We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“lovely place to stay for few days in Cinque Terre”
Review of B&B Marisa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
B&B Marisa
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“lovely place to stay for few days in Cinque Terre”
Reviewed 20 October 2011

We spent 5 days in a lovely one-bedroom apartment.

The location is good - only 5-10 minutes walk from the train station.
There are two supermarkets nearby.
The street where the b&b is located is quite though so no extra noise in the night.
The beach and also the children playgrounds are just 5 minutes walk.

The apartment was clean. We rented it for two people, however it was possible to stay there with 4 people: there is one double bed and one bunk bed, so practically at least parents with two kids or even 4 adults can fit in.

It takes maybe 10-15 minutes walk to get to the old town of Monterosso and maybe another 10-15 minutes to the start of the walking path through Cinque Terre.

Room Tip: I loved that apartment, cause it is small though the room is spacious enough, the kitchen has usual...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank scorpiomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    17
    3
    5
    0
See reviews for
5
25
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2011

We are couple in our early 30 and stayed in B&B Marisa for 7 nights in June 2011.

First of all we didn’t get the apartment we agreed on for the first night. We booked it at least a month ago but when we arrived that apartment was busy. So we had to stay in a half subterranean apartment in the basement. First night was quite cold due to the wind, sirocco and we couldn’t find any blanket only sheets in the apartment. So next morning I got up sick which overshadowed the rest of my stay in Monterosso. After all we got the agreed apartment after the first night.

The other apartment was much cosier but still way overpriced. The bathroom was smelly, the bedroom was small (there was an unused ugly bunk bed). The kitchen was fine but ill-equipped. The pots and pans were torn and we had to buy the basic staff such as sponge, salt, pepper and sugar.

A good thing to mention is the location. It is not far from the village centre, beach, shop and restaurants. The hosts were also kind.

Overall I wouldn’t’ recommend it unless you can’t find any available place in Monterosso.

Room Tip: We rented a whole apartment, so we don't have any experiance with rooms. But if you want to rent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GlobetrotterThomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2011

Great little B&B in Monterosso, Cinque Terre. We stayed here in both September 2010 and 2011. Needless to say it worked great for us our first trip that we came back again! Located in the “New Town” portion of Monterosso, it is right down the street from the beach. This B&B is run by a mother-daughter team (the daughter – Valeria – who speaks English, coordinates booking while the mother serves breakfast). The included breakfast is typical Italian style and is served to you on the sunny front balcony with views of the ocean. For 80 euro per night (cash) you can get a nice, clean room with small private bath. Each room has a TV and hair dryer. You feel like you are staying at your grandmother’s beach house – nothing fancy just cozy, comfort able and relaxing. Bottom line - good room, good value, friendly proprietors.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cynthia925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 September 2011

we stayed for one night in September 2011

The location is great, very close to the train station. Valeria was very helpful and responsive throughout the entire booking process. We confirmed to check in around 7 pm but our train got delayed so we called to ask her to hold the rooms for us and changed our check-in to 9pm. It was very nice of her to wait for us for our late check-in.

The room isn't fancy but had everything we need to stay for one night. The place is clean but like most places in Italy, I can't stand the humid smell in the room.

The breakfast was at 9am, it'd be nice if the breakfast was an hour so we could start our day earlier (we went out for a little bit in the morning then had to come back for the breakfast then head out again) We had breads, fruits, spreads for breakfast, which was good but not hearty enough compare to typical American breakfast (egg+bacon, muffins or cereals) The espresso was delizioso though!

I will not stay at B&B again because prior to our trip, I confirmed with Valeria to see if there'll wifi in B&B and she said yes. I was surprised to find out there was no wifi the night we arrived and was very disappointed at her reply, simply just no, and that she didn't say there's wifi in her emails.

Having wifi or not played a huge part of which B&B to book for our trip. We needed wifi to confirm our next housing, check train schedule and I was waiting for job emails and wasn't able to do so while I was in Monterosso. I almost schedule a Skype interview during my time in Monterosso, thank god I decided to move it to after the trip.

I looked up our old emails and wrote to Valeria when I got back from my trip regarding to her confirmation about the wifi on one email. No reply yet and it's been 5 days already.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank artcenterbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 25 September 2011

we stayed there 2 nights.
The location is perfect - Monterosso is the biggest village of the 5 in the area, and the B&B is in a great, pretty quiet place but very close to the center, which was great for us.
The room isn't fancy but has everything you need and was clean.
The breakfast was again, not fancy, but we got enough energy to later walk 18 km :)
Valeria was helpful and very nice, we had a private parking place, which isn't obvious in this area...
The only minus was that you can really hear people in the next door - when they are dragging suitcases, slamming the door etc. Wouldn't recommend it to really light sleepers.
All the rest - I think it's great value for money.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kildare, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2011

B&B Marisa is located just a short stroll from the main beach in Monterosso. The rooms are spacious enough with a small bathroom, and they include breakfast in the price - breads, fruits, spreads and yummy espresso.

We had a great stay and would definitely go back.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nerilie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2011

This may not be your cup of tea if you're looking for accommodation where you can relax at the hotel/B&B. Monterosso is a tiny town and from what we observed on our trip, is trying to cope with the large influx of tourists flocking to their beautiful little Cinque Terre. So in saying that, we couldn't find any accommodation above 3 star, instead there seemed to be an abundance of homes, 'Nonna Homes' as we decribed it, that have been converted into B&Bs. Now the rooms may be a little dated but thats not to say the service is of a any lesser standard.
Marisa made us feel so welcome in what we assumed is her home. The house has 4 rooms, 2 with ensuits and 2 without. Marisa lives upstairs and there are people living closely next door. Each morning at 9am everyone is seated for breakfast and you can tell Marissa is loving serving each person freshly baked bread and local honey. She remembers how you like your tea and coffee and will serve it to you for each morning of your stay unless you specify otherwise. She is also more than happy to serve seconds and thirds!!!
Anything we asked for, we were taken care of including hanging our wet bathers and washing on the line and borrowing wine glasses to drink wine with our panninis and pizza down on the beahch.
By the way Marisa doesn't speak a word of English however we spoke very little Italian and we were able to communicate just fine. If there was anything that really wasn't understood her daughter was called upon for translation, so it wasn't a concern.
If you're looking for relaxed, easy accommodation this is the place. We thoroughly enjoyed it.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mon100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monterosso al Mare
0.1 mi away
Camere/ Rooms Le Sirene & Raggi di Sole
Camere/ Rooms Le Sirene & Raggi ...
#43 of 51 in Monterosso al Mare
3.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Casa Dei Limoni
La Casa Dei Limoni
#20 of 51 in Monterosso al Mare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Giare
Le Giare
#17 of 51 in Monterosso al Mare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Marvit Affitta Camere
Marvit Affitta Camere
#8 of 157 in Cinque Terre
5.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
0.2 mi away
B&B Il Parco
B&B Il Parco
#1 of 51 in Monterosso al Mare
5.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
0.1 mi away
No photo provided
I Tibei
#36 of 51 in Monterosso al Mare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B Marisa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Marisa

Property: B&B Marisa
Address: Via Molinelli 24, 19016 Monterosso al Mare, Italy
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Cinque Terre > Monterosso al Mare
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Monterosso al Mare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cinque terre Bed & breakfast Marisa The B&B Marisa is located at the first floor of a Villa. Marisa Bed&breakfast is just a few steps from the heart of Cinque terre, very close to Railway Station. We offer nice and clean rooms to enjoy a charming, typical B & B Accommodation for your lodging in Cinque terre. From Marisa Bed&Breakfast, you may easily reach the centre of Monterosso al mare and the beaches. Bed & breakfast Marisa is in a garden of orange and lemon trees.Bed & breakfast is run by Marisa's family, familiar atmosfere. Rooms with bathrooms ensuite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Studio Scivoletto S.r.l. so you can book your B&B Marisa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
b&b Marisa Hotel Monterosso Al Mare
Bed And Breakfast Marisa
B&B Marisa Monterosso Al Mare, Cinque Terre, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing