We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“1 star is even too much for this place.”

La Grotta Bar & Trattoria
Ranked #12 of 41 Restaurants in Riomaggiore
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“1 star is even too much for this place.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

Me and my family were loving our dinners in Cinque Terre until this we wrongfully tried this place. From the outside it looks like a nice Italian restaurant but by it is so far from it - it is a major tourist trap. The service was the worst service we had on our 3 week trip through Italy. Our waitress spoke no English which is rare for a restaurant to hire in such a tourist type place. We ordered some wine which ended up never coming and still being on our bill which we later found out. Even though we could not understand our waitress, it wasn't hard to tell that she didn't want to be serving us in the first place - downright as rude as can get. And to top off this wonderful cake, she made us pay with cash because the credit card machine was "broken" even though two locals were using one at the table beside us.

Stay away! Do not fall for this tourist trap of a "restaurant"

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Travel_Man1122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isa B, Proprietario at La Grotta Bar & Trattoria, responded to this review, 25 October 2014
Google Translation
Gentile signora, ci tengo a sottolineare in primo luogo che nel nostro locale non facciamo distinzioni tra clientela locale e non locale, né nei prezzi, né tantomeno nel trattamento.
Mi dispiace che non abbia potutopagare con la sua carta di credito, ma noi facciamo decine e decine di transazioni al giorno e non avremmo avuto alcun motivo particolare per non accettare anche il suo. può essere che in quel momento le linee fossero intasate oppure che effettivamente ci sia stato un problema al poss. sa, le cinque terre sono cinque piccoli paesi di pescatori, tecnologicamente arretrati, ma allo stesso tempo magici per il loro isolamento, la loro bellezza e la loro semplicità. questo è il segreto di tanto successo ed in questo contesto può anche succedere un piccolo inconveniente come la temporanea sospensione del servizio poss.
saluti, bonari isa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    164
    163
    56
    35
    38
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leiden
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A disgrace to Italian cuisine...”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

Fortunately there are less and less places in the area that are true tourist traps - unfortunately, this is one.. Staff was unfriendly, we were told to hurry up since the kitchen was about to close, they served aweful tasteless pastas (even the pasta in bianco they managed to ruin which is quite an achievement) and they tried to charge too much. Staff was completely uninterested when we gave polite and mild criticism. Avoid and go somewhere else!

Helpful?
2 Thank MartinK1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isa B, Proprietario at La Grotta Bar & Trattoria, responded to this review, 26 October 2014
Google Translation
Gentile utente tripadvisor, mi ricordo bene di voi, una famiglia di circa 5 persone con due bambini. siete entrati alle 14:35 e vi ho servito io personalmente. ricordo di avervi avvertito che la cucina chiude alle 14:30 ma che comunque vi avremmo servito, nonostante il personale aveva finito il suo turno di lavoro. Ma, scusi, voi non avete orari nel vostro lavoro?
avete ordinato, tra le altre cose, uno spaghetto in bianco per la bambina (che era buonissimo, la bambina l'ha mangiato tutto) ed uno spaghetto alle acciughe per suo marito, del costo di 11 euro. quando le ho consegnato il conto lei, con aria stizzita, mi ha accusato di averle fatto pagare 11 euro per un piatto di pasta in bianco per la bambina, ed io cosa le ho risposto? se lo ricorda? le ho detto che la pasta in bianco era gratis e che gli 11 euro era il costo degli spaghetti alle acciughe di suo marito! quindi non racconti cose non vere! e cerchi di usare tripadvisor nella maniera corretta!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Average atmosphere”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

We came to eat at this restaurant because it had a TV showing the world cup final.

The service at the restaurant was poor, with the servers seeming a bit disheveled even though the restaurant wasn't extremely busy. There was a group at the door waiting for a good 15 minutes before being attended to. They also were not particularly attentive or friendly.

We didn't have particularly high expectations, as the other patrons' dishes did not look amazing, however my partner wanted a spot to watch the football game.

That aside, we ordered the seafood risotto to share, and it was delicious! The dish had amazing flavor as it was made with basil and tomatoes and a reasonable selection of seafood.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Michelle_heidi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isa B, Proprietario at La Grotta Bar & Trattoria, responded to this review, 26 October 2014
Google Translation
Gentile utente tripadvisor, la ringrazio molto per il giudizio estremamente positivo che ci ha dato sul risotto ai frutti di mare. è un piatto di lunga preparazione (rispetto alle altre cose) che non si trova facilmente nelle trattorie/ristoranti, specialmente nelle località turistiche. qui infatti, dovendo spesso privilegiare la velocità nel servizio in quanto la clientela è in continuo movimento con bus, traghetti e treni, si tende a sacrificare spesso i tempi di cottura degli alimenti, o peggio, a servire cibi precotti. non è il caso ovviamente del nostro risotto, che viene cotto al momento, avvertendo sempre il cliente che il tempo di attesa è di circa 20 minuti.
saluti cordiali, bonari isa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Average food, woeful service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

Food very average, but service was truly awful - slow, disinterested, unhelpful and obtuse (e.g. the half bottle of nice local wine we ordered was delivered as a full bottle of house wine, when i tried to stop the waitress opening it, i was told we were getting more for our money and she opened it anyway!)

Helpful?
Thank thejimbon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isa B, Proprietario at La Grotta Bar & Trattoria, responded to this review, 26 October 2014
Google Translation
gentile utente Tripadvisor, questa sua descrizione dell'accaduto mi sembra alquanto sbrigativa e superficiale. il nostro personale di sala cerca sempre di consigliare il cliente nel miglior modo possibile, cercando di capire, dalle sue domande, che cosa il cliente desidera. evidentemente lei non ha capito che cosa la cameriera le ha risposto: ossia che la mezza bottiglia (0.375 lt) di vino bianco delle Cinque Terre ha un determinato prezzo (14 euro), mentre che ad un prezzo inferiore (10 euro) si può acquistare la bottiglia intera (0.750 lt) di vino da tavola di La Spezia. Presuppongo che se la cameriera glie lo ha spiegato è perché lei glie lo ha chiesto. evidentemente non vi siete capite. bastava chiedere di ripetere.
cordiali saluti, bonanni isa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
94 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Decent seafood”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

I stopped in for a plate of mussels. I thought my mussels were fantastic, prices were about how food is in cinque terre, and I didn't have a problem with the service. I was surprised that a lot of other visitors had poor experiences at this restaurant. I thought food, costs and service were decent and I didn't have to wait to be seated for a lunch meal. Not totally the best meal I had but a fine meal.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tmchica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Grotta Bar & Trattoria also viewed

Riomaggiore, Cinque Terre
Riomaggiore, Cinque Terre
 
Riomaggiore, Cinque Terre
Riomaggiore, Cinque Terre
 
Riomaggiore, Cinque Terre
Riomaggiore, Cinque Terre
 

Been to La Grotta Bar & Trattoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing