We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best restaurant in Riomaggiore” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of A Pie' de Ma'

A Pie' de Ma'
Ranked #5 of 40 Restaurants in Riomaggiore
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean, Wine Bar, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, View, Bar Scene, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Drinks, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in Riomaggiore”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

There seem to be two restaurants by this name. The lower one sounds like it isn't very good. The tiny one on top of the cliff was some of the most delightful and sophisticated yet local food we have ever eaten, and the location overlooking the sea is unbeatable. The kitchen is tiny, the chef is very inventive and skilled and only serves a few dishes so that he can make them all well. The service was lovely with a wine tasting menu and wines that were well selected. We had delicate and tasty squid salad with wild mushrooms and arugula that belonged in an Alice Waters restaurant, a sausage out of its casing appetizer with some carmelized shallots and a soft cheesy bite to balance it. Marvelous local lamb, a sea bass on fig leaves that was the best seafood we had in cinque Terre, and pear and mascarpone in wine that was amazing. All the tastes were subtle and unique but at the same time traditional. And the view is incredibly romantic and peaceful, which is hard to find in Riomaggiore. We liked it so much we ate there twice.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kato109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

611 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    302
    190
    57
    33
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
104 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Hidden put perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

Walk up the stairs to the Via Del Amore and ignore the closed sign for the road entrance. Up two flights of stairs you will find the restaurant that is closed (season) but follow the few stairs down to the wine bar.....everything is silent until you descend the stairs....then you are greeted by the spectacular view, wine and bruschetta. Its self service so dont sit at the table waiting for a waiter.
Excellent!
BTW you'll have to do some table moves if you want and edge seat (and you weren't lucky the on first seating ;-)

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tmaharaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Absolutely Magnificent Views!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

Upon our arrival in the Cinque Terre (Riomaggiore), we dropped our belongings off at our apartment and walked to A Pie' de Ma' where my husband and I enjoyed focaccia and vino della casa. The views are absolutely breathtaking and well-needed after a long day navigating the trains. The focaccia was fresh and tasty and the house wine delicious as well. If nothing else, come enjoy a cocktail or a glass of wine and enjoy the best view of the Mediterranean in Riomaggiore.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mirdean7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
174 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Avoid This Place”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

I try to be charitable in my reviews of places outside the USA to avoid the bias of being American. However, there is nothing about this place that calls for the least bit of charity. The only good quality about this place is that it is located on a cliff overlooking the Mediterranean. So, if you want a great view and nothing else, this is the place for you. We arrived around 2:30 p.m. and found a table on the patio. After sitting for about ten minutes, we asked a server if we could order some drinks. She took the order for four beers, but not did offer a menu; we had to ask. After sitting for fifteen minutes and not being served the beers, we were able to again get her attention and ask, "Where are the beers and can we place a food order?" She responded, "One moment." She returned with the beers, demand payment in cash and took our food order. We ordered two pannis and a plate of tomatoes with olives and cheese, and a salad with slices of beef. The pannis were not heated and consisted of two slabs of bread. One had only slices of salami and the other only slices of ham. When we asked about the cheese that was supposed to be on the ham sandwich, she reluctantly took it back and returned it with two slices of cheese on it. The tomato and cheese plate was supposed to come with bread, but that was not served until we asked for it. The server, a young woman with light brown hair pulled back in a ponytail, was slow, inattentive and rude -- a great combination. The food was mediocre at best and expensive. Also, the bar is "cash only" but you only learn that when you go to pay the bill; payment is expected even before your order is delivered. The problem is that there are no signs anywhere in the bar or upon entering advising customers that it is "cash only." The couple next to us had to ask where the nearest cash station was (the server told them it was at the train station) and one of them had to make an ATM run. So, avoid this place. Instead, go to one of the many bars or cafes in Monterosso that face on the Mediterranean where you can have a great view, good service, good food and reasonable prices.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank SOCIAWG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

I spent my 30th birthday on the patio of Bar E Vini drinking great wine and eating wonderful Charcuterie. I could have asked for a better place to watch the sunset.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AmiJane_916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed A Pie' de Ma' also viewed

Riomaggiore, Cinque Terre
Riomaggiore, Cinque Terre
 
Riomaggiore, Cinque Terre
Riomaggiore, Cinque Terre
 

Been to A Pie' de Ma'? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing