We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good view from the apartment” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Locanda dalla Compagnia

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Locanda dalla Compagnia
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Riomaggiore
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good view from the apartment”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2011

We were immediately offered the top floor apartment, instead of the room we had booked. Although suspicious of these sorts of offers, we accepted their offer - it turned out to be a good decision as we had a lot of extra space, and cooking facilities.

The owners are helpful and friendly, but the breakfast is definitely not worth paying extra for. Save your money and go to a café.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HandMBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    31
    31
    25
    30
See reviews for
11
85
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2011

We had a wonderful stay at this hotel. We were given the large apartment and had an amazing view, large kitchen, living room, terrace, bath & bedroom. Would definitely come back here!

Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank il0veeur0pe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2011

The proprietor was very sweet and helpful. We had 5 people and had booked 3 rooms not realizing that they were going to put us in apartments, which each had an extra room. We were able to change our booking and save some money by fitting into 2 apartments. We did not know that we would be in apartments when we booked the hotel. The apartments each had a kitchen. One of the apartments was on the top floor with a beautiful view and balcony. The other was on the first floor and was very dark and dank. The bathrooms smelled bad in both apartments. So it's hit or miss, depending what room you end up in. They were very flexible, though - if they're not full you may be able to ask for a better room... Breakfast was terrible.

Room Tip: Ask for an apartment on an upper floor. Pack light, you'll have to carry your bags up!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ellieferguson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Del Mar, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2011

After reading the reviews of this hotel we see how variable the accomodations can be. First, you may not be in the hotel at all but be assigned an appartment or room off site. We were given a dark, small, claustrophic apartment with one small window opening onto the main street. There was no air conditioning nor were the screens on windows functional. The bed was soft and barely fit in to the room. There were signs on the coffee machine in kitchenette "Do not use - moldy" and "This does not work". The day we left at 8am the hotel lobby was locked so no breakfast. and happened to find a neighbor who said he knew the owner and would give back the key. We have stayed at many places during our travels and this was the lowest, worst experience to date.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jwendellp2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Riomaggiore hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2011

My middle aged sister and I were offered this apartment when we arrived at reception. I think this may have been because were looked fit, active and had a modest amount of luggage. I was thrilled about this as I had read previous positive reviews on this website. They are all accurate. The internal steps to the third floor apartment were very narrow and steep - not for those with heavy cases or vertigo. The view however from the windows was stunning. It was good to have had more space and to be able to self cater for meals although we did breakfast up at the main hotel - a standard Italian breakfast. We were able to buy meat and fresh produce in the village and use the oven to roast vegetables and make the familiar home cooked meals we had been craving. The apartment was a little noisy until about midnight from foot traffic below and the pounding of the sea only a few meters away was a constant. When not out walking, the activity around the harbour as viewed from our windows kept us entertained for hours. We would have loved to have stayed a week or so as there is so much in the area to do.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wendy_hays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2011

We stayed in Riomaggiore for 6 nights. We had booked a room at this hotel, but we were pleasantly surprised that we would staying in a 1 bedroom apartment down the road. It was a beautifully renovated, but still retained a lot of charm. The cozy kitchen was lovely, the bathroom was gorgeous and the walk in closet was HUGE. The bed was comfy and the entire apartment was very clean and well stocked with plenty of kitchen utensils - all brand new. The owners were friendly and very accommodating. We had initially booked three nights, but loved this apt so much that we booked 3 more! I hope you have the opportunity to stay in Cinque Terre and I especially hope you get to stay here!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CJEGGER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
181 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2011

We made our reservations over the phone the morning that we were to arrive. We expected to be staying "up the hill" for 50 Euros. Giovanna met us at the train station(very heavy accent and limited english made the phone calls a bit challenging) and when we expected to turn left to go up the steep road she turned right toward the harbor. Yep
we got an apartment right by the water at the harbor! The kitchen allowed us to prepare breakfast and the windows opened on to the Mediterranean. A bottle of Cinque Terre wine, cheese, bread and the sunset, amazing. We stayed an extra night. Giovanna was wild and we met her a couple of times around town where she was talking to everyone including us. The main building "up the hill" had comfortable guest rooms and appeared clean.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ski&brew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Riomaggiore
1.5 mi away
Due Gemelli
Due Gemelli
#7 of 10 in Riomaggiore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
0.0 mi away
Locanda del Sole
Locanda del Sole
#2 of 10 in Riomaggiore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
1.2 mi away
Luna di Marzo
Luna di Marzo
#4 of 10 in Riomaggiore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Villa Argentina
Hotel Villa Argentina
#6 of 10 in Riomaggiore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
0.1 mi away
Affittacamere Edi
Affittacamere Edi
#8 of 10 in Riomaggiore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
6.4 mi away
Hotel Monterosso Alto
Hotel Monterosso Alto
#15 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
4.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Locanda dalla Compagnia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Locanda dalla Compagnia

Property: Locanda dalla Compagnia
Address: Via del Santuario 32, 19017 Riomaggiore, Italy
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Cinque Terre > Riomaggiore
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Riomaggiore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Locanda dalla Compagnia 1*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Hotels.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Locanda dalla Compagnia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Locanda Dalla Compagnia Riomaggiore
Locanda Dalla Compagnia Cinque Terre/Riomaggiore, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing