We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thanks Martha and Francesco”
Review of Vento di Mare

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Vento di Mare
Ranked #5 of 32 Riomaggiore B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Martha our host was very efficient even before we got to her place in Riomaggiore. She promptly responded to our emails and gave us solid information about train times from Civitavecchia to La Spezia and on to Riomaggiore.
On arrival, she was there to meet us at the train station. From there it was a short and easy walk to Vento di Mare.
Her place is not fancy but very clean and had a very pleasant ambience. We had the room with the terrace which we used to have our own breakfast as the room had a fridge and a kettle.

The bakery, the grocer etc were all very close by and we supplied ourselves with milk, butter, jam, fruits, coffee, tea and cold cuts of ham, cheese and salami.

Martha was an excellent host and that warm hospitality makes the difference between a merely good stay and a wonderful one.

Many of the trails were closed when we got there but we took the boat to Monterosso and worked our way back village by village till we got back to Riomaggiore. That was really delightful.

Another day, we took the train to Corniglia, took the bus up, walked a wee bit in the hills in the vineyards and then walked back down to the train station.

A note to Canadian visitors. Our bank card (from Canada's largest bank!) only has the Plus and Interac symbols and that was problematic as all the ATM's in Riomaggiore and others we came across did not seem to be in synch with those. However, we survived by using our everyday VISA to "borrow" money from the ATM, something we would have preferred not to do.

Later in Rome, after visiting 9 ATM machines, we found one that had the Plus symbol.
What a relief.

We stayed 3 nights in Vento di Mare and would recommend it to anyone contemplating a visit to the Cinque Terre.

On departure, Martha's husband Francesco came to help us with our luggage and walked us to the train station.

We also met their two delightful children.

The Tehs from Victoria, British Columbia

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Felix T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarthaLeandro, Owner at Vento di Mare, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2013

Thank you, Teh's! I had so much fun with you both - I felt as if I had two friends visiting! :) Thanks for the laughs and the honest suggestions. Definitely keep in touch!
Martha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (134)
There are newer reviews for Vento di Mare
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 134 reviews

Reviewed 4 November 2013

There were 5 of us staying in 2 rooms. We stayed 3 nights at Vento di Mare. Martha was very friendly and helpful. Her two children were adorable. It is very close to the train station, so not much of a walk w luggage through town. The top most room had a quaint lanai which our group used very well for dining & hanging laundry. The rooms are not fancy but comfortable. There is a refrigerator but no cooking capabilities if you are wanting to cook for yourself. Access to local groceries & restaurants was great. Martha helped us w reservations and advised on hiking activities....all were wonderful. I would stay there again, definitely.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kfarley-1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarthaLeandro, Owner at Vento di Mare, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2013

Aloha Kathy,
Mahalo for the review! Loved hanging out with you and the ladies!
Hope to see you all soon… maybe even in Hawaii!
Martha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We loved the Cinque Terre villages and staying at Vento di Mare was the perfect location for us. Martha was so gracious to meet us at the train station to take us directly to our villa. She told us all about the town and spent time with us going over train & boat schedules. We actually ran into her and her son while exploring the area as she was picking up her other child from school. Staying in Riomaggiore was perfect, because we were very close to the train station. We had traveled a half day via train from Venice so we wanted to rest a bit before exploring. Since there are 5 villages, we started at Riomaggiore and rode the train to Monterrosso and worked our way back. It was a perfect itinerary. At the end of our two days, we were so close to the train station so we grabbed a quick breakfast and got on our way to our next destination.

Things to know: Martha only accepts cash (as with most every vendor in the area), which was fine because they have plenty of ATM machines there. Also, when she meets you at the train station, we almost missed her. Maybe she could wear a big necklace, scarf or hat (something that stands out) so you see her right away. I don't think she would want to carry a sign! LOL We stayed there two nights and there was no cleaning service, which was fine for us. We didn't need it since we were there such a short time.

Overall, I would definitely recommend this place! Be prepared to walk up steep hills and lots & lots of stairs. We got our exercise, that's for sure and it was exhausting but felt great. I would not miss visiting Cinque Terre if you are planning a trip to Italy. Thank you Martha for being a wonderful host and offering us great prices for a very clean room!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terryluvsthegulf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarthaLeandro, Owner at Vento di Mare, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2013

Thank you, Terry, for the review! It was so nice meeting your whole family and I'm glad to hear that you had a good time in the 5Terre!
I'll definitely take your advice and wear something that makes me stand out at the train station - but you're right, I will not carry a sign! :) LOL. Thanks for the tip!
Say hello to Florida for me!
Grazie di tutto!
Martha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

We stayed in the Libeccio or 3 days during our 44th anniversary trip. It is a great location right near the main entrance after the tunnel. The room is spotless and the little terrace is just right! Martha, Leandro and the whole family work very hard to make this a special place for each visitor and give you all kinds of helpful information on the area. We loved Riomaggorie also. It was our first time in Cinque Terre and hope we can go back again someday. I don't think anyone would be disappointed by staying in this delightful room.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarthaLeandro, Owner at Vento di Mare, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2013

Hey guys!
Thanks for the review!
You are two very special people and I feel lucky to have met you both!
Definitely come back. Would love to have you again.
Martha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Room was great and clean and in a great location. Riomagiore is a great area to stay in even though it had been suggested we should try and stay in Monterosso I was very happy with my decision and as time ticked it was harder and harder to find accommodation anywhere!

Martha was super helpful and very sweet- helped us with everything including walking and route suggestions, restaurant info, meeting with us when we were going to check in, sorting out early access to the room, giving us towels etc- she couldn't be more attentive. She was also really helpful in the run up to the trip too- offering information and suggestions and any help we needed. You can't fault that sort of hospitality. Thanks Martha!

I just struggle with paying so much (90E per night for a double room with no view) but that is my own issue. You pay that amount because availability is scarce and you are in a very touristy area and everyone can charge a large amount for accomodation. I must say you really can't beat being able to fall out of bed, jump on a boat and start your trekking without the hassle of getting to Cinque Terre. Pay the money to be in the area and soak it all up.

Room Tip: We were in Maestrale but I think getting a room higher up with more of a view of the street would be...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danni079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarthaLeandro, Owner at Vento di Mare, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2013

Hey Danielle!
Thanks for the review!
It was my pleasure meeting you and your boyfriend - would definitely love to see you both back again.

Martha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We stayed there for 3 nights in late september. The room was exactly as expected by viewing the pictures. The bathroom was nice and newly remodeled with a shower. Martha met us at the station and showed us to the room. She told us about the hikes we were wanting to take and how to reach trail heads and transportation to or from the hikes. She also made dinner reservations for us. There was no WIFI. Martha did try to give us access via the BAR ZARZA, but the signal did not come up to our room. We were a bit worried about noise from the Bar, so we slept with the Air Conditioning on and were fine. The location is close to everything at the bottom of the big hill. We had a continental breakfast at Bar Centrale which opens at 7:30 and the little bakery close by had great focaccia sold by weight. MArtha is very accommodating and brought us some wine glasses and a bottle opener so we could enjoy the great white wines of 5 terra in our room. CNN international was also available in the room.

Room Tip: Although the steps are steep, the highest room has a terrace so I would have like that extended outd...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank STLFAN51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarthaLeandro, Owner at Vento di Mare, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2013

Thanks so much for the positive feedback!
Glad to hear that you had a good stay and a good vacation in the Cinque Terre!
It was my pleasure meeting the two of you - Hope to see you both again sometime soon!
Martha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Booking the room was extremely easy with Martha available by Skype and email. It was a little challenging for us to find on arrival as there was no number on the door and the sign on the door was subtle, so we spent about 20 minutes wandering the narrow stairs/streets around Riomaggiore! Fortunately when Martha and Leandro finally found us it was a relief to be let into the cool peaceful blue Maestrale room. We had suitcases and had been lugging them from train station to train station so it was nice to be on the ground floor, however you compromise on not having a balcony. The room is very spacious, the bathroom massive (compared to some tiny closets we had been in, in other parts of Europe!) It was very clean, and there was even a little drying rack outside the window. There's a helpful folder with plenty of local tips on where to eat and what to do (even suggestions for when it rains!), and we were provided with train timetables, ferry timetables and maps of the trails on arrival. We ran into Martha during our stay who recommended her favourite trails to explore. It is well located steps away from both the train station, marina and many delicious restaurants (all serving up the most amazing seafood pastas). Note that you have to go to the nearby hotel cafe to use the wi fi. Overall a very good room. Thanks Martha!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarthaLeandro, Owner at Vento di Mare, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2013

Hi Joy!
Thanks for taking the time to write us a review!
It was great meeting you and your friend. The iffy weather aside, I'm glad you had a fab time in the Cinque Terre!
A million thank you's .... and please come back! We'd love to see you again!
Martha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Riomaggiore
5.3 mi away
Albergo Marina
Albergo Marina
#16 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
622 reviews
0.2 mi away
Locanda del Sole
Locanda del Sole
#2 of 11 in Riomaggiore
300 reviews
0.1 mi away
Il BoMa
Il BoMa
#6 of 32 in Riomaggiore
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Franca Maria Rooms
Franca Maria Rooms
#14 of 39 in Vernazza
192 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alla Marina
Alla Marina
#1 of 32 in Riomaggiore
502 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ca' de Capun Camere Franco
Ca' de Capun Camere Franco
#10 of 18 in Manarola
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vento di Mare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vento di Mare

Address: Via Antonio Gramsci 6, 19017 Riomaggiore, Italy
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Cinque Terre > Riomaggiore
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Riomaggiore
Price Range: £77 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Completely remodeled in 2013, our three guestrooms are located in the heart of Riomaggiore (Cinque Terre) - 2 minutes away from the beach and a short walk to the station and la via dell'Amore. All of our rooms have a nautical themed decor and are equipped with private bathroom, air conditioning/heater, fridge, Wi-Fi, flat screen TVs with tivu sat and hair dryer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Studio Scivoletto S.r.l. and Priceline so you can book your Vento di Mare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vento Di Mare Cinque Terre/Riomaggiore, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing