We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room nearly with a view”
Review of Due Gemelli

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Due Gemelli
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Riomaggiore
Irwin, Idaho
Level Contributor
127 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Room nearly with a view”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

I pulled into the hotel disheveled from two weeks of traveling hard and asked if they had a room, I was delighted to find they did. It looked nice compared to my normal travel digs, but that was before I saw my room.

I first saw the cliffside of the hotel from the road, and it appeared all rooms must have a great balcony overlooking the Ligurian Sea, but they found me one that wasn't. The only window in this cave was at the far end of the room which was a small balcony but the only view to be had was from the balcony itself.

The bathroom had a bathtub shower, but no shower curtain so it was impossible to shower without making a watery mess. The toilet lid did't look to be in great shape and broke upon me sitting on it. I didn't have any bottled water to take my daily medicine so I drank the tap water, a mistake I would pay for for several days. Other than that it appeared clean.

This hotel was way overpriced for what they delivered. I don't mind a cheap hotel if I don't pay too much money for it.

Room Tip: Look at the room before you take the room, it could have a great view if you are selective.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daryl-Hunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    104
    48
    19
    5
See reviews for
48
119
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Spent several days here to recalibrate my brain after intensive months of work. Located high on the hills overlooking the Ligourian Sea, the rooms have lovely balconies with a panoramic view of the water. Commuting into Riomaggiore by public bus and onto the other towns via train of Cinque Terre was easy and the hotel staff, especially Davide, was always helpful. The rooms were nice and clean and the little restaurant in the hotel made dining in the evening easy with good Italian fare. I would come back to this place without hesitation. Good value for the price.

Room Tip: The rooms in the main building are below the main floor so if walking flights of stairs is an issue...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Msgr981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

I stayed three nights here and had an amazing hiking, swimming Cinque Terre experience. Everywhere in the five towns was incredibly full of tourists (early July) and this small, family run hotel is along the coast from Riomaggiore. Yes, it is out of Riomaggiore by a few kms, but I got away from the crowds and loved the quiet. There is a bus that runs from Riomaggiore on a schedule (very loose one) and I found that the hotel staff were quiet happy to drop me in town when they were going, so that made getting in and out of Riomaggiore and access the trains to all the towns easy. The hotel restaurant had great food - seafood spagetti was my favourite and the views out to sea and down the cliff face were spectacular. I walked many trails - high and low - and thoroughly recommend this as a brilliant holiday destination. The hotel is modest (not flashy or particularly modern) but the friendly family operators, the location and view made it a wonderful experience. I would happily go back again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Switzerland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Nice hotel a little outside Riomaggiore, just a few minutes to the parkings in the town. Flexible and friendly staff. (we got still a dinner at 22hr when we arrived). Good information on how to visit Cinque Terre. Buffet in the morning was fine. Good value for money.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Out of all the hotels we stayed at in our fast-paced tour of Italy, this was by far my favorite. It is located up in the hills, over looking the water about 3.5 miles from the Riomaggiore town center. It was this distance from the hub-bub of the town center that caused me to love the place. But it was this distance that caused my traveling companion to dislike the place. If you are without a car, then you must be on the town bus schedule (the bus pretty much stops in front of the hotel and is very punctual). Unfortunately, the last bus back to the hotel from the town is 8 PM which is a bit of a bust if you want to stay out late. You should NOT walk back, especially at night, as it is winding road without a sidewalk and there is a portion where you go through a tunnel. Your Cinque Terre pass (which you can buy one-day or multiple days) gets you free transit on the bus (otherwise 2 Euro).

But if you are looking for a vacation where you relax in your room and see the sights by day, this is the prefect location. The views from every room is amazing. And each room has a balcony. The restaurant is also amazing. The food at Due Gemelli (a 25 euro dinner special with wine!) was the best I had in Cinque Terre. And the all-you-can-eat breakfast at 12 Euro is a good deal as well.

The manager/owner of the hotel is very friendly and will help you figure out your day. He also knew that one of the hiking paths in Cinque Terre had just reopened (the Cinque Terre tourist office didn't even know that but then, the Cinque Terre tourist office at the Riomaggiore train station leaves a lot to be desired....).

Finally, I found the room very clean. I did not find any bugs in the room at all.

If you don't mind enjoy being a bit off the beaten path, this is an amazing place to stay and at 95 Euros a night a spectacular value.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TinLizzy7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sammamish, Washington
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

This is a good place to station for Cinque Terre! The place is kept very clean and the staff are very friendly. The food in the cafe (excellent view too) is amazing! Fairly good price for room and food! would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: pay for the sea view! can't go wrong for $100 euros a night for 3 people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maylikestravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uppsala, Sweden
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

This place was perfect for a variety of reasons. There's parking right in front of the hotel. It's on top of a hill overlooking the coast so the views are wonderful, with lots of nature around. Very quiet! It's wonderful to sit on your balcony with a glass of wine watching the sunset, listening to the birds, watching the seagulls soar and seeing the waves crash on the coast below. You're close enough to walk to Riomaggiore and do that whole Cinque Terre circuit without being right in it. The best hike we did was one that one of the hotels employees recommended which was going the other direction to Portovenere and catching a boat back to Riomaggiore. Gorgeous trail and not as crowded as Cinque Terre!
It's a family run operation and all the workers are wonderful and helpful.

Breakfast was good, not real big, but adequate and bigger than just continental. We had dinner twice in the hotel and that was good plus very convenient after a long day out.

The five villages of Cinque Terre are charming but crowded so I'm very glad we stayed at Due Gemelli and we would absolutely stay there again. We highly recommend it! We would give it more than 5 stars if we could!

Room Tip: I believe all the rooms have balconies facing the ocean and sunset. Because the hotel is situated o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kamaiina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Riomaggiore
1.5 mi away
Locanda del Sole
Locanda del Sole
#2 of 11 in Riomaggiore
290 reviews
2.6 mi away
Luna di Marzo
Luna di Marzo
#4 of 11 in Riomaggiore
189 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Villa Argentina
Hotel Villa Argentina
#7 of 11 in Riomaggiore
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Hotel Monterosso Alto
Hotel Monterosso Alto
#15 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
158 reviews
6.9 mi away
Albergo Marina
Albergo Marina
#18 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
587 reviews
1.6 mi away
Affittacamere Edi
Affittacamere Edi
#10 of 11 in Riomaggiore
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Due Gemelli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Due Gemelli

Property: Due Gemelli
Address: Via Litoranea 1, 19017 Riomaggiore, Italy
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Cinque Terre > Riomaggiore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Riomaggiore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Due Gemelli 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Due Gemelli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Due Gemelli Riomaggiore
Due Gemelli Hotel Riomaggiore
Due Gemelli Cinque Terre/Riomaggiore, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing