We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic, lovely guesthouse”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Monterosso al Mare
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Manuel's Guest House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 December 2012

Yes, there are many steps to get there.... I counted 150 from the very bottom to our room at the top of the guesthouse. If anything, having to work to get there made the experience even more special. We were helped up and down with our luggage by Lorenzo who manages everything with the most pleasant personality. Our room was on the top floor with a breath-taking view. The furnishings are simple but perfectly suited for this place. Everything was clean, neat and comfortable. It was our first stop of our two week trip in Italy in mid-September, and I truly felt as if I was experiencing such an authentic piece of this lovely country. We started out every day with a continental breakfast served by Giovanni. His affable nature and bright smile were always evident. Breakfast consisted of coffee, cappuccino, or tea, juices, local pastries, fruit, yogurt, breads, prosciutto, and cheese. We would go out during the day, hiking and exploring, and when we returned, there was Giovanni, offering us an ample late afternoon snack with extremely reasonably priced beer or local wine. Sitting there on the patio, overlooking Monterrosso was truly a piece of heaven. On top of all of this, the price was very reasonable. I highly recommend Manuel's as long as you can walk up all the stairs...(good exercise for all the eating you'll do!)

Room Tip: The rooms at the top have spectacular views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NjoyTravelingNj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (436)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

262 - 268 of 436 reviews

Reviewed 14 November 2012

The hotel was absolutely perfect. It very clean, scenic, and the service is excellent. The hospitality went above and beyond what is normally expected. They make every guest feel like old friends and really do everything possible to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. Case in point, we couldn't connect to their WIFI because on a issue with our mobile phone; their solution was to let us use their spare laptop for our entire stay, just so we could have internet access. The breakfast was great and I especially liked the cappuccino. Make sure you take the time out to enjoy an afternoon drink on their deck/patio; the view is awesome.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are super clean; go for a balcony if one is available but it isn't critical.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Marcooool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2012 via mobile

It took a bit of work to get to Manuel's (many steps uphill) but we were pleased when we got there. We had the top right hand side room. A proper double bed (not two twins pushed together), a very clean room and bathroom with a nice atmosphere and a balcony (with table and chairs) with a stunning view over Monterosso and the sea. Just lovely.
We visited in November, so unfortunately we didn't see the place in full swing, with meals served on the terrace and busy. But we can imagine it would be great!
Lorenzo was very welcoming and gave us plates, cutlery and wine glasses so we could bring food home and snack on the balcony.
I'd like to visit again in warmer weather someday!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank worthyadvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2012 via mobile

Unfortunately we stayed here in Novemver during the off season, so the terrace was closed and no food was available.

It was still an amazing place to stay and we can't wait to visit again during summer. Lorenzo was fantastic to deal with, the balcony in our room had a view to die for and the value is second to none.

Others have mentioned the steps - don't book this if you have mobility issues and will find it difficult to climb lots of stairs.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2012

My husband and I came here for a few nights of our honeymoon and really enjoyed our stay. The two men that run the place are really gracious and the location itself is incredible. It's up a lot of stairs on a hillside, so I wouldn't recommend it if you don't want to haul your bags, but they are well worth it because the view is incredible! The room itself was lovely, and the air conditioning and wifi worked very well. Breakfast and evening drinks & antipasti on the terrace were the highlight of the stay, the view was beautiful, the location is quiet and so relaxing, and the service from the owner was so friendly. We would definitely stay here again if we return to Monterosso.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2012

I loved this place! I have to admit that the steps to the guesthouse were daunting, but without the altitude, the view would not have been so magnificent! I could have sat on the patio and looked at the town and water below all day long! The room was simple but clean, and the hospitality was warm and generous. I felt like I was family!

Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
3  Thank nancyr_ri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

A little hard to find, but well worth the climb of 128+ steps to the door. Recommend getting the room with the view, falling asleep with the window open, and waking up to the most beautiful sunrise you can imagine. We stayed for just 2 days and definitely could have spent more time there. Lorenzo is fantastic - he helped carry our bags up and down those stairs (thank goodness!) and gave us recommendations for places to check out in town for dinner or drinks. Giovanni kept us well fed in the mornings with delicious foccacia, fruit, and the BEST cappuccinos I have ever had. By far the best breakfast we had at any of the B&Bs we stayed in during our 2 weeks in Italy.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ecamin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterosso al Mare hotels
0.0 mi away
Albergo Marina
Albergo Marina
#15 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
628 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Stella della Marina
Hotel Stella della Marina
#3 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
414 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Margherita
Hotel Margherita
#5 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Porto Roca
Hotel Porto Roca
#8 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
612 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Monterosso Alto
Hotel Monterosso Alto
#18 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
176 reviews
0.6 mi away
B&B Il Parco
B&B Il Parco
#2 of 49 in Monterosso al Mare
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manuel's Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manuel's Guest House

Address: Via San Martino 39, 19016 Monterosso al Mare, Italy
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Cinque Terre > Monterosso al Mare
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Monterosso al Mare
Price Range: £53 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Manuel`s Guesthouse Hotel Monterosso Al Mare
Manuel's Guest House Monterosso Al Mare, Cinque Terre, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing