We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, Relaxing, Beautiful and Welcoming!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Manuel's Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Monterosso al Mare
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Manuel's Guest House
Certificate of Excellence
Honolulu
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Clean, Relaxing, Beautiful and Welcoming!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2012

Monterosso was our favorite destination during out 3 week honeymoon in Europe. This was mainly due to Manuel's Guesthouse!

While traveling from Paris to Monterosso, we ran into some train problems and had to change our time of arrival from 7:00pm to 11:30PM. Lorenzo patiently waited for our arrival without any hesitation and welcomed us as soon as we arrived at their front gate.

Waking up that next morning was a pleasant surprise! The view was everything we expected and more. The breakfast on the terrace was the best during our entire trip. tip: get the prosciutto & a cappuccino!

The rooms at Manuel's Guesthouse did not have a TV. Honestly, it didnt really matter since most, if not all channels are normally in Italian and we don't understand Italian anyway. We ended up spending our night drinking a bottle of wine on our balcony. Giovanni has wine glasses & wine openers if you need them! just ask. If you go hiking or out on a long day of town hoping, i suggest coming back to the terrace to have some refreshments. They have a great local beer (and wine) on tap.

All in all, Giovanni & Lorenzo made our stay feel very welcoming. The view and clean rooms were just a plus. Id love to stay here again on our next trip to Italy!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sattz54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    334
    53
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
39
261
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Delta, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2012

Our stay at Manuel's was one of the highlights of our trip to Italy. Lorenzo and Giovanni are the best hosts... Breakfast and happy hour on the deck were made so enjoyable because of the attention that Giovanni gives to each guest. His cappucino's were the best we had during our month in Europe. We always lingered longer than we planned in the morning, as it was so hard to leave. At happy hour, after serving us our drinks, he would bring us a plate of fresh fruit. Next, he would serve focaccia with pesto, then more fruit or chips. The view from our room was amazing, as was the panoramic view from the breakfast deck. Coming from the train station, with the directions on the website, and the signage on the stairs, it was easy to find. The stairs up were no problem and we are in our 50's and 60's. This is most definitely on our list of places to revisit!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marsha C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roanoke, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2012

If you come to the Cinque Terre to hike, then the hike up to Manuel's Guest House is icing on the cake! During our two weeks in Italy in September/October, the three days in Monterosso and in particular Manuel's Guest House were the highlights or our trip. We had a top floor room with balcony. The room was very large and comfortable with beautiful tiled floors throughout, tiled bathroom, and beautiful wood ceiling. The view from the balcony was not only fantastic, overlooking the town of Monterosso and the sea, but we were able to sleep each night with the balcony doors wide open, listening to the sounds of the surf from the sea and enjoying a great sea breeze. Lorenzo, who runs the guesthouse for his uncle Emanuel, was an extremely gracious host and very helpful. But the highlight of each day was relaxing on the outdoor veranda having a glass of wine and appetizers at Manuel's private wine bar, run by Giovanni, Manuel's brother. It was a great opportunity to socialize with the other guests, unlike the other B&Bs that we stayed at on our trip. We even became good friends with some of the other guests while there. Breakfast, also served by Giovanni on the veranda, was very good, including proscuitto, cheese, bread, pastries, cereal, fruit, yogurt, coffee, juice, and more.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
49 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2012

After 139 steps we stepped into our room! I didn't notice how plain it was or how few amenities came along because the view was so overwhelming. We stayed 4 nights at Manuel's and loved every minute. The beauty was breathtaking and hard to grasp. But we tried. Day after day and night after night we'd sit on our porch soaking up the view. Can't wait to go back. Now for the rest. The staff was wonderful. The wine was great. The appetizers were filling. The breakfast satisfying and the price worth every penny. Hope you can stay here.

Room Tip: Can't go wrong. Each room has a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JFLARSON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotch Plains, New Jersey
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2012

We began our Italian adventure in Monterosso as Mare, Italy by checking into Manuel's Guesthouse. We had just completed a twenty hour journey from the States to Monterosso and we were dead on our feet but every minute was worth it. A local merchant encountered us struggling with our bags and called Lorenzo. He appeared within seconds, and carried our luggage up the many stairs to the guesthouse. This care and thoughtfulness lasted throughout our 3 day stay. Each morning the breakfast was only surpassed by the views from the terrace. After a grueling, yet spectacular, 7 mile hike to Riomaggiore, we felt like we had arrived home upon our return to the guesthouse where we sat on the terrace sipped wine and munched on appetizers prepared by Giovanni. This was a wonderful way to start our 17 day tour of Italy and we would highly recommend this experience to anyone. Barbara and Bob Russ

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barbara R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2012

To sum up our stay here, on our last day we had to pry ourselves off the balcony at checkout time as we did not want to leave - it was a sad moment to have to shut the door and walk away. We loved Manuel's, and we adored Monterosso, and the Cinque Terre as a whole.

It was worth the journey in our very time-poor itinerary - to experience the stunning beauty and warm hospitality of this area.

Lorenzo was constantly shipping bags up and down the stairs, and Giovanni was always there serving us breakfast and nibblies/drinks in the evening - even making my teenage girls a delicious warm cup of hot chocolate at 3pm after we arrived back on a rainy day on his portable gas stove.

This was the only place in our time in Europe where the entire group of people staying at the hotel sat and chatted together as if we were part of one big happy family!.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a balcony view room!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Here_we_Go2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2012 via mobile

Lorenzo and Giovanni run this guest house like a well oiled machine...spotless rooms with breathtaking views are only upstaged by the kindness and around the clock service provided. The breakfast on the terrace was the best we had in Italy, fresh focaccia and espresso made a great start to every morning. In the evening you will be hard pressed to find a better location to wind down with wine and beer on tap. We will absolutely be coming back and look forward to another great trip to Monterosso.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NebraskaDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterosso al Mare hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Stella della Marina
Hotel Stella della Marina
#3 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Porto Roca
Hotel Porto Roca
#8 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
4.0 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Monterosso Alto
Hotel Monterosso Alto
#15 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
4.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Margherita
Hotel Margherita
#5 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 601 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel La Spiaggia
Hotel La Spiaggia
#6 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 738 reviews
0.6 mi away
B&B Il Parco
B&B Il Parco
#1 of 50 in Monterosso al Mare
5.0 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manuel's Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manuel's Guest House

Property: Manuel's Guest House
Address: Via San Martino 39, 19016 Monterosso al Mare, Italy
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Cinque Terre > Monterosso al Mare
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 50 B&Bs / Inns in Monterosso al Mare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Manuel`s Guesthouse Hotel Monterosso Al Mare
Manuel's Guest House Monterosso Al Mare, Cinque Terre, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing