We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“room review”
Review of Hotel Margherita

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Margherita
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 July 2014

The hotel is charming, the service was good and the location was excellent. But DON"T get a standard room. We were stuck with a standard room with the smell of mold constantly, the sink leaked one night and we had to mop up a flood, the beside lamp did not work when we arrived and the room was very noisy. We had to call for intevention one night to quiet the noise coming from the room next door. The walls are not sound proof. The Wi Fi was also unpredictable and not very efficient. We stayed in the older section of the hotle with no balcony. If you stay at this hotel, insist and pay for the upgrade with a better room and a balcony. Don't let them stick you in the standard unless you are desperate. I should have insisted. Thank goodness for the lovely patio and the town itself where we spend most of our time. I would only stay there again if I got a better room.

Room Tip: insist on an upgrade and a good room with a view. Don't get the standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank tara r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (663)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

232 - 238 of 663 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2014

Hotel Margherita in Monterooso is wonderful! Staff is very courteous, friendly, and helpful. Location of the hotel is convenient. Outside patio is great for cocktails (free snacks provided with purchase of drinks). Recommendations and information was always 'spot on'. Would return again. In my opinion, should have a higher star rating.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank janegilbreath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Super clean. In-room internet, but it's REALLY slow, so don't plan on uploading a lot of pics to Facebook. Our room was large, perhaps the largest of all our vacation rooms so far, with TWO balconies overlooking a lovely tomato garden. Seriously, it was lovely and really cool. There was air conditioning and it was loud and you will be glad because the hotel is old and creaky and thumpy, even though it's been redone very nicely, you can hear the neighbor above you move a chair, so loud ambient noise AC was very welcome, not to mention it was HOT there!

Let's talk about about parking. It SUCKS. That a word I reserve for when things are quite bad. So here's my $1 Million dollar tip for check in: Ignore your navi that tells you it's a restricted area and drive down that narrow street and pull over to the left just before the arch. You will see the yellow part of the hotel (it's in two parts, yellow and terra cotta colored). Take out your luggage, but have someone stay with the car in case they need to move it so you don't get a ticket. Check in, move luggage to you room, then drive back up the hill and on the right you'll see a parking structure. You probably won't see it on your way in cuz you've been driving that twisty road for the last 30 minutes and you just want to stop and have a beer or a glass of wine! So there's your structure on the right. If no one is waiting for a parking place at a red light at the parking structure (which means it's full), pull up and wait for someone to leave so you get a covered space. It's 18 EUROs a day...really! But once you garner your precious space, you don't have to move your car until you leave the town. Walk, use the trains...don't give up your space! Another parking tip...arrive REALLY early in the day or REALLY late in the day. Beach traffic is a little crazy. Once you're there, it really great, so just put up with the crap for a bit and drink and eat your cares away after that.

Breakfast, which is included, is totally delicious.

Another tip...just up the street from the hotel is a market called Crai Crai. Cheap beers to take back to the room. Get some meats and cheeses and bread and eat on the balcony for about 12 euros (not including booze) Everyone speaks English, so no worries.

ANOTHER tip for train travel. Don't mess with those HORRIBLE ticket machines. Just walk to the window with a person, tell them "two tickets to Vernazza" or whatever, and be done in two minutes. The machine are the devil's work! Also, make sure you get on the right train. Our four-minute ride turned into a two-hour ride cuz we took the wrong train cuz one was late, but one was on time and bla bla bla. They're not as efficient as Germany...just saying.

Hope this was helpful. I read a lot of TripAdvisor reviews before our vacation and they were very helpful to me in making decisions. Just paying it back! Happy Travels!! xoxo

Room Tip: I think all rooms in this hotel are probably pretty good. It's not a night time party town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank Tracy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

It's all about the position, position, position and this place is so convenient, in the old part of the city, just a short walk to the beach and not so far to the train station through the tunnel....plenty of choices close by for eateries, bars and gelato shops...and little shops full of delights for the shopaholic...the staff here are so friendly, they will make your stay so enjoyable, nothing is a bother. Breakfast is a plenty really, no bacon and eggs but really??? Great coffee machine I must say as I'm a pretty fussy girl when it comes to coffee!!!
lovely comfortable rooms ( clean as ) and again who needs a huge room, when really you only spend such a little time in them. Stayed on the 3rd floor with lovely French doors out onto a little balcony, which we loved, as we could open them up for fresh air instead of that dreaded air con.
Lovely little courtyard out the side for a cold beer and a little snack that they bring you....
Highly recommend the Hotel Margherita, and all the staff.....

Room Tip: One with a balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ozzytravellers08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We only assume that Francesca and Marco were the owners, but they worked very hard at making everything nice for our visit. They were helpful in organizing daily needs, such as reservations, and advice on Cinque Terre hikes. The rooms were clean and comfortable, although a little stark. We had rooms with a terrace, but unfortunately there were no umbrellas and it was too hot to make any real use of the terraces. Breakfast was good and there is a pleasant outdoor seating area to have a drink at the end of an afternoon. Our first choice was to stay at the Porto Roca for the waterfront location and we did miss that, but on the other hand the Hotel Margherita was considerably less expensive and my guess is the rooms were as nice as, if not nicer, than the rooms at Porto Roca (judging by reviews and a visit to it for dinner.)

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank MichiganSusan2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We stayed at the Hotel Margherita for four nights in mid June. It was our second choice as the hotel we stayed at last time was fully booked this time. That turned out to our advantage as we stayed at Margherita instead and we are so pleased we did.
We had a lovely room on the third floor with its own balcony looking out over the town. The room was modern and relatively simply furnished, and had a modern bathroom with an excellent shower.
Breakfast was included, and it was a veritable feast each morning, with lots of lovely food to choose from.
The staff were very helpful and spoke excellent English which made it easy for us.
We particularly enjoyed our late afternoon drinks and snacks in the hotel courtyard, watching the world go by.
We left some laundry items at Reception before breakfast one morning, and it was delivered back to our room washed, dried and folded just two hours later - very impressive.
This has become our new favourite hotel in the Cinque Terre and we strongly recommend it to other travellers.

Room Tip: Try for a balcony room on the third floor - we had room 302 and it was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steph917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at Hotel Margherita for 4 nights at the end of June. We found the service excellent; the best during our 3 week stay in Italy. The staff spoke fluent English, were polite and helpful in answering our questions and fulfilling requests. The hotel is located in the central area of the old town, making it easy to get around. While the room was basically furnished it was clean and a large balcony with lounge chairs meant we could relax while watching people strolling the main street. Drinks in the comfy lobby chairs were a highlight, they were reasonably priced and staff brought out platters of free snacks while we chatted with other guests. The free breakfast was good by italian standards but it would be nice to see more hot options. Overall this hotel was a delight, we will return!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank midwife83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monterosso al Mare
0.1 mi away
Hotel Stella della Marina
Hotel Stella della Marina
#3 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
427 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Porto Roca
Hotel Porto Roca
#8 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
622 reviews
5.5 mi away
Locanda del Sole
Locanda del Sole
#2 of 11 in Riomaggiore
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Monterosso Alto
Hotel Monterosso Alto
#18 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
178 reviews
0.1 mi away
Albergo Marina
Albergo Marina
#15 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
633 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Adriana
Hotel Villa Adriana
#9 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Margherita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Margherita

Address: Via Roma 72, 19016 Monterosso al Mare, Italy
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Cinque Terre > Monterosso al Mare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Monterosso al Mare
Price Range: £72 - £200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Margherita 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Margherita is at your disposal to make your stay pleasant and relaxing, in a tasteful and comfortable environment. Located in the center of the historic town of Monterosso, we are just a few steps from the beaches, touristic port, trails, local shops and many restaurants to choose from. Our courteous Reception and Management staff, are always at your disposal to provide you with all the information needed for the famous hiking trails, tours by boat and train transportation within the park of the Cinque Terre. After the mudslide that hit Monterosso in October 2011, the hotel has been completely renovated. The hotel has a common living area with free Wi-Fi, satellite tv, bar and private patio that looks out onto the old fascinating town of Monterosso. In the morning you can enjoy a delicious breakfast in our inviting breakfast room, where you can find a wide variety of choices from our breakfast buffet.All of our rooms are equipped with air-conditioning, satellite tv, telephone, Wi-Fi access, mini fridge and safe. All rooms have private bathrooms with a shower and hair dryer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Margherita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Margherita Hotel Monterosso Al Mare
Hotel Margherita Monterosso Al Mare, Cinque Terre, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing