We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Cinque Terre Location By Karen & Neil”
Review of Vento di Mare

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Vento di Mare
Ranked #5 of 32 Riomaggiore B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Waukesha, WI
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Cinque Terre Location By Karen & Neil”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Vento di Mare will fulfill your Cinque Terra experience. It is quaint and typical of all the buildings in the city. The rooms are clean and comfortable without frills, again like the city. Your host, Martha, is a gem. She is full of energy and is easily reachable by phone to answer any questions you might have.. You're bound to fall in love with the entire area and you will always remember your friendly, helpful host.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
Helpful?
Thank Karenert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarthaLeandro, Owner at Vento di Mare, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Grazie Karen and Neil!

It was my pleasure meeting the both of you and helping you plan your days in the Cinque Terre!

Please contact me if you're ever back in the area!

Hope to see you both again sometime,
Martha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    27
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
14
79
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

I wish I could give Vento di Mare 5 stars. The accommodations themselves are very nice and updated with the traveler in mind. We stayed in the Scirocco room - large room, comfortable bed, AC, TV, huge and very pretty bathroom. This is a very nice and modern place to stay. The location is very convenient - not up too many stairs and close to the train station, the marina, and Riomaggiore's restaurants. I would recommend the bakery across the street for a quick breakfast! As other reviewers have said, Martha is all you could ask for in a host. She met us at the train station and gave us great advice about where to hike etc.

The one downside to Vento di Mare is that it is a few feet away from the one bar in Riomaggiore that is open until 1 am and plays very loud American pop music until then. This bar seems very out of place in quaint Riomaggiore, but it exists nonetheless, and it is very difficult to sleep before midnight, which is unfortunate if you want to wake up at a reasonable hour and beat the heat and traffic on the hiking trails.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 656meagank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarthaLeandro, Owner at Vento di Mare, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Meagan,

I'm so sorry to hear about the noise from the bar disrupting your sleep! (I will speak with their management about the loud music after 11pm!)

Thanks for writing us a review!
Good luck with school and everything else!

Please be in touch,
Martha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Martha was our key to comfort at Vento di Mare. Martha added that all important personal touch. She even met us at the train. That's where the welcome began, but didn't end until 7 nights later when she bid us farewell with a hug. She made us feel like family. Any weary traveller would love to have Martha on board.

The keys to the building and our rooms had that old world charm and provided security any guest would desire. But the real KEY to our comfort and well being was Martha. We could not have done without her.

Neal S

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neal S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarthaLeandro, Owner at Vento di Mare, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Wow! That is the sweetest review, Neal!
Thanks so much for that!

Can't wait to see you again…. soon!

Big hugs to your sister,
Martha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We just returned from Italy and some of our best memories are of our stay at Vento di Mare in Riomaggiore. The location was perfect, the rooms comfortable and clean, and it is not possible to say enough about the help we received from Martha. She is great and was unbelievably helpful both before and during our stay. Be sure and schedule time for a wine tasting at Buranco in Monterosso al Mare. What a perfect afternoon!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rpwBorregoSprings_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarthaLeandro, Owner at Vento di Mare, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
CIAO! And GRAZIE MILLE for this fab review!

Please let me know if you come back to the area, as I'd love to see you all again!
Martha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 May 2014

I could speak all day about how much we loved our experience visiting Cinque Terre, and much of that is due to Martha and our stay in Riomaggiore. We arrived 3 hours late and Martha met us at the station and even had a restaurant stay open late for us. The location is very accessible and convenient, minutes from the train and the boat, close to markets and restaurants and we appreciated this even more after visiting the other towns. The area seemed more quaint and charming than the others. We loved visiting the others towns then having Riomaggiore to come home to. We stayed in Libeccio, which was very clean and comfortable. We made time to enjoy the terrace and appreciated having the large doors to open for fresh air. There are stairs to climb for the top room, but they were manageable. You feel like you live there and that was an experience I was really looking forward to in Italy. Breakfast is not served, but its very easy to pick up something from the market or grab a croissant and coffee. Martha is an absolute gem. She made herself available for everything, made reservations for us, gave suggestions on what to do and how to do things, provided maps and detailed, need to know information. We would definitely stay at Vento Di Mare if we visit again.

Room Tip: We loved having the terrace!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nikki F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarthaLeandro, Owner at Vento di Mare, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Ciao Nicolette!

Thank you so much for the review! It was so great meeting you!
Please let me know if you ever come back to the area - Would love to see you and your husband again!

Martha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We stayed for two nights and wished it was longer! Riomaggiore is charming and beautiful, and this guest house is lovely, welcoming, clean and comfortable. We had the top room Libeccio which has its own balcony/patio, which we didn't have much time to use, but I can imagine that it's wonderful on a summer evening or breakfast. Martha was friendly, welcoming and makes excellent recommendations for you to use your time well - her restaurant booking for us as Dau Cila was perfect, that meal will live long in the memory. Great place to stay in a lovely setting.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Prudence J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarthaLeandro, Owner at Vento di Mare, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Hi Pru!
Thank you for the review!
It was my pleasure meeting you and your husband - Glad to hear you had a memorable meal at Cila's!
Would love to see you both again soon!
Please be in touch!
Martha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 12 March 2014

The time I spent here was absolutely wonderful! I could not have asked for a better place to stay. Martha was so sweet and extremely helpful. She met me at the train station to help me up to my room and also gave wonderful recommendations as far as restaurants and how to spend my time. Although it is not a luxury resort, the property is absolutely lovely. The b&b is located right off of the main road in Riomaggiore, from which there is easy access to several markets, restaurants, the train station, and the marina. I stayed in the top room with a balcony and enjoyed spending my evenings and mornings relaxing on the porch before going out to grab a bite to eat and to explore the surrounding towns. The only downside is that breakfast is not served, however, there are plenty of wonderful places to grab a coffee and pastry in the morning and also there is a fridge in the room so you can keep yogurt and such in the room too. It was my first solo trip abroad and I felt very welcome at this b&b as well as in the surrounding areas. I highly recommend staying at this b&b for everyone visiting Riomaggiore! I will definitely be back in the very near future. Thank you, Martha, for such a wonderful stay!

Room Tip: Ask for the Libeccio room! It is the only one with a balcony. The balcony is a good size and comes w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank P.J. R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarthaLeandro, Owner at Vento di Mare, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
P.J.,

Thanks so much for the review! It was short, but had a great time getting to know you!
Good luck with the rest of your studies and definitely let us know if you come back!

A presto!
Martha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Riomaggiore
0.2 mi away
Locanda del Sole
Locanda del Sole
#2 of 11 in Riomaggiore
298 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Argentina
Hotel Villa Argentina
#7 of 11 in Riomaggiore
352 reviews
1.2 mi away
Luna di Marzo
Luna di Marzo
#4 of 11 in Riomaggiore
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Albergo Marina
Albergo Marina
#18 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
609 reviews
0.1 mi away
Il BoMa
Il BoMa
#6 of 32 in Riomaggiore
372 reviews
1.4 mi away
Il Borgo di Campi
Il Borgo di Campi
#8 of 32 in Riomaggiore
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vento di Mare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vento di Mare

Property: Vento di Mare
Address: Via Antonio Gramsci 6, 19017 Riomaggiore, Italy
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Cinque Terre > Riomaggiore
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Riomaggiore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Completely remodeled in 2013, our three guestrooms are located in the heart of Riomaggiore (Cinque Terre) - 2 minutes away from the beach and a short walk to the station and la via dell'Amore. All of our rooms have a nautical themed decor and are equipped with private bathroom, air conditioning/heater, fridge, Wi-Fi, flat screen TVs with tivu sat and hair dryer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Studio Scivoletto S.r.l. and Priceline so you can book your Vento di Mare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vento Di Mare Cinque Terre/Riomaggiore, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing