We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable accommodations with friendly service”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Albergo Marina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Albergo Marina
Ranked #18 of 20 Hotels in Monterosso al Mare
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Comfortable accommodations with friendly service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

We spent just two nights here and enjoyed it. Not a far walk from the public parking in the old town, which was important to us because we drove and had many bags with us. We reserved a quadruple room and that is what we received on check-in. The picture of the room online looked a little bit bigger but it was fine for the two nights we stayed. The bathroom had a big shower with powerful, hot water. My kids really loved the shower. The bathroom was small though and you had to sit sideways on the toilet because it was so close to the sink. Plenty of room with the bidet however. The room had a large window that opened onto the tiny street in front of the hotel and we loved that aspect. Beds were comfy. The hotel offered an afternoon pasta snack with homemade pesto that was to die for and free! They served it from 2-5pm and waited for us to unpack so we could get the last service of the day. Very thoughtful in my opinion. Breakfast was also very nice with a basic choice of cereals and yogurt, a variety of coffee options, juice, fruit and a nice chef who made omelets and eggs to order. Overall a very nice experience and I would recommend to friends and stay there again in the future.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Heidi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

572 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    360
    163
    37
    10
    2
See reviews for
126
320
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

Our 4-night stay was a delight at this quaint hotel in the heart of Monterosso. We were initially greeted by the co-owner Eraldo who, after I mentioned we had had a long travel day and no food on the train, checked us in and then walked me down to a local eatery. After I ordered, he sent me back to the room to unpack. 10 minutes later, he showed up with paninis and beverages, and wouldn't take any money for them. You just don't see that kind of thing every day. Eraldo's lovely wife (Marina) has encyclopaedic knowledge of the Cinque Terre hiking trails, and will spend time to explain the routes and various options. All the time, Eraldo and Marina's bambinos are running about giving the place a real home feel. The rooms are very comfortable, the breakfasts hearty and good, and the location cannot be beat. Strongly recommend to anyone traveling to Monterosso.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Crobbulan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doylestown, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
48 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

I sent an email through trip advisor on Friday and did not here back so I called! I spoke with Marina and she advised me to email the hotel directly! Found in the Rick Steve's book! That book is a bible! Mention and you get a 10 percent discount!
Marina sounded so sweet, love her accent! My husband and I are going there in June! We can't wait!

Room Tip: Have not been there yet but know it is going to be awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Carol R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Langley City, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2014

Great Family run hotel, who go out of their way to make your stay comfortable and memorable. They are more about making sure you're having a great stay than they are worrying about how much money they are making. Lots of little touches, like breakfast in the morning and pasta and snacks in the afternoon. Rooms were cute and cozy. Service was fantastic. Amazing to hear from the owner all that the hotel has gone through over the past few years (MAJOR flooding), yet they pulled through and carried on. They lost our reservation the first night, yet went out of their way to find us a place to stay (which wasn't easy as most hotels were booked), and ended up finding us top notch hotel at a significant loss to them. Can't say enough good things about this hotel and will definitely stay with them again when we return (and we will)!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank artsyshell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Island of Hawaii, Hawaii
Level Contributor
178 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

In the Spring of 2012, we discovered Monterosso Al Mare on a day trip from La Spezia, and came back to spend a week in the "old" part of the town. The setting and the price attracted us to Albergo Marina, and breakfast was filled with a good selection and made to order omelets from their chef. Our room was a good size and very clean, and with A/C. You are also never very far from great restaurants, wine bars, gellaterias, and gift shops; and the BEACH!

Room Tip: The upper floors are quieter, although it is not a noisy hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

Stayed at the Albergo marina for 13 nights, first 2 weeks of September. What a gem of a place. Nothing fancy, but very clean and comfortable. Flat screen TV, safe large enough for your iPad or E-reader. Also air conditioning which you needed even in September! We had a room with a balcony on the third floor which we loved as we were able to see and hear the daily bustle of small town life. I actually had conversations with local people that were outside on their balconies across from ours. Very quaint. Breakfasts were amazing, and the buffet at 2pm was something we looked forward to every day. Pasta with 3 different types of sauce, salad, sometimes calamari or roast meat with veggies and fresh fruit. Plenty to see you through until dinner time. This was a true gift and saves time and money looking for a restaurant to eat at lunch time.
Eraldo and Marina (owners) are the nicest people you could meet. We felt at home and they are so accommodating and act promptly if you have any issues. Enquire about Eraldo’s new eatery that he has opened just down the street from the hotel. A cute little place where he makes up plates of various cold meats served with a wide variety of cheeses and grilled veggies. Great if you don’t feel like a large dinner and long waits at a restaurant. You have to either reserve a table or get there early as seating is limited outside. Also try Pizzeria Da Ely, wonderful service and the best meals we had. Try the baked branzino (sea bass) with potatoes and olives. Al Carugio also good and reasonable.
Monterosso is such a great place to stay as a base. Travel by train is fast and easy whether you go east or west coast. The town is wonderful. A true fishing village atmosphere. The beach is great, water clean and sandy bottom. But contrary to what I had read many times, it’s not really a sand beach. Rather very small pebbles mixed with very grainy sand. But that was not an issue. I think there may be another area in the new town where you may have a small beach area with only sand. We liked where we were in the old town. Comfortable lounge chairs, clean restrooms, a restaurant with a gorgeous view and just a stunning 5 min walk from the hotel.
Take the time to wander and discover all the small streets and alleys. Surprises at every corner. The town is not large but has a lot to offer. Take the little city bus and do your own tour. Walk up to the cemetery for a fantastic view as well there is a beautiful church with paintings from the 16th century.
We will go back but stay even longer next time.

Room Tip: Request a room on the higher floors with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank elisa08Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marietta, Georgia USA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013

We have been to Italy several times, but had never driven from Rome up the coast to the Cinque Terre. We planned this as a side trip before driving to Tuscany for two weeks last September. We were not familiar with the 5 towns, and began making inquiries about reservations. The only resort that would make a one night booking was Albergo Marina in Monterosso al Mare. It was recently remodeled after the mud slides of 2011. The parking in Monterosso is very challenging, as you cannot drive in the historical area. But once you park and arrange for your bags to be transported to the hotel, you are in a quaint, seaside village. The hotel is on a quiet street within walking distance of everything.
We walked to the beach and enjoyed a delicious dinner al fresco at Ristorante “Il Casello”, looking at the beautiful Mediterranean Sea. The train connecting the 5 Cinque Terre towns ran through a tunnel just above us. For a minute or two it was a little noisy, but only added to the uniqueness of the area.
Unfortunately the Hotel’s rooftop lemon garden was closed for the season, but you could walk out there and see the amazing views. Breakfast was served in their small restaurant and was a pure delight. A server was at a station making custom ordered omelets to your liking. This was included with the nights stay.
To truly do the Cinque Terre justice you should stay for several days and walk the connecting trails or take the train and see the other towns. But just walking along the shore of the Mediterranean even for one day is certainly a lasting memory.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 2GeorgiaBrowns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monterosso al Mare
1.1 mi away
Hotel Monterosso Alto
Hotel Monterosso Alto
#15 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
4.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Porto Roca
Hotel Porto Roca
#9 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
4.0 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
4.4 mi away
Luna di Marzo
Luna di Marzo
#4 of 11 in Riomaggiore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Locanda del Sole
Locanda del Sole
#2 of 11 in Riomaggiore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
0.8 mi away
Suisse Hotel Bellevue
Suisse Hotel Bellevue
#13 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
4.0 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel 5 Terre
Hotel 5 Terre
#10 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
4.0 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo Marina

Property: Albergo Marina
Address: Via Buranco 40, 19016 Monterosso al Mare, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Cinque Terre > Monterosso al Mare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Monterosso al Mare
#3 Romantic Hotel in Monterosso al Mare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Albergo Marina 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LOCATION Hotel Marina, just redone, is located in the historical center of Monterosso al Mare where even with just a few days or a little time, you can breathe the charachteristic air of the Cinque Terre. We are close to small shops in very quiet street just steps away for the best cafes, pizzerias and resteraunts in Monterosso. We are just 100 meters form the rotected seaside and beaches, form the trails and the ferries. It is possible to hike to all of the five villages, go snorkeling and mountain biking all on foot form our central location LEISURE ACTIVITES You can go hiking on the trails along the Cinque Terre, you can join local boat trips or swim in our wonderful sea, which is a protected sanctuary. With us you have free use of beach towels, snorkels and flippers, a solarium, ROOMS Hotel Marina offers ensuite facilities in all or our 25 rooms also including, 28 satellite TV, telephone, hair dryer, safe, air conditioning, and frigobar. Double triple and Quadruple rooms can also be accomodates with all seperate twin beds, however this must be requested and confirmed before arrival ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, HostelWorld and Studio Scivoletto S.r.l. so you can book your Albergo Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Marina Hotel Monterosso Al Mare
Albergo Marina Monterosso Al Mare, Cinque Terre, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing