We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good and at the right price”
Review of L'Ancora

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
L'Ancora
Reviewed 8 February 2012

Honest choice, fresh decor, good location almost at the center of Riomaggiore. The simple breakfast treats (free croissants and coffee) add to the whole appreciation. The hilly location (as everything in Cinque Terre is) is easily manageable. Would recommend if the price is right as in our case.

Room Tip: There are only three rooms in the property, so choice is easy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tripdreamer1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (43)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 43 reviews

Reviewed 3 October 2011

We were in this hotel the second time. Best located apartment in Riomaggiore. . It was a very good apartment , everything worked and was very clean. Having a fridge in the room was a bonus . It had a nice balcony and umbrella for shade. All excellent, friendly staff . Juice, coffee, fresh pastries, very nice . Very safe, two locked doors . Good restaurants close by. Would definitely reccommend . Thank you, we will definitely return!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank doberoscar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2011

Comfortable little apartment. No breakfast available. Good heated towel rack for drying clothes in the bathroom. Some noise from revellers in the street late at night. Wifi wouldn't work with the our iPad, but there was a hotspot in the street about 20 metres away that was a pleasant place to sit. Close to everything but a bit of a walk up the hill from the station, but then most things are in Riomaggiore.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shirenomads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2011

There are not many hotel options in Riomaggiore unlike Monterosso or Levanto. There are 3 rooms at l'ancora which is situated in the main street. The reception is about 50 metres away and an easy walk from the train station. Access to the rooms is via a very narrow spiral staircase which proved a challenge with suitcases. We were lucky to have the top room with its own outdoor terrace and kitchenette although it meant 4 flights of stairs. The room was very modern and well appointed. Beds were very comfortable. There is no breakfast but complimentary juice and coffee (machine) is available. There are plenty of food options in the main street. Wifi was not working during our stay.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SweetpeaOlive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights and were really happy with everyhing. It of course helped that we had the room with the roof top terrace which was great for breakfasts, reading, just enjoying the scenery etc. The location was a little bit uphill but still very close to shops and restaurants. We could have stayed at L'Ancora for a longer time so can really recommend it.

Room Tip: Ask for the room on the top with the terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mint76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2011

Ok, we shouldn't have packed such large suitcases. We should have known that something was up when people were staring at us, then our suitcases, and giving us a wry little smile, too polite to laugh outright. Then, we shouldn't have asked the elderly locals sitting outside the train station the way to Via Colombo and then we shouldn't have believed them when they pointed to the very long and steep staircase which, we found after having lugged our suitcases up those stairs, was actually the start of the walk between villages. As we clunked the suitcases back down, we preferred to think that it was due to a language difficulty rather than a warped sense of senior citizen humor! Having dragged the suitcases up the Via Colombo to the room where you get the keys, we couldn't believe it but the road actually got steeper towards the actual hotel. Huffing and puffing at the door to the hotel, we didn't have the energy to either laugh or cry when we saw the final insult; a narrow spiral staircase up to our room. Two hernias and a dose of ventolin later, we were delighted to see our quaint little room. Very cute and comfortable with your very own clothes drying line, like many others, outside the window. There is also a laundromat down near the key office. Riomaggiore is delightful and, despite the tourists, still has a charming village feel. I liked this "hotel" and enjoyed staying there. As for the famed Cinque Terre walk, it seems to be a well kept secret that most of it is actually closed (they say due to weather) due to landslides and it looks like some time until it will be open again. Take the train and ferry between villages.

Room Tip: Don't pack a large suitcase!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank go2andfro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2011

In places like Cinque Terre, it would be difficult to find a hotel in such good condition. Newly renovated, you feel at home in L'Ancora. There is no staff at your disposal, however there is a coffee and breads that provide a reasonable coffee in the morning. Cleanliness, privacy and sense of freedom are the strengths. As the only negative point, I would say that I missed an appropriate replacement of bath amenities. The location is ideal, just as in all towns of the Cinque Terre, get ready to go up, up, up.

Room Tip: Request a room on low floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank soniaparlatore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riomaggiore hotels
0.2 mi away
Locanda del Sole
Locanda del Sole
#2 of 11 in Riomaggiore
305 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Zorza
Hotel La Zorza
#26 of 32 in Riomaggiore
214 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Argentina
Hotel Villa Argentina
#8 of 11 in Riomaggiore
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Il BoMa
Il BoMa
#5 of 32 in Riomaggiore
389 reviews
1.6 mi away
Due Gemelli
Due Gemelli
#9 of 11 in Riomaggiore
246 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sol Levante
Sol Levante
#7 of 11 in Riomaggiore
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Ancora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Ancora

Address: Via Cristoforo Colombo 111, 19017 Riomaggiore, Italy
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Cinque Terre > Riomaggiore
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 24 Speciality Lodging in Riomaggiore
Price Range: £63 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and HotelsClick so you can book your L'Ancora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
L'Ancora Cinque Terre/Riomaggiore, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing