We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel! ”
Review of Hotel Margherita

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Margherita
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

Hotel was very clean and comfortable, and the staff friendly and helpful. The hotel was recently renovated, and they did a great job. Very cold AC, and very hot water. Comfortable bed, which is pretty rate for Italian hotels. Fantastic location right in the middle of the "action" of Monterosso. We spent only one night here, booked it at the last second, and got the last available room which is their smallest standard room. No complaints whatsoever - we'd stay here again without giving it a second thought!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank ATXwino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (662)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

224 - 230 of 662 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2014

We spent 3 nights here. We had a great time. The manager was so friendly and all the staff were great. Close to all the shops and resturants. I hope that we can come here again, it's an easy friendly place!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Michelle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We loved our stay here. Rooms are very clean and the air conditioning is really works!!.....as cool as you want it to be. The bathrooms are big and the rooms are a good size with very comfortable beds. Extra pillows in the closet as well as blankets and there is a small refrigerator in the room. The location is great, easy walk to everything in town, but as others have said if you are arriving by train take a taxi if you have luggage. The service in the hotel is great! Marco and the entire staff is very helpful making dinner reservations and anything you need. He also knows a lot about the local wines and makes a great drink. Make time to have a drink on the patio......great people watching as a lot of people walk past from the beach. Breakfast is delicious with fresh peach and apple cake as well the the usual fresh fruits, cereals and pastries, not to mention all the fresh juices. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Margaret P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

I stayed here 4 years ago and when I came back to Monterosso in August 2014 I did not have to research which hotel to stay at!

The location is fantastic - 7 minute walk from the train station and close to a number of great restaurants and shops.

The double rooms are on the small side however clean and comfortable.

The staff are all incredibly helpful and kind.

The breakfast is typical Italian buffet with variety and fresh produce.

I will definitely be staying here again.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AsIWonder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We were a little apprehensive about this hotel before we arrived. Our fears were quickly alleviated. Marco and Francesca were the most engaging people that we had met. They treated us like royalty. The thing about this hotel is that it is conveniently located within walking distance of everything in the old part of the town. I loved that within 3 minutes you were at the beach, there were restaurants all over the place, and lots of shopping.

We loved the terrace, we had breakfast out there every day and when we came back to the hotel, Marco made us some spritzes and served us salty snacks. The room was nice, not the biggest, but it was very clean and we had a small balcony with a small table and 2 chairs. I used that balcony alot in the evenings. It was fabulous to sit out there in evening when everything was dark and just enjoy the silence, or the occasional squeaking of a clothes line somewhere.

We were very sad to leave this place, and we will definitely be back much sooner rather than later.

Room Tip: Book early to get a good room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Glen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We loved our stay here, as we had our daughter with us we had a large room and the bathroom was enormous. The manager was really helpful as our daughter was un well. The service was great, and location perfect for us. If you arrive by train get a taxi, as it's a bit far with suitcases, otherwise it's an easy walk.

Room Tip: We were on the third floor, and it wasn't too noisy, on e night ther was a party behind our hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Excellent location, perfect position in the town of Monterosso, The hotel team made us welcome as soon as we arrived, we had a suite which was ready and very clean. We loved having drinks and nibbles after a long day out. Breakfast is good without being over the top, all you need before setting off for the day.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Raymond C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterosso al Mare hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel Monterosso Alto
Hotel Monterosso Alto
#18 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
178 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Porto Roca
Hotel Porto Roca
#8 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
622 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Stella della Marina
Hotel Stella della Marina
#3 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Albergo Marina
Albergo Marina
#15 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
633 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel La Spiaggia
Hotel La Spiaggia
#7 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
794 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Adriana
Hotel Villa Adriana
#9 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Margherita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Margherita

Address: Via Roma 72, 19016 Monterosso al Mare, Italy
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Cinque Terre > Monterosso al Mare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Monterosso al Mare
#9 Family Hotel in Monterosso al Mare
Price Range: £148 - £200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Margherita 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Margherita is at your disposal to make your stay pleasant and relaxing, in a tasteful and comfortable environment. Located in the center of the historic town of Monterosso, we are just a few steps from the beaches, touristic port, trails, local shops and many restaurants to choose from. Our courteous Reception and Management staff, are always at your disposal to provide you with all the information needed for the famous hiking trails, tours by boat and train transportation within the park of the Cinque Terre. After the mudslide that hit Monterosso in October 2011, the hotel has been completely renovated. The hotel has a common living area with free Wi-Fi, satellite tv, bar and private patio that looks out onto the old fascinating town of Monterosso. In the morning you can enjoy a delicious breakfast in our inviting breakfast room, where you can find a wide variety of choices from our breakfast buffet.All of our rooms are equipped with air-conditioning, satellite tv, telephone, Wi-Fi access, mini fridge and safe. All rooms have private bathrooms with a shower and hair dryer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Margherita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Margherita Hotel Monterosso Al Mare
Hotel Margherita Monterosso Al Mare, Cinque Terre, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing