We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good view, but not comfortable” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Locanda dalla Compagnia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Locanda dalla Compagnia
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Riomaggiore
Jakarta, Jakarta Raya, Indonesia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“good view, but not comfortable”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2012

Apartment with sea view and reasonably cheap price. The balcony is great, we can see the sea and view of the Riomaggiore village. Grab some frita mista and olives nearby and eat on the balcony, wonderful experience. Than the night came..... The apartment was dusty, bed was not comfortable, small bathroom (when you take a shower, it get wet everywhere).

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dandy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    31
    31
    25
    30
See reviews for
11
85
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denver
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

We stayed here for a week in August. This place was very affordable with spacious rooms, fridges in the rooms, and complimentary breakfast! It is a hike up the hill from the main part of town by the water, however it was kind of nice to be a bit off the beaten path. This is a small town, so this does not mean you are far from anything. 5 minutes walk everywhere. It was also nice to have a ground floor room that was up against one of the rock cliffs, because it was EXTREMELY hot and our hotel provided a cool haven when we wanted to get out of the heat.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AAW3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario Canada
Level Contributor
113 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2012

Booked apartment with a balcony and view as described by other reviewers here and got nothing close. It even showed our request on the confirmation receipt the owner gave us when we paid.

We were told it was Sauro apt. (said that on the key also) and it had no balcony at all and the view was a orange wall 3 ft, away from one window and another apartment from the other window. No balcony. See the photo labelled 'best view from apt. Sauro'

The room inside was recently renovated and new but the shower had one door missing and no shelf for soap or shampoo in the shower. Pretty hard to shower at all. There was a small kitchen with stove, pots, plates, etc. but the light in that room did not work. If the owner says that things did work, he is full of BS. I tried every switch and even checked the breakers.

You have to pay in cash at the hotel, then they walk you back down the street and through back alleys to get to your apt. Up a very narrow and steep set of stairs. I would not recommend this if you have heavy suitcases or have walking issues. We left our suitcases in the car parked at La Spezia and just brought our backpacks. I could/should have gone back and demanded another room but we were dead tired from all the walking already.

The reception was supposed to be open from noon to 6:00 but there was a sign out front that it was only open from 3 to 6, plus if he is busy showing someone else their room, the reception is closed. We tried to call both phone numbers provided but one was no longer working and the other did not answer.

Only good thing - it was cheaper than other rooms with equally bad views.

Quite frankly, we found that Cinque Terre was very beautiful but a huge tourist trap. All the trails along the sea were all closed when we were there, even though the official web sites said that 3 of them were open a week earlier. Even in mid-October, there were crowds everywhere. We visited all 5 towns and found that there are lots of other areas in Italy more beautiful with less tourists. Just our opinion.

Room Tip: Don't pay until you check out your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TravelDougA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Riomaggiore hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
La Coruna, Spain
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2012

Location is at the top of the hill, so you start with a bit of a hiking. We were given a mini apartment (second floor - no lift) located in a building just next to the hotel and opposite a little church. Not much of a view but it is ok. It is a bit noisy in the morning and since you have the church opposite, the church bells will be a bit annoying sometimes. We find it practical in the sense that we had a fridge, kitchenette, so we can prepare the breakfast as it was not included in the price. I would not recommend this hotel as we found the price too high for what it is offered: no breakfast, no views, very late check-in (from 15 hours) no gel, soap or shampoo...everytime we had a shower the bathroom floor would get wet since there was no bath-mat and we only had two large towels. We stayed two days in the hotel, there was no cleaning service on the second day and we had to pay the two day stay at the check-in in cash without previous notice of lack of card payment facilities.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Victoria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2012 via mobile

we spent three nights in a room in the actual hotel. the furnishing and decor were outdated but it was clean and comfy and air-conditioned! our room had a private bath with a typically small shower- no hairdryer. the bed was memory foam and comfy after a long active day. the free wifi was a huge bonus! the hotel, like everything in Rio, is located up a steep hill, but very centrally located. Rio has a small stone beach which we actually prefered to Monterosso's larger sand beach. the staff at the hotel was very friendly and helpful. we would stay here again!!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank whit1286
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2012

Good location, poor basic breakfast, but very friendly people at the desk.
No personnel available in the evening / night.

If you book the rooms, you'll be disappointed, since they are very dark and have a window view on the stone-wall (so close as 30 cm). And the price apparently is the same.
Very basic forniture.

We've met people who stayed in the apartments, and they were quite happy with it.

Room Tip: choose the locanda only if you get an apartment, not the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank franklittle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2012

I booked 4 nights in this hotel about 6 weeks in advance and received an email by return from the owner giving me an apartment. What a good result this was ! The apartment was in a block close to the centre of town and with a terrace which had lovely views both of the sea and the main street and square. We went to the hotel each morning for breakfast, which was included but the kitchen in the apartment was fine for preparing meals (gas rings but no cooker) The hotel looked clean and confortable but is a very steep walk uphill from the centre of town. In fact everywhere in Riomaggiore is a steep walk; your leg muscles will be toned after your trip. The apartment and the hotel are a 5-10 minute walk from the railway station thru the tunnel to the centre of town. Tip: if you have an apartment and are arriving by train do not take your luggage up hill to the hotel; leave it at the botom of the hil because you will only have to carry it back down again !
The centre of town can be noisy so if you are a light sleeper you may wish to consider this; the hotel itself is in a quieter spot.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BaldrickLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Riomaggiore
1.5 mi away
Due Gemelli
Due Gemelli
#7 of 10 in Riomaggiore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
0.0 mi away
Locanda del Sole
Locanda del Sole
#2 of 10 in Riomaggiore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
1.2 mi away
Luna di Marzo
Luna di Marzo
#4 of 10 in Riomaggiore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Villa Argentina
Hotel Villa Argentina
#6 of 10 in Riomaggiore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
0.1 mi away
Affittacamere Edi
Affittacamere Edi
#8 of 10 in Riomaggiore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
6.4 mi away
Hotel Monterosso Alto
Hotel Monterosso Alto
#15 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
4.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Locanda dalla Compagnia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Locanda dalla Compagnia

Property: Locanda dalla Compagnia
Address: Via del Santuario 32, 19017 Riomaggiore, Italy
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Cinque Terre > Riomaggiore
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Riomaggiore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Locanda dalla Compagnia 1*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Hotels.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Locanda dalla Compagnia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Locanda Dalla Compagnia Riomaggiore
Locanda Dalla Compagnia Cinque Terre/Riomaggiore, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing