We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, comfortable, great location”
Review of Hotel Margherita

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Margherita
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 April 2014

We stayed for four nights at the Hotel Margherita in Occtober 2013. We had a good stay and would probably stay here again.

Hotel: The location is amazing, right on (what I'd call) the main road in old town. The hotel does not have a sea view, but it makes up for it with lack of steps to climb, and Monterosso itself offers lots of sea views, so we didn't mind. :) The common and outdoor areas of the hotel are quite pretty. The hotel seems quite modern, and I imagine that (like a lot of hotels in Monterosso) it was renovated after the 2011 flood.

Room: We had a junior suite. The junior suite is in the building next to the main hotel building. There is an elevator for baggage and people who can't take the stairs, but I believe the staff has to let you use it. The room itself was quite nice and very clean. The upstairs loft area had the beds and a nice little window. Downstairs was the living area, bathroom, and storage. The furniture was modern and comfortable but somewhat Spartan. The room was quiet overall, but we could clearly hear the neighbors going up and down the steps next door. We enjoyed hanging out on the balcony and people watching.

Bathroom: The bathroom was very clean and modern. It had plenty of space with a very spacious shower. Great bathroom!

Service: Service was polite and helpful but not necessarily friendly.

Breakfast: The food at breakfast was good and fresh (especially the focaccia and cakes), but the service was kind of confusing. There was a gal cleaning up tables and such, but she did not offer coffee or direct where we should sit. We just sat at a table and then discovered that there was a coffee machine. We noticed that the staff was making espresso for some folks at a nearby table (ownership, it seemed), but we were not offered espresso. This wasn't a deal breaker for us, but it was confusing and somewhat off-putting.

Aside from the breakfast service and confusion, we were pleased with our stay and would definitely consider staying here again.

Room Tip: Our junior suite had a balcony and separate sleeping area in the loft.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelingPenguin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (651)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Margherita
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

245 - 251 of 651 reviews

Reviewed 19 March 2014

This place has amazing service. We had a beautiful two story room, the best hotel experience we've had in Italy. The manager went above and beyond to take care of us. We are seasoned travelers and rarely get this level of service. We opted to stay an extra night because they were so kind and helpful.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lindsay H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Great bar and good location. However, breakfast was rather like an army canteen, style free but perhaps this was because hotel was full of big groups of serious hikers. Clean, rather basic accommodation, stylefree. Seemed expensive for what it was.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank henriettaSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

After a very long walk to hotel we were not offered a drink of anything. Hotel clean but room so small nowhere to put cases. Shower impossible to move in. Like a prefabricated shower in a caravan. Breakfast OK but they do not clean / clear tables so if you arrive late you have to move scraps to make room. The manager (male) was quite good but his hands were tied by the stand off family owners. The owner's daughter is the rudest person ever to work in a hotel. She needs at least 5 years in re training in hospitality and customer service. If you require room service or items that were not left by house keeping then she expects you to get it yourself. Never seen such rude service anywhere in the world. Some other staff were doing their best most of the time. Nearby restaurants are great.

Room Tip: You must get an upgrade to get any view.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Steve Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013

What a great find! This recently remodeled property is so modern and comfortable. I loved staying there. The breakfast was fantastic! Lots of great options. Can't believe the deal I got in staying here! The location is absolutely perfect. I highly recommend it!!

Room Tip: Make sure you don't get a room equipped for people with disabilities.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravelingChicagoan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013 via mobile

Not knowing much about Monterosso it was difficult to choose a hotel. I think my choice turned out to be a good one. This hotel is in a great location and has a modern feel. The staff was nice and spoke English which was a big plus to us. Rooms weren't very big but there was room to move around. Not any extras here except 2 small bottles of water. Still a nice little place to stay.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Elaine_M12Richardson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

We booked this hotel for a long weekend in Cinque Terre. We booked a suite (2 adults and 2 children), and it was a loft suite with 2 queen beds. The suite was spacious enough and the bathroom was very nice. Our room had a small balcony which we enjoyed. We liked this hotel very much because: 1) great location 2) friendly and helpful staff 3) clean rooms 4) good breakfast. We certainly recommend this hotel as a great base for seeing fabulous Cinque Terre.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ajnbartlett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterosso al Mare hotels
0.1 mi away
Albergo Marina
Albergo Marina
#16 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
622 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Stella della Marina
Hotel Stella della Marina
#2 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
405 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Porto Roca
Hotel Porto Roca
#8 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel La Spiaggia
Hotel La Spiaggia
#7 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
784 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Monterosso Alto
Hotel Monterosso Alto
#17 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
172 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Adriana
Hotel Villa Adriana
#9 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Margherita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Margherita

Address: Via Roma 72, 19016 Monterosso al Mare, Italy
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Cinque Terre > Monterosso al Mare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Monterosso al Mare
#9 Family Hotel in Monterosso al Mare
Price Range: £79 - £168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Margherita 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Margherita is at your disposal to make your stay pleasant and relaxing, in a tasteful and comfortable environment. Located in the center of the historic town of Monterosso, we are just a few steps from the beaches, touristic port, trails, local shops and many restaurants to choose from. Our courteous Reception and Management staff, are always at your disposal to provide you with all the information needed for the famous hiking trails, tours by boat and train transportation within the park of the Cinque Terre. After the mudslide that hit Monterosso in October 2011, the hotel has been completely renovated. The hotel has a common living area with free Wi-Fi, satellite tv, bar and private patio that looks out onto the old fascinating town of Monterosso. In the morning you can enjoy a delicious breakfast in our inviting breakfast room, where you can find a wide variety of choices from our breakfast buffet.All of our rooms are equipped with air-conditioning, satellite tv, telephone, Wi-Fi access, mini fridge and safe. All rooms have private bathrooms with a shower and hair dryer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Margherita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Margherita Hotel Monterosso Al Mare
Hotel Margherita Monterosso Al Mare, Cinque Terre, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing