literally months in advance to get room 307 - top floor and balcony opens to the beach. Great to start with a glass of wine while checking in! Maria is charming; her dad Poggi Andrea is a character and 'holds court' either behind the desk or on a chair in the lobby. Room was perfect - airy, large enough, very serviceable bathroom. Internet was reasonable and reliable. Breakfast was varied - cereal, yogurt, granola, soft boiled eggs, juices, meat and cheese, bread, and fruit. View was priceless! We stayed three nights and will go back.

Poggi is quite the man about Italy; he recommended good restaurants in Monterosso (Porto Roca and La Barcaccia) as well as in Rome and Sardinia. His recommendations were right on...delicious and reasonable. It's a close knit industry...our driver in Sicily told us, "I have a friend in Monterosso. He runs Hotel la Spaggia. Do you know Poggi Andea?"

All in all, a great choice for us. While Monterosso is the 'last' town of the 5, the hotel is literally 6 buildings from the train station. If you are dragging luggage (three weeks with an overstuffed carry-on), it's a short walk rather than schlepping through the tunnel to the old town. Also, I chose Monterosso it because my husband has Parkinson's and it's the 'flattest' town and the closest walk from the train. Enjoy! It's a little more $$ but worth it.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dkm57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterosso al Mare hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Porto Roca
Hotel Porto Roca
#9 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
4.0 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Stella della Marina
Hotel Stella della Marina
#3 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
0.4 mi away
Albergo Marina
Albergo Marina
#18 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Monterosso Alto
Hotel Monterosso Alto
#16 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
4.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Margherita
Hotel Margherita
#5 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Baia
Hotel Baia
#15 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
3.0 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Spiaggia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Spiaggia

Property: Hotel La Spiaggia
Address: Via Fegina 98, 19016 Monterosso al Mare, Italy
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Cinque Terre > Monterosso al Mare
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Monterosso al Mare
#6 Family Hotel in Monterosso al Mare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel La Spiaggia 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel La Spiaggia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Spiaggia Monterosso Al Mare, Cinque Terre, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing