We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Riomaggiorre is definately the nicest spot!”
Review of L'Ancora

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
L'Ancora
Reviewed 14 August 2013 via mobile

We are glad we chose this spot. We had looked at Monterossa and Manarola which are both great to visit but Riomaggiorre is the most relaxing and romantic.

Room is nice, fridge didn't work but only a small problem. Unit is on Main Street but up from the action and handy to the bay and the train. There are some lovely eateries close by, a couple if deli's and a do it yourself launderette.

The walking tracks are closed apart from Monterossa to Vernazza and Vernazza to Corniglia. We walked the track from Monterossa to Vernazza which was spectacular for views and a good pump! Over 750 stairs and around 90 minutes.

We bought a two day train and walking track pass for 19 Euro each. 1 day was the walk and second day we hired a couple of chairs, 27 euro for 2, in the quiter part of Monterossa near the Mexican cafe which is right on the beach. This had awesome coffee (1.50), bacon and eggs (5 Euro), Bruschetta (5 Euro) and jugs of sangria for 15 euro. We spent the day here swimming and relaxing and then back to Riomaggiorre to watch another beautiful sunset!

Would stay here again but would have loved the roof top. Next time

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CRAIGTHEKIWI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (43)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 43 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2013

My partner and I were very pleasantly surprised when led to our room. We found it to be incredibly spacious and clean! We even had a rooftop terrace! The people running the place were very welcoming and always available to help. They also had the cutest cat sitting in their office!!!
The room we were given was beautifully decorated and incredibly clean. A fridge was available for our use and we were given a complimentary bottle of sparkling wine which went down a treat after the long walk up the road to get to the room!
L'Ancora does not prepare any breakfast in the morning, however a downstairs kitchen is equipped with a coffee machine, juices as well as croissants and yoghurts for the guests, and they're all free.
The location is brilliant and my partner and I were incredibly happy to have booked this hotel! We would definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thea B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

very nice hotel
good service
clean room and modern
good aircon and other room services
simple drink and foods in kitchen.
laundry 20m away also very cheap and this town has good food!
very happy to pick this area and hotel

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Dean L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2012

We were pleasantly surprised when we were shown our room ... right in the heart of Riomaggiore, the best of the Cinque Terre in our opinion ... though the room is up the hill a bit (most rooms are as this village's main road is on a hill), it was beautifully renovated, spacious and had a wonderful rooftop terrace perfect for sipping wine and eating freshly baked pizza from one of the take-out restaurants in town. The only thing to consider for other travelers is the noise level - being on the main road, it's quite loud when the windows are open. But a pair of ear plugs do the trick! This is definitely a good choice in hotel stays!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Racman103e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2012

Honest choice, fresh decor, good location almost at the center of Riomaggiore. The simple breakfast treats (free croissants and coffee) add to the whole appreciation. The hilly location (as everything in Cinque Terre is) is easily manageable. Would recommend if the price is right as in our case.

Room Tip: There are only three rooms in the property, so choice is easy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tripdreamer1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2011

We were in this hotel the second time. Best located apartment in Riomaggiore. . It was a very good apartment , everything worked and was very clean. Having a fridge in the room was a bonus . It had a nice balcony and umbrella for shade. All excellent, friendly staff . Juice, coffee, fresh pastries, very nice . Very safe, two locked doors . Good restaurants close by. Would definitely reccommend . Thank you, we will definitely return!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank doberoscar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2011

Comfortable little apartment. No breakfast available. Good heated towel rack for drying clothes in the bathroom. Some noise from revellers in the street late at night. Wifi wouldn't work with the our iPad, but there was a hotspot in the street about 20 metres away that was a pleasant place to sit. Close to everything but a bit of a walk up the hill from the station, but then most things are in Riomaggiore.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shirenomads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riomaggiore hotels
0.2 mi away
Locanda del Sole
Locanda del Sole
#2 of 11 in Riomaggiore
309 reviews
0.1 mi away
Locanda dalla Compagnia
Locanda dalla Compagnia
#11 of 11 in Riomaggiore
140 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Argentina
Hotel Villa Argentina
#9 of 11 in Riomaggiore
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Locanda Ca da Iride
Locanda Ca da Iride
#4 of 11 in Riomaggiore
114 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sol Levante
Sol Levante
#7 of 11 in Riomaggiore
65 reviews
1.6 mi away
Due Gemelli
Due Gemelli
#8 of 11 in Riomaggiore
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Ancora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Ancora

Address: Via Cristoforo Colombo 111, 19017 Riomaggiore, Italy
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Cinque Terre > Riomaggiore
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 24 Speciality Lodging in Riomaggiore
Price Range: £65 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your L'Ancora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
L'Ancora Cinque Terre/Riomaggiore, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing