We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant B&B in a fantastic location.”
Review of Alla Marina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Alla Marina
Ranked #1 of 32 Riomaggiore B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 November 2013

When we made our reservation, Sandro the owner, had sent us information on the Trenitalia railway system via email on how to get to Riomaggiore from Florence, which helped us greatly in our journey, and he also arranged to meet us at the train station. When we arrived, he was there waiting for us with a friend and they insisted on carrying our luggage for us to the hotel. The building is in a fantastic location right above the harbour, in the very heart of Riomaggiore. Our room was clean and tastefully decorated and the bathroom would put most high end hotels to shame. The excellent value room price includes fast free WiFi and an in room breakfast which is plentiful and of good quality. As well as being Sandro's business, this building has been his family's home for generations and that is evident in the care that is taken in its upkeep. Sandro was very welcoming and helpful and provided us with detailed information on what to see and do in the area, local transport and good restaurants to go to. This is a brilliant B&B and we can recommend the Alla Marina as a great base for experiencing the wonderful Cinque Terre region. We will definitely go back again one day!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank daptor10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (502)
There are newer reviews for Alla Marina
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

203 - 209 of 502 reviews

Reviewed 4 November 2013

Alla Marina - Perfect location with your windows opening right out to the ocean. The room was extremely comfortable and clean. The hospitality was excellent.We were offered great restaurant recommendations and the staff were always willing to help however they could. I would highly recommend this place to anyone. Thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ashleigh P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

The room was gorgeous! Clean, good value, modern, spacious with a great stock for breakfast. And a beautiful shower! Really tip-top room, which was such a great surprise. The location is the best too with your view right on the ocean. The staff are super friendly and very on hand to help with information and help with printing boarding passes etc. Could not rate Alla Marina any higher. A great stay in a most magical part of this world.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SWolff2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

We arrived at the train station and they were there waiting for us to show us to the room. The room was extremely comfortable, had a wonderful view of the water and was very clean. It is in a perfect location / setting. When we left (again they helped us to the next destination) they asked what they could do to improve the room - I literally could not think of a thing! It was the best shower we had our entire stay in Italy! As a travel agent - would highly recommend this property.

Thank you Sandro for hosting us - we hope to see you again sometime!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Agentjane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Lovely, wonderful - all superlatives apply. Owner/manager Sandro met us at the train station and helped us to his renovated family home (built by his family in 1292) in this wonderful town tucked into a niche on the Mediterranean. Friendly and helpful, Sandro helped us to feel immediately at home. The house is actually easy to find, but it would have been tough to navigate the small streets and steps without a guide the first time around. Modern and renovated, Sandro's house is just wonderful. We had a jaw-dropping view of the Mediterranean, a sleek and sophisticated large room, and a private bath with luxuries out of a magazine. Sandro generously stocked the room with cereal, a fridge with juices and water, and a plug-in hot water heater so that each morning we had a casual breakfast looking out at the sea. We appreciated that Sandro's brother Andreo was also in the office in the morning to help with questions about what to see and to do. On our second night, there was a major wind storm with huge breaking surf. Looking out the window, I could not help but think that this must be one of the most romantic spots in Italy. Thank you Sandro and Andreo for a perfect stay.

Room Tip: This is a wonderful house in an historic town. If you want the Mediterranean steps outside your fro...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SnicksMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

This is a fantastic apartment for exploring the stunning Cinque Terre. We chose to stay in this particular location given it runs first from La Spezia and is very picturesque yet not as touristy as Vernazza. Having decided on the location we picked this apartment based on the reviews and it was a real delight from the get go.

In this family-run business, Sandro and his brother Andrea do not fail to ensure you are completely comfortable and have all you need to enjoy your stay. We were met at the train station and helped to our room by Andrea which was a great help in getting to the beauty that awaited us.

We were a family of three and therefore had three beds in a very comfortable and modern room and a great bathroom. Looking out the window were coloured boats and the sea to our left - amazing. The breakfast spread and drinks in the fridge was just fantastic at no added cost.

One of the best restaurants in the region was just below the apartment and is a must in your stay. We actually had lunch here twice in a row. Try the pasta with seafood and the pesto pasta, my stomach is grumbling just thinking about it.

After our stay Sandro and Andrea once again helped us to the train station, superb service, met simply with "we must, you are our guests (ospeti).

Only one thing wrong - given our time limitations we could only stay one night!

We highly recommend this place for your stay in Cinque Terre.

Thank you again to Sandro, Andrea (and your mum!) for making our time there very special.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Salvatore V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

our whole stay was perfect, room was great: pretty, comfortable and clean, and had very good localization - the owner was very nice and helpful with some practical informations about Riomaggiore and Cinque Terre

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank madzia157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Riomaggiore
0.2 mi away
Locanda del Sole
Locanda del Sole
#2 of 11 in Riomaggiore
299 reviews
5.4 mi away
Albergo Marina
Albergo Marina
#16 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
622 reviews
1.2 mi away
Luna di Marzo
Luna di Marzo
#4 of 11 in Riomaggiore
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Il BoMa
Il BoMa
#6 of 32 in Riomaggiore
379 reviews
3.7 mi away
Franca Maria Rooms
Franca Maria Rooms
#14 of 39 in Vernazza
192 reviews
5.7 mi away
Marvit Affitta Camere
Marvit Affitta Camere
#4 of 152 in Cinque Terre
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alla Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alla Marina

Address: Via San Giacomo 61 | 3rd Floor, 19017 Riomaggiore, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Cinque Terre > Riomaggiore
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Riomaggiore
Price Range: £67 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guest house "Alla Marina" is set right by the sea in Riomaggiore, one of the Cinque Terre villages.Train station is 4 minutes far on foot.Private Parking - upon request. Rooms are modern and have free Wi-Fi, private bath, and a free little breakfast inside of each room.Comfort facilities - hair dryer, safe and fridge. This singular position offers a marvelous panaramic view. Simply descend the stairway there is a restaurant/cofee bar.There are 3 rooms with sea view.Alla Marina guest house has been completely renovated in 2011 or later. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Studio Scivoletto S.r.l. and Agoda so you can book your Alla Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alla Marina Cinque Terre/Riomaggiore, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing