We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AMAZING FIND!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Monterosso al Mare
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
B&B Villa Pietra Fiore
Sammamish, Washington
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“AMAZING FIND!!”
Reviewed 3 December 2012

We stumbled onto the B&B Villa Pietra Fiore by accident. We had stopped at another inn to inquire about rooms. They were full but referred us to Marie & David's amazing B & B. It is on the hillside above the village of Monterosso. Beautiful view of the Mediterranean as you eat breakfast (amazing croissants!) in the garden each morning. I believe Elisabetta (David's mother)is in the kitchen very early to get such a beautiful breakfast ready to be served. We stayed in the 2 bedroom apartment with another couple and were quite comfortable. David or his father will shuttle you Monterosso for the day and pick you up after you've exhausted yourself visiting the other Cinqueterre villages and hiking up and down. Tranquil nights because there is absolutely no noise. We can't wait to return and spend more time there!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LAnderson49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    18
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
23
41
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
France
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2012

While the property is located some way from the town this was made perfectly clear to us before booking. The distance should not detract anyone from considering the place since the owners will transfer you to and from Monterosso at more or less any time required - and for only 3 Euros for a car full of people! This is better than the local bus service - but for the same price. You can't ask for more.

The property is high up in the hills and so the view is really fantastic. Yes the window in our room could be described as small (although we didn't think so) but there is a terrace outside with truely amazing views - in any case if you're going to the Cinque Terre, why do you want to spend your time looking at the views from indoors?

The breakfast was brilliant, the owners give every impression that they will do anything to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. They gave us all the local information, including boat, train times, walking trips and discussed at length all the activities that could be enjoyed in the area. The room was beautiful, bed was comfortable and re-made every morning.

We were very totally satisfied with our stay and would happily return.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rossBeefInFrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfield, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 October 2011

We had the opportunity to stay at the Villa Pieta Fiore for 3 nights. It was our first trip to Cinque Terra and what a wonderful introduction. Do not be fooled by the photos as it does not do it justice. The rooms are decorated with lovely linens, they are immaculate and the breakfast in the morning may be considered a typical European breakfast but it is to die for! With fresh baked croissants, homemade jellies, fresh fruit and the best hot chocolate I have ever had, you will not be disappointed. Also the view is a million dollar view of the sea and the town.

Maria is a warm, wonderful hostess, very accomodating and is extremely helpful! It is a family run business and her father-in-law runs the shuttle which was absolutely perfect. It is true that the property is 1.5 km from Montarossa but the shuttle is available to take you into town or pick you up from town at anytime. The cost is minimal, 3 euros per trip...well worth it. We are hikers and we did find the location excellent for access to the trails. Also 2 nights we did walk into town and we just walked the road and it was just fine.

I would highly recommend this beautiful property!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deanna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
93 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2011

We enjoyed a wonderful 4 night stay in the "apartment" from Sep 6-10. Marie and David are gracious hosts and ensured that our visit was perfect. While the location may not appeal to those looking for nightlife, it is blissfully quiet at night and well situated to the walking paths that are a must in the Cinque Terre. The breakfast is scrumptious, fresh and plentiful and gets you ready for whatever adventures you may have in mind. In the event that David or his father are not able to shuttle you to/from Monterosso, there is a local bus service that is very reasonable, although you need to plan your travels around the schedule. Failing that, local taxis are available. I have no hesitation recommending this exceptional B&B.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 55nrdtofly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2011

Our host was very warm and friendly. She fixed a very nice breakfast out on the terrace for us each morning. Our apartment was clean and very comfortable. It was a great location for exploring Cinque Terre. I highly recommend Villa Pietra Fiore.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarolineTucson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool England
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2011

We are 5 walking women who stayed 4 nights at this lovely B & B whilst we walked ( and chilled on the beach) in the Cinque Terre area. The hosts, ( Marie & David) are excellent. They do everything they can to ensure you have a good stay. The rooms, breakfast, & views from the terrace, where breakfast is served, are superb. The gardens are lovely. When we were there the scent of Jasmine was everywhere. David's father, Giovanni, offeres a low cost taxi service into Monterosso which is 5 mins away down the mountain. We paid only 5Euros per journey, despite there being 5 of us. What value! And the service is availabe until midnight. There is also a very scenic & well marked walking trail into town. One day we were stranded by a train strike & David came to pick us up at a very reasonable price. And Giovanni gave us a large bottle of his home made wine. If you want absolute peace & quiet with lovely views, yet close to Monterrosso, then I would recommend this B & B.

Room Tip: We saw 2 spacious apartments. Both were lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carole37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, AL
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2010

Pietra Fiore was one of my favorite places in Europe. It is located on a hillside a little less than 2 miles from Monterosso al Mare. My wife and I stayed there for a 5 nights in early June. There are three room floor plans and a total of 4 or five rooms. We stayed in the loft apartment, which included a kitchen and a nice-sized living room area with an ensuite bathroom. I believe that there is a one bed room and a two bed apartment also. Here are my random thought on the experience:

Location - It was pretty tricky to find the place if you arrive by train because it is outside of Monterosso and traffic is not allowed in the city (except for taxis). Therefore your options are to walk (abt 3/4 of a mile) to the gate where Marie can pick you up, get a cab, or ride the park bus (doesn't allow luggage). If you leave the train station and go to the park office next door, they will give you the number for a cab company and probably call them for you. The location actually ended up being one of my favorite things about the place once I finally found it!

Transportation - If you want to go into Monterosso, you can walk during day hours down the trail (beautiful, ~2miles, and all downhill). Coming back up is another story - it is a really tough hike and not feasible to do every day for most people. So . . . I HIGHLY reccomend taking a phone with you and getting the number of a cab service so they can drive you back up from the town. 7 euros each way, but they're really fast, and you usually need to use them only once a day.

Apartment - The apartment was fantastic. . . tons of charm. Great kitchen, fully equiped if you want to cook, and stocked every few days with breakfast food and breads. The grounds were beyond beautiful - olive trees, grape vines, and lemon trees. Also a great sea view. Also, I can't speak for the other rooms, but ours was a free-standing building, so crying kids wouldn't be an issue.

Air conditioning - None in our apartment but it's really not needed due to the design of the room, location on the top of the hill. We were actually cold at night and had to use the extra blankets.

Things to do - The best part about the apartment was that it was situated in a great place to really enjoy the authentic cinque terre. It is on the trailhead between Vernazza and Monterosso, and perfect if you plan on hiking (which I HIGHLY reccomend - beautiful!). Monterosso is a 20-30 minute walk through vineyards - the food there is some of the best I have ever had ( we loved Il Castello - on the walking path down right as you walk into the new city - try the fish soup). The beach and nightlife in Monterosso are the best on the Cinque Terre. Also, try taking the ferry from Monterosso to Porto Venere.

Staff - Marie was great! Good English, Italian, and French.

Tips - take a cellphone, budget 7euro per day for taxis, take some hiking boots, buy your groceries when you first get there, buy a bottle of local wine (good stuff)

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank acb604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterosso al Mare hotels
0.5 mi away
Albergo Marina
Albergo Marina
#18 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
587 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Monterosso Alto
Hotel Monterosso Alto
#15 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
158 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Porto Roca
Hotel Porto Roca
#9 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
B&B Il Parco
B&B Il Parco
#1 of 51 in Monterosso al Mare
392 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Serra sul Mare
La Serra sul Mare
#7 of 51 in Monterosso al Mare
146 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Souvenir
Hotel Souvenir
#6 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B Villa Pietra Fiore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Villa Pietra Fiore

Property: B&B Villa Pietra Fiore
Address: Localita Pietrafiore 1, 19106 Monterosso al Mare, Italy
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Cinque Terre > Monterosso al Mare
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Monterosso al Mare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
B&B Villa Pietra Fiore Monterosso Al Mare, Cinque Terre, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing