We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful!”
Review of Il BoMa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Il BoMa
Ranked #5 of 32 Riomaggiore B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Highland Heights, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Delightful!”
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We're glad we choose Riomaggiore as our Cinque Terre base and the il Boma B&B was in a perfect location - a short walk up the main road and close to many shops and eateries. Maddy was helpful with tips on restaurants and hikes and the balcony was a bonus.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jerry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newyork53, Owner at Il BoMa, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Ciao Jerry,
Thanks so much for taking the time in writing a review we truly appreciate it and we hope to see you again sometime in the future. Maddy & Franco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    240
    99
    11
    4
    1
See reviews for
36
243
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Florence, Italy
1 review
Reviewed 15 September 2013

I had a good experience staying at il Boma B&B. The location is great, right on the main street of Riomaggiore, the southernmost town of the Cinque Terre. I found Riomaggiore as a good base for the cinque terre because it seemed a little less crowded than some of the other towns, has two places to swim (the beach with stones, or if you prefer a more protected spot the marina) and places where you can sit on the rocks and take in the beauty without a lot of other people around or by yourself. The other towns are accessible by train. The price I payed for my two night stay was very reasonable. My room was clean and satisfactory. Definitely would recommend this place to others.

Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank ShanaAlexandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newyork53, Owner at Il BoMa, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Thanks so much for your review and we hope to see you again in the near future. Maddy & Franco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 September 2013

My husband and I stayed at il Boma for three nights and had a great experience! Maddy was very welcoming and provided us with lots of information for our stay..not to mention some delicious pound cake and home made limoncello! Our room was really clean, the bed comfortable and the bathroom was huge. We would definitely recommend this B & B to anyone travelling to the area, we wished we could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maddy-Franco, Owner at Il BoMa, responded to this review, 8 September 2013
Ciao Jen & David, Thanks so much for taking the time in writing such a glorious review (we truly appreciate it).Glad that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to have you back as our guests sometime in the future. Warmest Regards, Maddy & Franco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debrecen, Hungary
1 review
Reviewed 5 September 2013

I spent four nights in Riomaggiore and I was totally satisfied with il Boma B&B. The owner is really helpful and nice, the place is perfectly located, easy to find, clean, and friendly! You feel like home! There are guidebooks you can use freely, and guests are given all the information about hiking, boating possibilities, and train schedule. Breakfast material is arriving daily in your room, which is equipped also with coffeemaker and fridge. The view is nice, on Riomaggiore main stree

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maddy-Franco, Owner at Il BoMa, responded to this review, 8 September 2013
Glad to hear that we made you feel at home at your home away from home (we know that we did our job correctly). Thanks for all your kind words and we hope to see you again in the future. Warmest Regards, Maddy & Franco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schwabisch Hall, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 3 September 2013

My wife and me stayed for 3 nights in B&B il Boma. Il Boma is in the
centre of Riomaggiore so we could enjoy the atmosphere at evening.
Everything is very clean. Bathroom is big and new. Maddy is very pleasant.

Room Tip: Breakfast in the sleeping room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank schirlej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maddy-Franco, Owner at Il BoMa, responded to this review, 8 September 2013
Thanks so much for taking the time in writing a review and glad to hear that we helped in making your stay in the 5 Terre a memorable one. Hope to have you again as our guest. Maddy & Franco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We are leaving the b&b this morning after a 2 night stay. Upon our arrival, we were very early (check in is at 2pm), but Maddy let us leave our backpacks in the hall as our room was being cleaned so we could go explore. She was extremely warm and welcoming... she even made a pound cake which was in our room later that evening. Maddy also gave us a couple maps, towels for the beach and ideas of things to do. She recommended we hike up Montenero - which is a huge mountain with a 180 view of all Cinque Terre - while the locals can get up this thing in 40mins, realistically you're looking at a solid hour hike uphill on uneven terrain but omg it was worth it! The views are spectacular - I've never seen anything like it. Highly recommend doing this if youre active and enjoy hiking! Wear good shoes, we were stupid and did it in flip flops. Maddy's restaurant selection was also wonderful. We ate down by the water at Dau Cila in Riomaggoire the first night and the food was excellent! Definitely get the tuna. The room itself was spacious - which was a nice change in comparison to some rooms we've stayed in on our trip. It had a coffee maker, water/juice and snacks that were topped up daily. Our room was very clean and the washroom was a great size. The biggest downside for me was the bed. I am a sucker for a soft comfy bed to rest my head but this one was awful. It hurt my back and I could feel the springs digging into me. The pillows were also uncomfortable but other than that, the place was perfect.

The towns are lovely. You feel like its straight out of a postcard. It really is unbelievably gorgeous. The hills and stairs are definitely tough but you feel like you've earned your true Italian meal afterwards. Bar Centrale 5 seconds down the street has cheap drinks and the best pesto lasagna!

Everyone we met and interacted with in Cinque Terre was great. The towns are very warm and friendly. This is a place that I would love to come back to in the future and would stay at Il Boma again. Thank you, Maddy!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mplusj7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maddy-Franco, Owner at Il BoMa, responded to this review, 8 September 2013
Ciao Melissa and Nathan,
Thanks so much for the glorious review and am very happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. The view from the sanctuary is quite breaktaking. Glad you enjoyed the cake and we hope to have you again as our guest sometime in the future. Warmest regards, Maddy & Franco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riomaggiore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Every thing anybody has said about the place is soooo true. Maddy made us feel very welcome and we had a great time. Our room had a balcony so we could watch the coming and goings of this lovely little town. Our room was very comfortable and the bathroom was very spacious.Breakfast supplies very plentiful and topped up every morning. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Linda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maddy-Franco, Owner at Il BoMa, responded to this review, 27 August 2013
It was great getting to know the both of you and we appreciate your taking the time in writing a review. Glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Riomaggiore
0.1 mi away
Locanda del Sole
Locanda del Sole
#2 of 11 in Riomaggiore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
1.1 mi away
Luna di Marzo
Luna di Marzo
#4 of 11 in Riomaggiore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
5.4 mi away
Albergo Marina
Albergo Marina
#18 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Alla Marina
Alla Marina
#1 of 32 in Riomaggiore
5.0 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
1.4 mi away
Il Borgo di Campi
Il Borgo di Campi
#9 of 32 in Riomaggiore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
3.7 mi away
Franca Maria Rooms
Franca Maria Rooms
#13 of 43 in Vernazza
4.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il BoMa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il BoMa

Property: Il BoMa
Address: Via Cristoforo Colombo 99, 19017 Riomaggiore, Italy
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Cinque Terre > Riomaggiore
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Riomaggiore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our B&B offers only three rooms and is located in the historic center of Riomaggiore, with ensuite facilities. T.V., Air-conditioning, heating, hair dryer, wi-fi and mini-fridge. Beach towels are also available. We are about a three-minute walk from the parking area, marina, beach and train station, where the famous Via Del Amore (Lover's Lane) connects with Manarola. Airport transportation is available upon request and for a fee. We also have rooms and mini apartments available through our Affittacamere some of which with sea views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Il BoMa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Boma Hotel Riomaggiore
Il BoMa Cinque Terre/Riomaggiore, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing