We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pleasant hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Locanda dalla Compagnia
Ranked #11 of 11 Hotels in Riomaggiore
london
Level Contributor
62 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“pleasant hotel”
Reviewed 13 August 2012

I booked 4 nights in this hotel about 6 weeks in advance and received an email by return from the owner giving me an apartment. What a good result this was ! The apartment was in a block close to the centre of town and with a terrace which had lovely views both of the sea and the main street and square. We went to the hotel each morning for breakfast, which was included but the kitchen in the apartment was fine for preparing meals (gas rings but no cooker) The hotel looked clean and confortable but is a very steep walk uphill from the centre of town. In fact everywhere in Riomaggiore is a steep walk; your leg muscles will be toned after your trip. The apartment and the hotel are a 5-10 minute walk from the railway station thru the tunnel to the centre of town. Tip: if you have an apartment and are arriving by train do not take your luggage up hill to the hotel; leave it at the botom of the hil because you will only have to carry it back down again !
The centre of town can be noisy so if you are a light sleeper you may wish to consider this; the hotel itself is in a quieter spot.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BaldrickLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    32
    33
    25
    30
See reviews for
11
88
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2012

Booked this 10 min before arriving in Riomaggiore and was going to be happy as long as there was a bed, bathroom and hopefully air-con. I had booked the sea-view room so when we arrived at the hotel we were taken down the main street to a private apartment. Our room was not actually part of the hotel (just booked through and run by the hotel - so can't comment on the actual hotel facilities). The sea-view apartment has one double room, private bathroom, a fully stocked kitchenette with washing machine, 6 seat dining table, and a very large private terrace that looks directly over the small main square and out across the Mediterranean, a fantastic location for a few nights. Only downside is that there isn't air-con, but instead a fan which was ok. If booking through the hotel, ask for this property.

Room Tip: Ask for the sea view apartment
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank theflyingbadger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2012

I've never written a bad review before but . . . . this hotel deserves it! This is the worst hotel I have ever stayed in. You get nothing for your money, it is a complete rip off and if you like throwing your money away, then stay here. The rooms smell mouldy, the breakfast is terrible and not served until 8.45 on a good day which means you can't start your walk early. if you like oily bread and cornflakes - then enjoy. The staff are extremely unfriendly and don't speak English when they choose and are not very friendly or forthcoming. One day our rooms were not cleaned until after 3pm and we had to ask them to do it. Another night there was a concert - live music in front of the hotel from 10pm - 12.10pm and we were told nothing about it.There is no shampoo or body wash in the rooms, the walls are paper thin and you can hear everything going on on the streets which meant we had a few hours sleep each night. We came in one night and found someone's keys and photocopies of someone's passport on the front desk in plain view for everyone to see. If there was an emergency eg lost keys - there is no way to contact anyone outside of opening hours. HORRIBLE!!!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chicsurf2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Riomaggiore hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2012 via mobile

I booked a single cheap room, and somehow for 70 euros I got put in a huge 5 room apartment with separate living room, kitchen, dressing room, bedroom with big double bed, and big bathroom... Slap bang in the best part of the town. If I'd have known if not only be staying one night!!! Not really any service as its an apartment, but who cares!!! Great!!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandyrass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caloundra, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2012

We arrived on a very very hot day, and it was a decent walk up the hill (would only be a minute, but took longer with the suitcases!!). When we arrived we were told we could not have the apartment we had booked (it seems the apartment sauro which is by the sea is saved for more people, who will pay more money, so don't assume you will get the exact room you paid or requested!!) and told we would get a hotel room. The man at the desk saw we were disappointed and found another apartment for us, which was pretty fantastic. An older couple owned this room, and lived downstairs, and showed us around - they were just lovely!! Could barely speak English but were just so sweet.

This apartment is up the stairs to the left of the reception and was so perfect. Comfortable, with a kitchenette, excellent bathroom, and air con was well needed at the end of a sweaty day! TV was excellent and we plugged in our harddrive to watch a movie at night.

This is a really great place to stay, I would stay here again.

If you come here, you MUST buy fresh fruit and fresh pesto from the little deli at the shop at the very bottom of the hill before you go through the tunnel. So amazing!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank coastalnala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
211 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2012

I had read some bad reviews of this hotel and I have to say they were wrong. When I checked in the gentleman was extremely courteous. I didn't think the hill was too bad and when I got my room it was back down the hill. I had an excellent apartment with a huge balcony and exceptional views from the balcony and rooms. I couldn't have been better located for all amenities. A fantastic experience.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
218 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2012

This place was supposed to be an apartment right on the beach. It had a lot of room, and it was on the beach, but that's about where the enchantment ends. No breakfast included, and it's pretty expensive. This guy should have been charging about 40 euros per night, tops, but charged way more than that.

-Shower was awful with a cheesy curtain and poor water pressure. Very old. Finding the right balance between hot and cold water was a challenge.
-Only one small light in the bathroom.
-Toilet seat is cracked, and probably dirty.
-Towels are old and there is nowhere to put them in the bathroom except on a short towel rack. Then your towels touch the dirty floor.
-Old bed with an old bedspread
-Many appliances in the "kitchen" don't seem to work
-Nowhere to put your stuff in the bathroom
-Did I mention a dirty floor?

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KendraP05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Riomaggiore
0.0 mi away
Locanda del Sole
Locanda del Sole
#2 of 11 in Riomaggiore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
1.5 mi away
Due Gemelli
Due Gemelli
#8 of 11 in Riomaggiore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
1.2 mi away
Luna di Marzo
Luna di Marzo
#4 of 11 in Riomaggiore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Villa Argentina
Hotel Villa Argentina
#7 of 11 in Riomaggiore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
0.1 mi away
Affittacamere Edi
Affittacamere Edi
#9 of 11 in Riomaggiore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
6.3 mi away
Hotel Monterosso Alto
Hotel Monterosso Alto
#15 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
4.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Locanda dalla Compagnia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Locanda dalla Compagnia

Property: Locanda dalla Compagnia
Address: Via del Santuario 32, 19017 Riomaggiore, Italy
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Cinque Terre > Riomaggiore
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 11 Hotels in Riomaggiore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Locanda dalla Compagnia 1*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Locanda dalla Compagnia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Locanda Dalla Compagnia Riomaggiore
Locanda Dalla Compagnia Cinque Terre/Riomaggiore, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing