We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you go expecting a basic motel, you...”
Review of Due Gemelli

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Due Gemelli
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Riomaggiore
Reviewed 16 October 2010

If you go expecting a basic motel, you won't be disappointed. Lovely people, lovely views, basic food and very basic rooms. Paper walls is the main down point but take ear plugs and having parking in ct is a bonus.

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travelaura_Perth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (241)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

91 - 97 of 242 reviews

Reviewed 15 September 2010

My husband and I stayed there for 1 night and I was very disappointed with the room. It was much like a cheap motel. They just had a sheet on the bed (i like to sleep under conforter), the fan was super loud and the walls thin. It was my worst night sleep in Italy BUT the patio was amazing and huge and the view was worth the price and everything else. It was amazing!!!!! I really wanted to take the matress and sleep on the patio, listen to the ocean and look at the stars!! We had a car so it was a great location but not good if traveling by train.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank diamondie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2010

We found the hotel by accident, it was in the mountains between Cinque Terre and La Spezia. If you have a car you should definitely choose this hotel for visiting Cinque Terre!! We Loved the athmosphere and the food was the best I´ve eaten in Italy!! I warmy recomend this hotel to all!!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fin_mii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2009

There were 4 of us that stayed here for one night in September. We rented a room that had 2 single beds and 1 king. The king room was the room with the attached balcony. What a view we had! It was breathtaking. Since we here for only one night we quickly checked in (hassle free) and then headed to see the sights. We actually drove to Manarola (the hotel was able to call ahead to the parking lot attendant and get us free parking) where we parked the car and headed down into the town. We walked all the way down to a little cafe that over looks the beautiful mediterranean. I can't recall the name of the restaurant but we had some fresh seafood and cool beverages. There was entertainment due to the fact that right below the restaurant there was access to the sea and lots of rocks to jump off . . . I wasn't so brave. The town of Manarola was neat. There were lots of restaurants and little shops to buy souvenirs. The "walk" back to the car was more like a hike. I think the towns of Cinque Terre should look into golf cart rentals for poor tourists! That's if they're all laid out like Manarola that is. Ok, back to the Hotel Due Gemelli! When we got back to the hotel we made dinner reservations for 8:00 right there at the hotel. After which we took a much needed nap with the balcony doors wide open . . . it's lovely to nap with the breeze of the mediterranean on you! Dinner was fabulous . . . the red wine that Gemelli produces was delicious and the pasta was simple but perfectly cooked. We had a nice little table outside and since it was later there wasn't much of a view, however, we could see a lot of little lights out on the sea . . . sardine fisherman! All of the staff at the hotel were very kind and made us feel like family. If ever in Riomaggiore/Cinque Terre I would not think twice about staying here. Good value, amazing view . . .

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jcolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2009

We arrived at Due Gemelli very late, tired and hungry. The staff gave us a warm welcome and re-opened the kitchen to cook a delicious dinner. I haven't experienced such friendly service in a long time. The rooms were clean, and we enjoyed a nice view of the sea from the balcony.
Only a few minutes by car from Cinque Terre hikes - and the hotel provided a voucher for free parking in Manarola.

Parking is convenient at Due Gemelli. Might be hard to get to without a car as it is some distance from town.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trip098
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2008

Our honeymoon was made so much better by the two elderly ex-Italian Navy seafarers who own and run the Hotel Due Gemelli. Aside from the accommodation being much better than the humble price they charge, they cooked the most fantastic spaghetti marinara I have ever had. We loved it so much that we drove out of our way from Venice to Val d'Aosta for another night at Due Gemelli. They even gave us two bottles of their first vintage of wine. What an experience.

  • Stayed: January 2004, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Wuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2007

We stayed at the Due Gemelli for two nights on our honeymoon. The porches off the rooms are amazing--what a view! The room was clean and spacious (for Italy) and the food in the restaurant was FAR better than the decor would have you guess. They will give you a free parking pass for Manarola--be sure to advise the lot attendant when you arrive, as you must park in specific reserved places or your validation will not be honored.
Their plumbing needs work and the soundproofing is even more nonexistent than in other places we stayed, otherwise a good experience!

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank RIBigH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Riomaggiore
1.5 mi away
Locanda del Sole
Locanda del Sole
#2 of 11 in Riomaggiore
302 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Villa Argentina
Hotel Villa Argentina
#8 of 11 in Riomaggiore
359 reviews
7.8 mi away
Hotel Monterosso Alto
Hotel Monterosso Alto
#18 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Luna di Marzo
Luna di Marzo
#4 of 11 in Riomaggiore
201 reviews
6.9 mi away
Albergo Marina
Albergo Marina
#15 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
628 reviews
1.5 mi away
Locanda dalla Compagnia
Locanda dalla Compagnia
#11 of 11 in Riomaggiore
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Due Gemelli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Due Gemelli

Address: Via Litoranea 1, 19017 Riomaggiore, Italy
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Cinque Terre > Riomaggiore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Riomaggiore
Price Range: £65 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Due Gemelli 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelsClick so you can book your Due Gemelli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Due Gemelli Riomaggiore
Due Gemelli Hotel Riomaggiore
Due Gemelli Cinque Terre/Riomaggiore, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing