We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Jim & Kathy's Great Find” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of il Boma

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
il Boma
Ranked #4 of 32 Riomaggiore B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Greenwood Village, Colorado
1 review
“Jim & Kathy's Great Find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

We had a delightful November visit to Riomaggiore, Italy (5 Terre region). Maddy and Franco's B & B was a pleasant and enjoyable find. We stayed in the Blue Room which had a great balcony overlooking the main street, was very spacious and clean and had an updated bathroom which was a real bonus. Maddy was extremely helpful and a gracious hostess...noticing on my passport that it was my birthday and leaving champagne in the room - so thoughtful! She was particularly helpful with planning our day trips (hikes-train/ferry schedules) as well as wonderful recommendations for dinner in all 5 cities. We look forward to returning to experience the outdoor dining area they are proposing with their on-site personal chef Franco!

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JimandKathyS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maddy-Franco, Owner at il Boma, responded to this review, 1 February 2014
Ciao Jim & Kathy, So sorry that I am so late in thanking you for such a wonderful review. We truly enjoyed having you as our guests and are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we could be of help in your daily plans. We hope to see you again sometime in the future -- Until then Warmest Regards, Maddy & Franco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    237
    97
    11
    4
    1
See reviews for
36
238
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

Maddy and Franco's B & B is a home away from home! We stayed for 3 nights from the 17th October and really wish we could have stayed longer. We were fortunate enough to enjoy the 'blue room' with it's balcony overlooking the street and that was fun just sitting out there of an evening watching and listening to the sounds of people in the street or waving to the people who lived on the other side. Maddy is a wonderful hostess in many ways - she provides information about the local area, supplies a varied and plentiful breakfast in your room and is always available without being intrusive. The room was very comfortable, the shower was really good and the bed and pillows were very comfortable. The B & B is not too far from the station and although the rooms are up a couple of flights of stairs, at the ages of 68 and 76 we didn't find them too much trouble at all! There is a laundromat almost next door and the little restaurant/takeaway 2 or 3 doors up was not only convenient but tasty and value for money. There is absolutely nothing about this stay that we didn't enjoy and out of the 27 accommodations we stayed in over a 2 and a half month period, this is definitely in the top 5. Thank you so very much Maddy (and Franco) for a very happy stay and I sincerely hope that we will be able to come back in a couple of year's time.

Room Tip: If you want to have a balcony, ask for the Blue room. However, I believe that all 3 rooms are very c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maddy-Franco, Owner at il Boma, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Ciao Robyn & Tony,
Thanks so much for such a wonderful review. It was great getting to know you and to have such wonderful guests stay with us. We hope to see the both of you again in the future -- it would be a pleasure. Thanks again for the review. Un abbraccio Maddy & Franco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria BC Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

The location is very good for rail connections. not too far to drag your suitcases! The rooms are very spacious and modern. Maddy has put a lot of thought and effort in organizing the rooms and her guest's itinerary for a most enjoyable stay in 5 Terre. All windows are new thermopane providing complete silence from the street below. The comfortable bed and the quiet made for very good sleeps

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Norm H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newyork53, Owner at il Boma, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Ciao Nancy & Norm,
Thanks so much for your fantastic review and we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay in the 5 Terre and aboveall at our B&B. We hope to see you both here again in the future. Maddy & Franco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sycamore, Illinois
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013 via mobile

B&B il Boma, Riomaggiore, Italy:  Located on Riomaggiore's main street, Via Colombo, this B&B puts you right in the center of things.  Maddy and her husband Franco run il Boma and make sure that you have all the information  you need to get you started on your exploration of the Cinque Terre.  Maddie also makes sure that there are plenty of breakfast items which are replenished daily and include pastries, fresh fruit, yogurt and bottled water (in the mini fridge ), and Kcups for the espresso maker .  She went above and beyond for us, finding the ferry and Sunday train schedules and printing them out.  When we thought we would need to store our bags after check out, she also made arrangements for us to do so at il Boma.  Our room was large and comfy and had the most luxurious bathroom .  We also did some laundry at a near by laundromat and used the clothesline outside our window to dry some clothes, which was fun.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Cathleen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newyork53, Owner at il Boma, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Ciao Cathleen & Jean, Thanks so much for the wonderful review, we truly appreciate it. It was our pleasure to do everything we can to make our clients stay a comfortable and memorable one and we are glad to hear that is exactly what we accomplished. We hope to see you again in the future. Warmest Regards, Maddy & Franco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

We couldn't have been happier with our stay at Il Boma. If you're looking for a convenient location in Riomaggiore you can't do better, and you couldn't ask for a more accommodating or helpful host than Maddy (apart from offering dining and hiking recommendations, she even called our car-rental company on our behalf when we knew we'd be late for our reservation).

The information and maps that were provided for us at check-in were exceptionally helpful, and the spacious, sparkling bathroom was a very pleasant surprise after having spent three nights in comparatively tiny accommodation in Florence.

The Cinque Terre is not the place for people looking for five-star luxury hotels, but if a bright, clean room in a great location is what you're after, then Il Boma is a superb pick. Hiking and exploring the Cinque Terre was a highlight of our trip to Italy, and Il Boma was an ideal home base.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BDCA2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newyork53, Owner at il Boma, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Hi Guys, It's our pleasure in helping our clients any way we can to making their stay a pleasant one. We are glad we accomplished that and we thank you for your glorious review. We hope to see you both again in the future. Maddy & Franco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

We stayed 2 nights at Il Boma in early October. Maddy was delightful to deal with! The room was bright and cheerful with a modern, clean, large American style bathroom. This B & B is excellent for ladies in that everything is clean and safe which can be problematic in Italian hotels. etc. The nice bathroom surprizingly added to our overall favorable impression.

The air conditioning was wonderful; it worked well and cooled the room down nicely. The free WIFI was great and worked A ok.

I heartily recommend staying at Il Boma. It's a B & B that off - duty international airline crew members enjoy staying in on their own trips to Cinque Terre.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WW2Historyguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newyork53, Owner at il Boma, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Ciao Jack and Nancy,
A belated thank you for the great review you gave us. We are glad you enjoyed your stay in our B&B and enjoyed our area. Jack we wish you all the best for your future plans and we hope to see the both of you again in the future. Thanks again, Maddy & Franco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

We used il Boma at Riomaggiore as a base for five nights as we explored Cinque Terre. il Boma was easy to find and very conveniently located compared with the hotels and B&Bs further up the hill. We watched many travellers struggle up the hill with their luggage and were grateful for our location.

We had the smaller room with the separate private bathroom. Both were very well maintained and very clean. The two rooms combined provided plenty of space to keep our belongings.

On arrival, Maddy briefed us on the location of the important services around the town and provided brochures and advice. During our stay she treated us to a very large piece of homemade apple cake and to a bottle of homemade limoncino on departure.

A minor inconvenience was that our smaller room did not have space for a table at which to eat or write.

The room had a refrigerator and a tea/coffee machine which was very welcome and breakfast included fruit, yoghurt, bottles of water and copious pastries. However, most of the pastries were sweet - some savoury options would have been appreciated.

We would stay again.

Room Tip: The larger rooms with the attached bathroom would be more convenient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newyork53, Owner at il Boma, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Thanks so much for the great review you gave us. We are hoping to make some improvements next year with regards to breakfast options. Hope to see you again in the future. Thanks again Maddy and Franco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riomaggiore hotels
0.1 mi away
Locanda del Sole
Locanda del Sole
#2 of 10 in Riomaggiore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
1.2 mi away
Luna di Marzo
Luna di Marzo
#4 of 10 in Riomaggiore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Argentina
Hotel Villa Argentina
#6 of 10 in Riomaggiore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Due Gemelli
Due Gemelli
#7 of 10 in Riomaggiore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alla Marina
Alla Marina
#1 of 32 in Riomaggiore
5.0 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cinqueterre Residence
Cinqueterre Residence
#2 of 32 in Riomaggiore
5.0 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to il Boma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about il Boma

Property: il Boma
Address: Via Cristoforo Colombo 99, 19017 Riomaggiore, Italy
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Cinque Terre > Riomaggiore
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Riomaggiore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our B&B offers only three rooms and is located in the historic center of Riomaggiore, with ensuite facilities. T.V., Air-conditioning, heating, hair dryer, wi-fi and mini-fridge. Beach towels are also available. We are about a three-minute walk from the parking area, marina, beach and train station, where the famous Via Del Amore (Lover's Lane) connects with Manarola. Airport transportation is available upon request and for a fee. We also have rooms and mini apartments available through our Affittacamere some of which with sea views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Studio Scivoletto S.r.l. and Hotel.de so you can book your il Boma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Boma Hotel Riomaggiore
Il Boma Cinque Terre/Riomaggiore, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing