We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful view, but.....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bed and Breakfast Il Vigneto
Ranked #17 of 32 Riomaggiore B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
asldkfj
1 review
“Beautiful view, but.....”
Reviewed 26 May 2007

- We booked a twin with private bathroom and seaview, we got a small double room with view to the street with bathroom some steps above with window to the terrace (I actually never had a less private bathroom) and noise starting at 7:45 when preperations for breakfast service started. We didn't need any alarm clock ;-)

-The host (Andrea) was really (!) unkind. I don't bother you with details. However all chambermaids have been very cheerful and friendly.

- The bus service is quite limited up to the village. We had to get up early to chatch the last morning bus (10:30) and had to take the last bus from Manarola at 7:30 p.m. up to Volastra. We didn't have the chance to have dinner somewhere out of Manarola.

+ We often used the magnificent terrace for our dinner.
+ We liked not being in the "center" of chinque terre for it was quite cramped in May
+ Beautiful view from up the hill to the vinyards and down to the sea

Nevertheless I would not recommend that place. There must be some nicer one in cinque terre.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank urlaubsfeeling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    43
    13
    6
    3
See reviews for
16
45
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 31 March 2006

My mom and I stayed here 2 years ago and just loved it. The rooms were nice but if you are young and can walk up the hill better for you. My mom is 60 and had a hard time, but it was worth it. I loved the quaintness of the place and Pat and her boyfriend are great. I heard they had a baby. I still write them once in awhile. Her boyfriend is a policeman in La Specia and he took us to the train station at the end of our stay. The balcony with the view, wow. I just stayed there looking out at all the time. Some old guy in town kept talking to us in Italian like we understood and was so nice to us. I felt like I was in an old movie. Great Great Great.

  • Stayed March 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 14 September 2005

My husband and I stayed at Il Vigneto last year, and we can't stop thinking about the place and Volestra. Yes it's a bit out of the way, and I think that was the best part. We met so many locals and tourist on the bus. We were there at the begining of the grape harvest. Everyone was offering grapes for us to taste. Each sweeter than the next. The view from the breakfast terrace was unbelieveable. You just wanted to linger to take in the views. Patricia was lovely, she didn't know what to do to make our stay memorable. We toured most of Italy from the Dolamites to Positano, and we have to say Volesta was very memorable. We are going back to Italy August 2005 and will definately stay at Il Vigneto again. This time we will stay more than just 4 nights. This is the Italy we came to see.

  • Stayed September 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2005

We may have overlapped one of the other reviewers as we arrived around the 4th. of June for 3 nights. While I do agree that the shuttle only running until 7 pm presents a problem, we seemed to work around it okay. The best part about this place is that unlike the 5 terraces, this town is very quiet and not overrun by tourrists as there are only 121 residents. The view from the terrace is spectacular and very romantic. Patricia is a wonderful hostess and very friendly. If you are into hiking, this is also a great place as we hiked down every day either to Manarola (30 minutes downhill) and to Corniglia (beautiful 1-1.5 hour walk, right through the vinyards!). The restaurant in town makes a great grilled swordfish! Yes, the service is a little slow, but then again, we never went to a restaurant, in Italy, that tried to get us through a meal in less than 2 hours.

We also met some people who hiked up at night, though I don't recommend it after a bottle or three of wine! It takes around 45 minutes up the path from Manarola.

If you are into hiking or just want to escape, this place is wonderful!

Of course, the Cinque Terre in general is one place that will always stay in both my and my wife's heart as it truly is paradise on earth!

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cbroomfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chehalis
Level Contributor
87 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2005

We stayed for three nites in June. I would not recommend this during the off season because the shuttle only runs from 8:45 a.m. until 7:00 p.m.
Breakfast is served at 8:00 so you have to hurry to finish in time to catch the bus (the next isn't for three hours). The last one at nite is 7:00 so you either have to eat dinner early (most places don't open for dinner until at least 6:00) or you must eat in the only resturant on the hill where we found the food and service to be lacking. Our third nite we ate early to avoid going back and talked to several others who either did the same or ate snacks they brought back.
Our first two nites were spent in what is Andrea's parents room in the summer. It was a large room with a nice bathroom but the washing machine was in the bathroom. After two nites, we were moved to room 1 which was much smaller. You definitely don't want to hang out in your room!
I was not happy about being moved after two nites, especially since we had booked two months ahead! We tried to cut our stay by one nite but would have to pay anyhow so we stayed.
On the plus side, the terrace has a lovely view and the beds were comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank piloti5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 23 March 2004

We stayed at Il Vigneto for 2 nights in March and absolutely LOVED the place. It is located in Volastra (on a hill above Manarola) and can be reached by shuttle bus from the coop market in Manarola, or by hiking up the hundreds of stone steps in the hillside. Because we were there before Easter the bus only ran until 7pm, which put a limit on how late we could stay out (it runs till 11:30pm on its summer schedule). Still, the place was nice enough that we didn't mind going back early. We paid 75 euro for a spacious triple with sea view and private bath (70 euro with no sea view), continental breakfast included. The interior is absolutely charming and the bathrooms are huge. There is a terrace that you can hang out on (but it was too cold for us to enjoy it). It was windy and cold on top of that hill, but warm and toasty inside--the heated towel rack in the bathroom was a plus! The proprietors (Patrizia and her boyfriend, we never got his name) are very friendly and easy to talk to. My friend was sick to her stomach both days we were there, but was relieved that it was the nicest place she could imagine staying in while sick! It might be a little hard to find Il Vigneto from the bus stop (go straight forward and take a left at the end of the lane, follow the signs to the Cinque Terre Information office, walk past it until you get to a pink house on the right), but it's definitely worth finding!

  • Stayed March 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
21 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Riomaggiore
0.1 mi away
Luna di Marzo
Luna di Marzo
#4 of 11 in Riomaggiore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
1.1 mi away
Locanda del Sole
Locanda del Sole
#2 of 11 in Riomaggiore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
4.5 mi away
Albergo Marina
Albergo Marina
#18 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Alla Marina
Alla Marina
#1 of 32 in Riomaggiore
5.0 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
2.8 mi away
Franca Maria Rooms
Franca Maria Rooms
#13 of 43 in Vernazza
4.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
1.1 mi away
Il BoMa
Il BoMa
#4 of 32 in Riomaggiore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bed and Breakfast Il Vigneto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bed and Breakfast Il Vigneto

Property: Bed and Breakfast Il Vigneto
Address: Via Pasubio 64 | Volastra, 19017 Riomaggiore, Italy
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Cinque Terre > Riomaggiore
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Riomaggiore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Il Vigneto" is a family-run Bed & Breakfast activity, in the middle of the ancient village of Volastra (from the latin Vicus Oleaster, which means the place of olive trees). Volastra is one of the most authentic realities in the heart of the National Park of the Cinque Terre, where terraces built with dry stone walling cleverly made without any cement, give place to the cultivation of vineyards and olive trees. Volastra besides offering an extraordinary natural landscape with hills sloping down to the sea, is the most important crossway of paths of the Cinque Terre. In fact, from Volastra you may hike many paths with various levels of difficulty surrounded by a spectacular nature. All the paths are duly signed with red and white strips.In a few minutes from Volastra you may reach Manarola thanks to a good shuttle bus service. The cost of the bus is included in the daily ticket to visit the National Park. Once you are in Manarola you may use trains and boats to visit the other four villages. "Il Vigneto" of very recent restructuring offers double, triple and quadruple rooms, each one with its own bathroom, TV sat, high speed internet connection, small fridge, heating and a few with sea view. Breakfast is served in the dining room while during the good season it is served on a wide panoramic terrace with an amazing sea view. From the terrace, that may be used by our guests, you may admire the sea surrounded by hills cultivated with olive trees and vineyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Studio Scivoletto S.r.l. so you can book your Bed and Breakfast Il Vigneto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
b&b Il Vigneto
Bed And Breakfast Il Vigneto Hotel Riomaggiore
Bed And Breakfast Il Vigneto Cinque Terre/Riomaggiore, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing