We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Villa Argentina
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Riomaggiore
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
60 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Nice place”
Reviewed 24 October 2011

Stayed 2 days, it was nice but for too many stairs (we stayed in the apartment, not the hotel).
Breakfast was fine.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bgbr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    135
    68
    26
    11
See reviews for
63
174
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2011

Stayed 5 days and had a very positive experience. No expections of a 3 star hotel but extremely surprised by friendly and helpful staff (albeit little English), the clean tidy room and hotel generally and especially the exceptional breakfasts incl home made jams. Doesn't get much better than sitting at our own small balcony, listening to church bells and with views of the village below, vineyards and sea on horizon. The hotel is at top of the village and we then had 52 stairs to our room, so perhaps a challenge to some travellers however we are 70 yrs and enjoyed the fitness regime. Good training for walking Cinque Terre which we did it in one day.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Valerie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2011

Hotel was nice.
Room was large and clean.
(We requested a seaview and it was good).
Breakfast buffet was fine.
Only problem was Riomaggiore village.
Village is small.
Not many restaurants.
Streets smell of urine.
Seems to be a working mans village, not a tourist village.
I enjoyed Monterosso al Mare and Vernazza villages much more.

Room Tip: Pay in cash and get a discount.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joseph86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2011

We stayed at this hotel for two nights. We could have stayed in the Cinque Terre for another night, but would not have wanted to at this hotel. This hotel had no air conditioning and a very loud fan. Our room was clean, but crowded. The shared outdoor terrace was nice and our room had amazing views of the town and mediterranean. The staff was not friendly and only recommended the restaurants that they have a partnership with...not restaurants that they would choose to eat at. The breakfast was average...nothing special.

On the positive, my favorite city of the 5 was riomaggiore. It was quaint and you could easily walk to manarola for dinner should you choose.

If you have a family or want to go to the beach for a day I would recommend staying in monterosso or vernazza as they are the two cities with beaches (rocks...not sand!)

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BG082802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2011

Very compact twin room, excellent continental breakfast, a 15 minute uphill walk from the train station so be prepared if you have to walk with luggage, staff not overly friendly, nice public balcony to enjoy the views

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doo123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2011

We stayed at thishotel for one night on our trip by train around this area of Italy. The village is very worth a visit although small, it has a small harbour with one main street (resturants are located in both these areas). Although this is very steep its well worth the effort of going to the top, this is also a good area for walkers.
The Hotel Villa Argentina is situated at the top of the main street. Although small , it's location is excellant all rooms have a small balcony with a great sea view. The value is very good , its freindly and the rooms all clean and bright we hopfully will be back.

Room Tip: A room in the centre of the hotel probably gives the best sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank geoffrun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2011

We stayed in an apartment (#24 called Artesia or something like that). It was fun, had a very large private terrace with a view of Riomaggiore. It's the last hotel at the top of the hill. That hill is a long steep walk! Great breezes come in the many windows--with traditional shutters that are awesome. The bathroom is huge, and the shower is very tiny; tough for average sized people even. It was all clean. The beds are not very comfortable and the kitchen is old, but equipped, but with such a miscellany of tools that it's hard to do any real cooking and washing up. They don't provide paper towels or sponges or dish soap. Internet is available at the hotel part (the apartment is a bit down the road from it), but it never worked right. We found others there who said the same thing. You could connect, but email didn't work. One time I could get on skype to chat.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Coseg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Riomaggiore
0.1 mi away
Locanda del Sole
Locanda del Sole
#2 of 11 in Riomaggiore
289 reviews
1.2 mi away
Luna di Marzo
Luna di Marzo
#4 of 11 in Riomaggiore
188 reviews
6.3 mi away
Hotel Monterosso Alto
Hotel Monterosso Alto
#15 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Albergo Marina
Albergo Marina
#18 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
587 reviews
0.1 mi away
Affittacamere Edi
Affittacamere Edi
#10 of 11 in Riomaggiore
132 reviews
1.5 mi away
Due Gemelli
Due Gemelli
#8 of 11 in Riomaggiore
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Argentina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Argentina

Property: Hotel Villa Argentina
Address: Via Alcide De' Gasperi 170, 19017 Riomaggiore, Italy
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Cinque Terre > Riomaggiore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Riomaggiore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Villa Argentina 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Villa Argentina dominates the antique village of Riomaggiore .The small e quaint hotel has most its room heated with view of the sea and small sunny terrace ,all of which included private satellite TV, safe and ceiling fans. The hotel is in perfect position to begin some beautiful walks(via dell’amore) and hikes unite the towns in the midst of mother nature’s untainted scenery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Villa Argentina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Villa Argentina Cinque Terre/Riomaggiore, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing