We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best place. Stay here if going to Cinque Terre.”
Review of NiRia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
NiRia
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Riomaggiore
Certificate of Excellence
Anaheim
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best place. Stay here if going to Cinque Terre.”
Reviewed 21 October 2012

Thank goodness for all the reviews on Trip Advisor for this charming and most wonderful place - it convinced me to stay here for four nights in October. NiRia is a fantastic B&B with the nicest hosts. It really is like coming home to family - they are so welcoming and friendly. Warning:if you decide to stay here, I advise you to learn basic conversation in Italian. Andrea and Franca don't speak too much English, but their son does. Too bad we didn't see him too much, as we mostly interacted with the parents. Due to my lack of preparation, I found myself lost in translation -- eyes wide, jaw dropped, and always saying 'si' and 'grazie' the whole time. Luckily we had our iPhones on us and used GoogleTranslate to say things we wanted to get through... but yeah. DEFINITELY try to learn some basic Italian before coming here.

Getting to NiRia was a pain because from Pisa, we had to take two trains and then finally a bus all the way to the top of the hill of Volastra, where NiRia is located. But don't let that stop you -- staying here is SO WORTH IT. Volastra is a tiny town above Manarola. No tourists, no tourist traps, purely local. The hosts are so incredibly nice. They serve homemade foccacia every morning, make the best coffee, and you have breakfast with a beautiful view overlooking the Mediterranean Sea. I remember sitting on their terrace, drinking coffee, staring at the ocean, and enjoying the peaceful sounds of chirping birds.

How you book is a bit unconventional to what I'm used to. You have to go to their direct website and email them directly, with the dates you want to stay. Their was no deposit or anything, but they asked for your credit card number. I was EXTREMELY hesitant upon this, but after messaging several guests who reviewed NiRia, I was at ease because they said that the hosts are so honest and would never abuse the card. Anyway, we paid in cash on our last day.

Also, I advise you to take cash out in Cinque Terre. Many places don't take credit card. And some places even say that they accept credit card, but their phone lines are down so they make you pay in cash.

If you go to Cinque Terre, just stay here. You will NOT regret it.

Room Tip: The Il Mare room has a beautiful view of the ocean. We stayed in the Il Poglio room, which had no co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank spanreb902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    16
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
18
77
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2012

NiRia B&B was the absolute perfect location for our 3 night stay in Cinque Terre. Located on the hillside in the small but charming town of Volastra, just above Manarola, it offered stunning elevated views of the sea below but also very easy access to the 5 towns of Cinque Terre.

Our hosts, Mattia and his family, were absolutely wonderful. They provided all the information necessary about how to get around the towns as well as the bus schedule back up to Volastra. The breakfast in the morning was good (mostly cakes and breads with jams and butter) and they let us use their plates and cutlery so we could make our own dinner at nights and eat in their backyard patio with the stunning views of the sea and sunset.

The rooms were very clean and well equipped. Our room looked out onto the sea (the Il Mare room) and the entire town is very quiet at night which made getting a good night sleep very easy.

A couple of tips:
-If you are travelling with luggage the best way to arrive at NiRia is via car (you can park your car just a few hundred meters away in a visitor parking lot). You can also take the train into Manarola and then take the green bus up to Volastra but we opted to drive. However once you get there you can walk just about anywhere or take the trains or buses to get from town to town.
-The hike down from Volastra to Corniglia is absolutely beautiful and a must do on a nice day. You walk through the hillside vineyards with beautiful views of the sea and Manarola and Corniglia down below.
-There are some great little markets in Manarola where you can get an abundance of meats, cheeses, breads, tomatoes, etc to make yourself a delicious dinner if you are on a budget.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MPK1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2012

our room had doors to the outside patio which was nice; room was kept spotless, cleaned and made up everyday. had a kitchen to use; wouldnt let us do our own dishes either. very modern bathroom. great italian breakfast; breads, homemade cakes, fruit. great patio to sit at night and enjoy the view with fellow travelers. even given lemonchelo one evening to drink. yum!! take the scenic hike down to manarola. best hike for us was from volastra to corniglia. also take the train to levanto and hike to monterosso. well worth the exercise. bring plenty of water. would recommend this b & b to everyone and will stay here again. a great location to visit the area.

Room Tip: our room ' il poggio' overlooked the patio and will request it again on our stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank susan155004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2012

After reading all the glowing reviews, I was very excited to experience NiRia. However, my excitement turned to disappointment after my reservation was not honoured. I received an email from the B&B advising of availability for the date I needed. I immediately (within a 1/2 hour) confirmed my booking.
Then 6 days later, I received another email advising there was no availability! I should note that the B&B offered 2 days availability, but I only booked one. Well, I can guess what happened... they got a better booking, so cancelled mine. When I emailed asking why the change, there was no reply. That left me stuck traveling in Europe already, and scrambling to make a last minute reservation - not the way anyone should be treated and very unprofessional.
So,,, think twice before booking here.

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
12 Thank CFW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2012

NiRia is less like a B&B and more like visiting family. Andrea and his family were incredibly gracious hosts and were a highlight to our already magical Cinque Terre experience. Rooms are basic but very clean. Breakfast was much better than we were expecting with hot, homemade pastries. NiRia overlooks the ocean. We loved sitting out on the patio with a bottle of wine (from the winemaker down the street) and takeout made by Bruna (just next to the winemaker). During the day, we took the hiking trails from Volastra to Corniglia - - which, by the way, were our absolutely FAVORITE hikes in all of the CT park. Volastra takes a little more effort to get to. You need to catch the bus in Manorola and it stops running around 8 PM. But after a day in the hot sun and dealing with the bustle of tourists in the 5 main towns, it was a welcomed reprieve to escape to NiRia and Volastra. Oh, the restaurant is also very good (make sure to get the seafood sampler). You may be wondering why I don't list the name of each eatery - - it's because there is only 1 winemaker, 1 takeaway joint, and 1 restaurant in town! Volastra is a hidden gem. NiRia is amazing.

Room Tip: Only 3 rooms on premise. All are pretty standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Annie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2012

We had THE best time at NiRia! This is the most generous, welcoming and friendly family you could hope to meet. The accommodation was beautiful; the rooms were large, incredibly clean and very comfortable. Having the most incredible breakfast overlooking the sea every morning from their terrace was the best start to each day you could possibly have.And we ended the day the same way, watching the ocean and sunset. We loved being up the hill in Volastra above Manarola, it was no problem at all to catch the shuttle bus up. The walks from Volastra down to either Manarola or Corniglia are both easy and beautiful.
Volastra is a lovely, peaceful village and we cannot speak highly enough of our stay at NiRia.
We'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rangiora, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2012

This is a fantastic place to stay. We had parking for the car, our room and bathroom was lovely, well equipped, beautifully clean and serviced. Our breakfast each day was delicious, they take real pride in the food they serve and the service was excellent. We had the most amazing chocolate cake and our coffe cups were never empty. A lovely walk down to to Manarola. Would recommend walking all the Cinque Terra, very beautiful and so memorable, would love to go back another time and would highly recommend NiRIA. our thanks to our lovely hosts. Glenda and Mark Woodward Rangiora New Zealand

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Glenda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Riomaggiore
0.0 mi away
Luna di Marzo
Luna di Marzo
#4 of 11 in Riomaggiore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
1.2 mi away
Locanda del Sole
Locanda del Sole
#2 of 11 in Riomaggiore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
4.4 mi away
Albergo Marina
Albergo Marina
#18 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Hotel Porto Roca
Hotel Porto Roca
#9 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
4.0 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Argentina
Hotel Villa Argentina
#7 of 11 in Riomaggiore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hotel Monterosso Alto
Hotel Monterosso Alto
#15 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
4.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NiRia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NiRia

Property: NiRia
Address: Via Montello 335 | loc.Volastra, 19017 Riomaggiore, Italy
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Cinque Terre > Riomaggiore
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Riomaggiore
#2 Romantic Hotel in Riomaggiore
#3 Family Hotel in Riomaggiore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The B&B NiRia, born in 2004, is a family-run property where you can spend a relaxing holiday in contact with nature. Thanks to its privileged location, overlooking the sea that laps the Cinque Terre and is surrounded by olive trees and vineyards. The guest house is fitted with a 3 wide rooms with private bathroom (which is scheduled cleaning and daily change of linen), satellite TV, heating / air conditioning, parking and a terrace with sea view ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Studio Scivoletto S.r.l. so you can book your NiRia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
NiRia Cinque Terre/Riomaggiore, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing