We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best place to see west coast”
Review of Il Borgo di Campi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Il Borgo di Campi
Ranked #6 of 33 Riomaggiore B&B and Inns
tallinn
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The best place to see west coast”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Easy to access and nice to stay. The best views to sea some hundred meters betow. Every room has its own garden, where is good to sit in chair, meditate and look into dark sky and sea below. The best what to do is take a walk down by stairs and rocks early morning before hot sun to sea. You will remember this walk forever! The path is steep and narrow and quite dangerous in some places, but if you rich the water you will have excellant swimming and if you are back in hotel, you can feel yourself a hero! It takes about 40 minutes to rich a water and about 1 hour back.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sahibTallinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    116
    154
    59
    47
    38
See reviews for
80
226
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wanaque, New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Great hospitality. Good place to stay if traveling with a car. Quiet gardens, a relaxing alternative to being in town. We parked in town for the day and took the train between towns. Only one section of the trails was open, Monterossa to Vernazza, a long walk with a lot of stairs, but a great part of the Cinque Terre experience.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evergreen, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We had a little difficulty finding the hotel in the early evening as our GPS didn't recognize the address. Thankfully a parking attendant from in town of Riomaggiore led us there with us following his car. He only spoke a little English so describing the location didn't help. The hotel is right on the narrow, windy highway above on the cliffs and south of the town of Riomaggiore. The setting of the hotel could not have been more beautiful! It is breathtaking! The rooms are five minutes walk down many outdoor steps lined with many flowers and plants. This would be difficult for anyone with bad knees or other issues climbing stairs. A service to have your bags carried up or down the stairs is available if scheduled in advance and for a fee. The view from our small apartment was stunning! The apartment was clean but a little old and worn, which was not a problem. We did not try out the tiny well-used kitchen appliances. Specific instructions to separate glass and plastic trash was easy, but offensive that 20e is charged for not complying. Having to pay for the small breakfast buffet was off-putting as every other hotel gave a generous buffet included in the price. We did not like that no coffee or breakfast was available until 10am! It was also disappointing that you could not press a button to make your own coffee but had to ask the hostess to make it for you. Only one small cup of coffee is included with each $7e breakfast- otherwise you pay per cup. All this felt rude & unwelcoming. The meal in the restaurant for dinner was delicious. To stay here you need to have a car. We were very glad we stayed at this location, 10 minutes from the town, instead of in town, where it would've been hot with limited or no views of the sea. Despite disappointments in amenities, the staff was nice & the views of the Mediterranean made it all worthwhile.

Room Tip: We stayed in Fucsia, the best patio overlooking the sea of all available. This apartment sleeps 4.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jack R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

The view from the hotel is excellent. The water views are so inviting but you cannot access the water from the hotel, you have to take a shuttle or drive to Riomaggore. Dinner was okay but not great - the waiter was very attentive and made the experience enjoyable. The room was adequate but the blankets smelled musty and the kitchen stock was mis-matched, old and very poor. Note, once you run out of toilet paper - you are have re-stock it yourself. The receptionist was not helpful or friendly. The hotel could have been great but it really fell short which was unfortunate.

Room Tip: Ask for a room near the restaurant to avoid the 90 steps to the top.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jrt s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Riomaggiore hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
244 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

After staying here for 5 days I can only say that this establishment should consider themselves very lucky - if not extremely lucky -- for the number of positive reviews on this site that do not take them to task for their obvious and most egregious shortcomings, specifically: 1) their service attitude which in general is extremely poor, and 2) the cleanliness and upkeep of their rooms (forget daily housekeeping - the bed linens and scant bit of towels you receive when you check it remain with you the whole time). Basically, if you believed what you saw in their business cards, compared with what you are actually getting, then you should also be prepared to be disappointed and shocked...I have to agree wholeheartedly with previous reviews that say this place is run for the comfort and convenience of the people working there, and not their paying guests. The whole thing is depressingly mismanaged by hapless, unaware people who seem to rely on the natural beauty of the setting and therefore make a minimal effort to tend to the needs of the guests.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Volkolas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 October 2013 via mobile

We arrived in Riomaggiore and had to figure out where to get bus tickets and where to meet the bus. Unless you have a car your only way there is the 5 terre bus. We found a couple who were staying at the same place who helped us. The bus ride up had amazing views so it was worth not staying in town. When we arrived the lady was very helpful during check in. She gave us everything we needed. She showed us where our room was from the top. Our room was all the way at the bottom of the 200 steps. We had a little trouble finding our room but once we did and got settled in the view was so amazing! When we got to our room the power was off so we had to call up to figure out what was going on. There had been a bad storm so we weren't sure if it had knocked out the power but they were very helpful in telling us where the breaker was. We had the small studio apartment which included a small stove, fridge, and sink. The pillows were hard as a rock but we found another softer pillow in the cabinet. The shower was Very tiny and we got a lot of water on the floor. The room was very nice overall though. The staff was very nice and helpful. They offer luggage lift if you need it when checking out but you must tell them the day prior and if you miss the bus they will take you down to the town. We enjoyed our stay and wish we could have stayed longer. We will definitely stay again when we come back!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jrosek13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
79 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

This is a very unique property with an excellent location. Yes, there are 200 steps but that is what makes it so interesting. Long ago it was small apartments. We had a suite where the kitchen and living room were separated by a little patio/balcony to the bedroom. It was charming. You could just feel the history. Our suite was old but very clean and well maintained.

The food in the restaurant was very good and the staff friendly. Enjoy a glass of wine and an amazing sunset.

Would go here again for sure.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LoveTraveling56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Riomaggiore
1.3 mi away
Locanda del Sole
Locanda del Sole
#2 of 11 in Riomaggiore
288 reviews
2.5 mi away
Luna di Marzo
Luna di Marzo
#4 of 11 in Riomaggiore
187 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Argentina
Hotel Villa Argentina
#7 of 11 in Riomaggiore
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Alla Marina
Alla Marina
#1 of 33 in Riomaggiore
494 reviews
1.4 mi away
Il BoMa
Il BoMa
#5 of 33 in Riomaggiore
357 reviews
5.1 mi away
Franca Maria Rooms
Franca Maria Rooms
#13 of 43 in Vernazza
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Borgo di Campi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Borgo di Campi

Property: Il Borgo di Campi
Address: Via Litoranea Km 9,400, 19017 Riomaggiore, Italy
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Cinque Terre > Riomaggiore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Riomaggiore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Il Borgo di Campi 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Il Borgo di Campi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Borgo Di Campi Hotel Riomaggiore
Il Borgo Di Campi Riomaggiore
Il Borgo Di Campi Cinque Terre/Riomaggiore, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing