We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boutique Hotel with nice staff.”
Review of Hotel Margherita

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Margherita
Certificate of Excellence
Richardson
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Boutique Hotel with nice staff.”
Reviewed 20 November 2013 via mobile

Not knowing much about Monterosso it was difficult to choose a hotel. I think my choice turned out to be a good one. This hotel is in a great location and has a modern feel. The staff was nice and spoke English which was a big plus to us. Rooms weren't very big but there was room to move around. Not any extras here except 2 small bottles of water. Still a nice little place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Elaine_M12Richardson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

643 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    357
    223
    46
    9
    8
See reviews for
101
367
18
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Naples, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

We booked this hotel for a long weekend in Cinque Terre. We booked a suite (2 adults and 2 children), and it was a loft suite with 2 queen beds. The suite was spacious enough and the bathroom was very nice. Our room had a small balcony which we enjoyed. We liked this hotel very much because: 1) great location 2) friendly and helpful staff 3) clean rooms 4) good breakfast. We certainly recommend this hotel as a great base for seeing fabulous Cinque Terre.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ajnbartlett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, NY
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

In the Cinque Terre, one does not expect much in the way of space. Luxury, beauty, views, yes. Space? Not at all. That is changed by an experience with Hotel Margherita. What a spectacular hotel if you get the right room. Do not skimp and you will be rewarded. The location is perfect and the staff is superb. Bravo!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tpmedia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
52 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

My husband and I spent almost a month touring the whole of Italy for our honeymoon and we spent 2 nights at this hotel.

What we LOVED about the hotel:-
1) Rooms - Clean and modern. We were allocated a room with a balcony on the highest floor with a view of the entrance to Monterosso.

2) Location - In the new Monterosso, which we very much preferred over the old Monterosso. The old Monterosso is where the train station is (approx. 500m away from the hotel, across the tunnel and over the hill) and we felt it was too commercialized. We had driven to Cinque Terre and we parked just 200m away from the hotel which was great for us. Traveling over 3 weeks in Italy and doing minimal laundry, we had 4 luggage pieces with us which we easily lugged over to the hotel. This hotel provides an excellent base to explore the whole of Cinque Terre. It is also a short walk away (approx. 200m) from the beach which was great for our evening walks after dinner. Unfortunately we were not equipped to go for the hikes, as it rained off and on as well. However the train station was a short walk away and we took the train from one town to the next to explore the whole Cinque Terre.

3) Food - Breakfast was basic. If you love your toast, fresh fruits and eggs, then this place has it all. Nothing fancy, but good enough for us nevertheless. Should you want more, there are great cafes nearby the hotel with fresh daily-made pastries.

4) Service - Smooth check-in. The reception was very helpful.

Room for improvement for the hotel:-
1) Sleep quality - Beds were quite hard. Could be better!

We came across this hotel through TripAdvisor under the hotel the reviewers are raving about and we are glad we stayed there! We look forward to our next visit and would recommend this hotel to our family and friends visiting Cinque Terre!

Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SMYong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Eduardo, Vanessa and the entire front desk staff couldn't have been more welcoming, friendly and helpful during our entire stay, from accommodating our needs to restaurant, shopping and beach recommendations to suggestions for alternative hikes since some of the paths are closed. We had some specific things that we wanted to buy while we were there and Vanessa sent us to exactly the right stores which were the only stores that carried each unique item. The room was modern, nice and comfortable with a modern bathroom. Breakfast downstairs was good with a good variety to choose from. WiFi connections were good in the room. We very much enjoyed our stay and would stay at Hotel Margherita again when returning to Monterosso.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff n Patty V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

We just stayed at hotel Margherita for two nights. The front desk staff were very helpful and the hotel was clean, modern and on one of the main streets in monterosso. As with most hotels in Italy, the room was fairly spartan and the shower very small. We were given a handicapped room which wasn't ideal- but it was fine for the short stay. Great breakfast is included with the usual assortment of pastries, meats and cheeses. Nice coffee machine and option to boil eggs.

We would def stay here again due to reasonable cost and good location.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chicagochick72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

This is the second time i have stayed at this hotel & has been updated since flood in 2011. Great to see the same friendly, helpful & courteous service continues. Very clean and spacious rooms. Delicous breakfasts. Excellent location to explore the Cinque Terre.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Debbie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monterosso al Mare
0.1 mi away
Albergo Marina
Albergo Marina
#18 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
609 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Porto Roca
Hotel Porto Roca
#8 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
592 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Adriana
Hotel Villa Adriana
#9 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Monterosso Alto
Hotel Monterosso Alto
#14 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
167 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel 5 Terre
Hotel 5 Terre
#10 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
406 reviews
5.5 mi away
Locanda del Sole
Locanda del Sole
#2 of 11 in Riomaggiore
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Margherita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Margherita

Property: Hotel Margherita
Address: Via Roma 72, 19016 Monterosso al Mare, Italy
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Cinque Terre > Monterosso al Mare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Monterosso al Mare
#9 Family Hotel in Monterosso al Mare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Margherita 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Margherita is at your disposal to make your stay pleasant and relaxing, in a tasteful and comfortable environment. Located in the center of the historic town of Monterosso, we are just a few steps from the beaches, touristic port, trails, local shops and many restaurants to choose from. Our courteous Reception and Management staff, are always at your disposal to provide you with all the information needed for the famous hiking trails, tours by boat and train transportation within the park of the Cinque Terre. After the mudslide that hit Monterosso in October 2011, the hotel has been completely renovated. The hotel has a common living area with free Wi-Fi, satellite tv, bar and private patio that looks out onto the old fascinating town of Monterosso. In the morning you can enjoy a delicious breakfast in our inviting breakfast room, where you can find a wide variety of choices from our breakfast buffet.All of our rooms are equipped with air-conditioning, satellite tv, telephone, Wi-Fi access, mini fridge and safe. All rooms have private bathrooms with a shower and hair dryer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Margherita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Margherita Hotel Monterosso Al Mare
Hotel Margherita Monterosso Al Mare, Cinque Terre, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing