We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bed and Breakfast Il Vigneto

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bed and Breakfast Il Vigneto
Ranked #18 of 32 Riomaggiore B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Malta
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

In view of our three day visit at cinqueterre we were looking for accommodation preferably away from the crowded towns. At Volastra we have found 'il Vigneto' very convenient ..minutes away from Manarola where we also could park our car at the private parking lot.

This accommodation is well located with a fantastic view above Manarola. We had our daily pleasant breakfast in a large terrace enjoying the fantastic view and this was an added bonus.

Rooms are clean and have private bathrooms. However we had our bathroom in the corridor just outside our room ..we had been advised about this and we didn't mind this as our room is well located next to the large terrace with view. Although this bathroom is signed as private we recommend that it is kept locked by key as there is a chance that anyone can use it.

Another problem was with our fridge which did not cool well. We had asked the owner to replace or repair but although it made some improvement it never worked 100%.

Our remaining comments are all positive... the owners were very helpful always ready to give their good advise how to move around in the region, peaceful surroundings, views etc. On the whole we recommend this B&B and Volastra as the right base at cinqueterre.

Room Tip: Try to choose the a room with a direct view if available. This costs some more however it worth payi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Raymond A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    42
    13
    6
    3
See reviews for
16
44
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

It's always hard to make reservations in a place when your not familiar with area, but I poured through tons of hotels, apartments and rooms and settled on this one. Thank goodness we did. I wanted the first part of our trip to be relaxing, non touristy, more of what true Italy was like and you get it here. If you don't like peace or really need the night life this probably is not the area for you. Volastra is 1.9 miles above Manarola , bus runs all day, last one at 7:45pm. Hasn't been a problem yet for us. We plan our day around that. The view is worth any inconvenience you could have. Andrea the owner could not be nicer and more helpful, he's like a long lost cousin we came to visit and has made our stay very comfortable. Manarola is by far the best of the five towns in Cinque Terre so staying close to it was a plus. And yes the walk down to Manarola is the best hike you will ever take through olive trees, grape vineyards and ocean views, what else do you need?

Room Tip: Pack light and you can ask Andrea for a fan if you need one. September is a great month to come. L...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank donna r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

We spent 3 nights in this B&B at the start of the summer season. It was comfortable, spacious and clean. We certainly appreciated the air conditioning in the room! Breakfast was pleasant as one would eat on the balcony overlooking the hills and sea.

In terms of location, I have mixed feelings. Volastra is a small village, high up from the bigger towns. It took us 30-45 minutes to walk down to Manarola via a trail that could get rather steep at times, so I wouldn't recommend it for families with young children. And I certainly wouldn't climb up in summer! There is a bus that one can take to and from Manarola (you should buy the Cinque Terre ticket from the train station since it includes free bus rides for 1-2 days), but the bus comes every 1 hour so you'll need to plan your coming and going around the bus schedule. Also, the buses stop running quite early (about 7:30pm) so it does mean that you can't stay out too late if you plan to get the bus back.

But on the whole, the B&B was a great place to stay, and if you don't mind the hassle of travelling by bus or have a car, then it's nice to get away from the crowds.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank enyue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2013

This B&B is perfectly positioned in Volastra - out of the heavy tourist areas, but close enough to experience the beauty of this area. Volastra is a charming little village, positioned high above Manarola - a spectacular walk, or you can catch the bus. The B&B is clean, comfortable and the service is very good. An important bonus is the ability to park your car nearby. Lovely little restaurant only a short walk away also.

Room Tip: We had 4 rooms, one of which was a bit small (although cheaper).
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RonG_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2013

We spent two nights in Il Vigneto in September 2012 and really enjoyed our stay. Nice hosts, beautiful view from the balcony (breakfast is served there when the weather is nice) and clean rooms. Although located high up in the hills, Volastra offers some amazing trails along the coastline, which are far less crowded compared to the Cinque-terre themselves.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2012

A very good restaurant. The staff is friendly, but somewhat impersonal. We stayed for three days and had dinner two nights. Local food with a modern touch and, as always, very good wines. Beautiful outdoor area.
The room was "ok" with a large bathroom. Wonderful view and how about a chair or two at the balcony? Breakfast was very plain and literally impersonal.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mariann R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

We stayed three nights in this bed and breakfast in a quad-room. The room was spacious as well as the bathroom and we had a beautiful view. Upon arrival our host gave us great suggestions on how to manage our time between the towns as well as detailed schedules for around town. Breakfast is light (as it is in most places in Italy), but the local honey and freshly made bread were wonderful. Taking the bus up to Volastra is easy, but it can be an inconvenience if you are someone who likes to return to their hotel often. We left in the morning and didn't return till the evening and we had no problem fitting our schedule around the bus (it stops running around 7). The one downside to this is that you are basically required to eat dinner up in Volastra, but the take out place that has been mentioned before is fantastic. Don't leave without trying their pesto! There is also a local cab that the owner gives you the number for if you want to stay in Manarola late for dinner, so you are not completely option-less. The Cinque Terre is still recovering from it's mudslides and flooding, but most of the trails are repaired now and Vernazza is on the mend (the town most affected). Our lovely B&B in Volastra was the perfect escape from the crowded main towns!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marycatherine24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Riomaggiore
0.1 mi away
Luna di Marzo
Luna di Marzo
#4 of 10 in Riomaggiore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
1.1 mi away
Locanda del Sole
Locanda del Sole
#2 of 10 in Riomaggiore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
1.1 mi away
Alla Marina
Alla Marina
#1 of 32 in Riomaggiore
5.0 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Da Paulin Rooms and apartments
1.1 mi away
Mar Mar
Mar Mar
#7 of 21 in Riomaggiore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
2.8 mi away
Franca Maria Rooms
Franca Maria Rooms
#14 of 43 in Vernazza
4.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bed and Breakfast Il Vigneto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bed and Breakfast Il Vigneto

Property: Bed and Breakfast Il Vigneto
Address: Via Pasubio 64 | Volastra, 19017 Riomaggiore, Italy
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Cinque Terre > Riomaggiore
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Riomaggiore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Il Vigneto" is a family-run Bed & Breakfast activity, in the middle of the ancient village of Volastra (from the latin Vicus Oleaster, which means the place of olive trees). Volastra is one of the most authentic realities in the heart of the National Park of the Cinque Terre, where terraces built with dry stone walling cleverly made without any cement, give place to the cultivation of vineyards and olive trees. Volastra besides offering an extraordinary natural landscape with hills sloping down to the sea, is the most important crossway of paths of the Cinque Terre. In fact, from Volastra you may hike many paths with various levels of difficulty surrounded by a spectacular nature. All the paths are duly signed with red and white strips.In a few minutes from Volastra you may reach Manarola thanks to a good shuttle bus service. The cost of the bus is included in the daily ticket to visit the National Park. Once you are in Manarola you may use trains and boats to visit the other four villages. "Il Vigneto" of very recent restructuring offers double, triple and quadruple rooms, each one with its own bathroom, TV sat, high speed internet connection, small fridge, heating and a few with sea view. Breakfast is served in the dining room while during the good season it is served on a wide panoramic terrace with an amazing sea view. From the terrace, that may be used by our guests, you may admire the sea surrounded by hills cultivated with olive trees and vineyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Studio Scivoletto S.r.l. so you can book your Bed and Breakfast Il Vigneto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bed And Breakfast Il Vigneto Hotel Riomaggiore
b&b Il Vigneto
Bed And Breakfast Il Vigneto Cinque Terre/Riomaggiore, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing