We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic stay”
Review of NiRia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
NiRia
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Riomaggiore
Reviewed 30 September 2012

our room had doors to the outside patio which was nice; room was kept spotless, cleaned and made up everyday. had a kitchen to use; wouldnt let us do our own dishes either. very modern bathroom. great italian breakfast; breads, homemade cakes, fruit. great patio to sit at night and enjoy the view with fellow travelers. even given lemonchelo one evening to drink. yum!! take the scenic hike down to manarola. best hike for us was from volastra to corniglia. also take the train to levanto and hike to monterosso. well worth the exercise. bring plenty of water. would recommend this b & b to everyone and will stay here again. a great location to visit the area.

Room Tip: our room ' il poggio' overlooked the patio and will request it again on our stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank susan155004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (131)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 131 reviews

Reviewed 7 September 2012

After reading all the glowing reviews, I was very excited to experience NiRia. However, my excitement turned to disappointment after my reservation was not honoured. I received an email from the B&B advising of availability for the date I needed. I immediately (within a 1/2 hour) confirmed my booking.
Then 6 days later, I received another email advising there was no availability! I should note that the B&B offered 2 days availability, but I only booked one. Well, I can guess what happened... they got a better booking, so cancelled mine. When I emailed asking why the change, there was no reply. That left me stuck traveling in Europe already, and scrambling to make a last minute reservation - not the way anyone should be treated and very unprofessional.
So,,, think twice before booking here.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
13  Thank CFW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2012

NiRia is less like a B&B and more like visiting family. Andrea and his family were incredibly gracious hosts and were a highlight to our already magical Cinque Terre experience. Rooms are basic but very clean. Breakfast was much better than we were expecting with hot, homemade pastries. NiRia overlooks the ocean. We loved sitting out on the patio with a bottle of wine (from the winemaker down the street) and takeout made by Bruna (just next to the winemaker). During the day, we took the hiking trails from Volastra to Corniglia - - which, by the way, were our absolutely FAVORITE hikes in all of the CT park. Volastra takes a little more effort to get to. You need to catch the bus in Manorola and it stops running around 8 PM. But after a day in the hot sun and dealing with the bustle of tourists in the 5 main towns, it was a welcomed reprieve to escape to NiRia and Volastra. Oh, the restaurant is also very good (make sure to get the seafood sampler). You may be wondering why I don't list the name of each eatery - - it's because there is only 1 winemaker, 1 takeaway joint, and 1 restaurant in town! Volastra is a hidden gem. NiRia is amazing.

Room Tip: Only 3 rooms on premise. All are pretty standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Annie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2012

We had THE best time at NiRia! This is the most generous, welcoming and friendly family you could hope to meet. The accommodation was beautiful; the rooms were large, incredibly clean and very comfortable. Having the most incredible breakfast overlooking the sea every morning from their terrace was the best start to each day you could possibly have.And we ended the day the same way, watching the ocean and sunset. We loved being up the hill in Volastra above Manarola, it was no problem at all to catch the shuttle bus up. The walks from Volastra down to either Manarola or Corniglia are both easy and beautiful.
Volastra is a lovely, peaceful village and we cannot speak highly enough of our stay at NiRia.
We'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2012

This is a fantastic place to stay. We had parking for the car, our room and bathroom was lovely, well equipped, beautifully clean and serviced. Our breakfast each day was delicious, they take real pride in the food they serve and the service was excellent. We had the most amazing chocolate cake and our coffe cups were never empty. A lovely walk down to to Manarola. Would recommend walking all the Cinque Terra, very beautiful and so memorable, would love to go back another time and would highly recommend NiRIA. our thanks to our lovely hosts. Glenda and Mark Woodward Rangiora New Zealand

Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Glenda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2012

We stayed here on our honeymoon to Italy and could not have been happier with our choice. The couple running this B&B are the kindest, most accommodating people we came across. The room and building were absolutely lovely and had a great view of the sea. Though it is up in the hills of Volastra, it is worth the hiking up and down from the town with beautiful scenery surrounding you and locals around the town to greet you. This was our favorite part of our honeymoon, simply staying here. We strongly recommend Niria, and will definitely be back to visit again.

Room Tip: All the rooms are incredible. Two of them open up to the outside, but all three are equally nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Abigail H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2012

We stayed 5 nights at this B&B in the Cinque Terre village of Volastra. We chose to stay here as there was good car access and free parking. It was the pick of accommodation places, in the Cinque Terre, in our view, as Volastra is a quiet, peaceful and friendly village where you almost feel like "part of the community" and from where you can easily access by foot or by shuttle bus the village of Manarola, below, on the sea. Our B&B hosts welcomed us very warmly on arrival, giving us plenty of helpful information about the area, and about the B&B facilities. Everything was ready for our arrival: WIFI information, walking tracks maps, shuttle bus and train timetables, etc. The hosts were extremely generous in every way. The room was fresh, spacious and perfectly clean, and the breakfasts, served by the hosts at garden tables overlooking the sea, were copious. In our view, it was just perfect!
Larry and Marian Platt (Australia)

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Riomaggiore
0.0 mi away
Luna di Marzo
Luna di Marzo
#4 of 11 in Riomaggiore
201 reviews
1.2 mi away
Locanda del Sole
Locanda del Sole
#2 of 11 in Riomaggiore
303 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hotel Porto Roca
Hotel Porto Roca
#8 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Argentina
Hotel Villa Argentina
#8 of 11 in Riomaggiore
359 reviews
4.4 mi away
Albergo Marina
Albergo Marina
#15 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
629 reviews
1.2 mi away
Locanda Ca da Iride
Locanda Ca da Iride
#5 of 11 in Riomaggiore
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NiRia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NiRia

Address: Via Montello 335 | loc.Volastra, 19017 Riomaggiore, Italy
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Cinque Terre > Riomaggiore
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Riomaggiore
#2 Romantic Hotel in Riomaggiore
#3 Family Hotel in Riomaggiore
Price Range: £58 - £67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The B&B NiRia, born in 2004, is a family-run property where you can spend a relaxing holiday in contact with nature. Thanks to its privileged location, overlooking the sea that laps the Cinque Terre and is surrounded by olive trees and vineyards. The guest house is fitted with a 3 wide rooms with private bathroom (which is scheduled cleaning and daily change of linen), satellite TV, heating / air conditioning, parking and a terrace with sea view ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Studio Scivoletto S.r.l. so you can book your NiRia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
NiRia Cinque Terre/Riomaggiore, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing