We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay away from Cinque Terre with 180 Ocean View only if you drive”
Review of Due Gemelli

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Due Gemelli
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Riomaggiore
Reviewed 23 February 2011

A nice & clean simple family run hotel + restaurant with affordable price tag.
A+ = free parking at hotel and Manarola.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kumababy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (247)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

87 - 93 of 247 reviews

Reviewed 13 January 2011

We found this mom and pop establishment just by luck and it turned into a wonderful memory. Were the accommodations comfortable? Not really. Was it old and dated? Yes, but the charm of the entire place was worth it. The family was more than accommodating, generous and made every effort to ensure the comfort of our stay. We had 2 balconies in our large room that enabled us to see the moonlight bounce off of the ocean. Outstanding! The rooms were clean, the bathroom was nice & more updated. We ate a great dinner there as well. We were even late getting up for breakfast and tried to leave without eating and the staff insisted that we come back in. It is in the Cinque Terre area and good place to stay in order to see the park. If you want the older, real Italian experience, this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fwmaggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2010

It is a very home-like feeling where the staff tries their best to help you. The accomodations are very basic but clean and we loved our glasses of wine on our terasse which was the size of a room in and of itself! The food was very good home-like Italian cooking and everything we had was very good. Thank-you, Monica, for your hospitalit!

Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank torontotravels2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2010

Rooms, as many have stated, are very basic. Generous in size, but otherwise disappointing. The balconies have GREAT views. I think the upstairs (entrance floor) rooms tend to go to people booking via travel agencies. The rest of us seemed stuck in the basement (no elevator-lots of stairs! Still had balcony). FYI, hotel reception is in the restaurant on the next floor down from the entrance.

Nice to have free parking in Manarola. You need a new pass each day.

The food was not as good as some said, in our opinion. Very average (we spent three weeks in Italy, mostly in Tuscany, and this was not a memorable dining location). The last night we went to a restaurant a few miles down the road (towards La Speiza) and had a better meal for just a few more Euros.

Internet access was free-ask for access code at the desk. It didn't work in our lower level room, so we sat upstairs at some tables.

The owners are nice, so that does help. I just don't get the "gushing" some have for this. Maybe the other options in the Cinque Terre area aren't very good? I can't compare. For the price in this tourist mecca, I guess it might be a good option, comparatively.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KimberlyWI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2010

If you go expecting a basic motel, you won't be disappointed. Lovely people, lovely views, basic food and very basic rooms. Paper walls is the main down point but take ear plugs and having parking in ct is a bonus.

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travelaura_Perth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2010

My husband and I stayed there for 1 night and I was very disappointed with the room. It was much like a cheap motel. They just had a sheet on the bed (i like to sleep under conforter), the fan was super loud and the walls thin. It was my worst night sleep in Italy BUT the patio was amazing and huge and the view was worth the price and everything else. It was amazing!!!!! I really wanted to take the matress and sleep on the patio, listen to the ocean and look at the stars!! We had a car so it was a great location but not good if traveling by train.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank diamondie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2010

We found the hotel by accident, it was in the mountains between Cinque Terre and La Spezia. If you have a car you should definitely choose this hotel for visiting Cinque Terre!! We Loved the athmosphere and the food was the best I´ve eaten in Italy!! I warmy recomend this hotel to all!!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fin_mii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Riomaggiore
1.5 mi away
Hotel Villa Argentina
Hotel Villa Argentina
#8 of 11 in Riomaggiore
363 reviews
1.5 mi away
Locanda del Sole
Locanda del Sole
#2 of 11 in Riomaggiore
308 reviews
7.8 mi away
Hotel Monterosso Alto
Hotel Monterosso Alto
#18 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Locanda dalla Compagnia
Locanda dalla Compagnia
#11 of 11 in Riomaggiore
140 reviews
1.5 mi away
Locanda Ca da Iride
Locanda Ca da Iride
#4 of 11 in Riomaggiore
111 reviews
1.6 mi away
Affittacamere Edi
Affittacamere Edi
#10 of 11 in Riomaggiore
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Due Gemelli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Due Gemelli

Address: Via Litoranea 1, 19017 Riomaggiore, Italy
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Cinque Terre > Riomaggiore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Riomaggiore
Price Range: £48 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Due Gemelli 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Due Gemelli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Due Gemelli Riomaggiore
Due Gemelli Hotel Riomaggiore
Due Gemelli Cinque Terre/Riomaggiore, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing