We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place and Great service”
Review of Locanda del Sole

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Locanda del Sole
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Riomaggiore
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 September 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Hotel Locanda Del Sole (Inn of the Sun) for two nights on September 4th and 5th. The hotel provided a very clean, comfortable and a basic room in the great village of Riomaggiore for touring in the Cinque Terra area. The owner Enrico offered incredible service and great advice on the area. He is very friendly and funny and even dropped us to the station without asking him. This enabled us to get an earlier train to Florence than the one we were taking. A new padlock bought in Italy on my bag was defective and could not be opened with the key. Enrico came immediately and broke open the padlock. The breakfast and the cappuccino were great. Prior to our journey Enrico sent us the bus map, train schedules and a map of Riomaggiore and told us to get train tickets a day earlier. I recommend this hotel because of the hospitality shown by Enrico. The town is awesome and has some great restaurants, focaccia bread, and gelato. Wished we had stayed longer.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank uashingishu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (299)
There are newer reviews for Locanda del Sole
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

125 - 131 of 299 reviews

Reviewed 18 September 2012

This hotel is well located within the village of Romaggiore and is one of the few places that offers free parking (but book ahead). Good clean rooms, an excellent hot shower and a lovely balcony to enjoy a glass of the local wine after a day exploring Chinque Terre. The hotel proprietor was exceptionally helpful and offered excellent service. The complimentary breakfast buffet was very good quality and includes complimentary cappucino coffee  Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wes M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2012

I have experienced 3 different places to stay in Cinque Terre-2 in Riomaggiore and one in Manarola. This was THE BEST by far!! Mostly due to Enrico and Dorothy the owners. I was actually staying at a place half way down the hill and he took me and my luggage to the place. In the morning he allowed me to join in the breakfast with my friends. He parked the car for us, hauled up their suitcases, gave us a map of the town which he highligted for us, and called the boat ferry to make sure the boats were running before we went. He could not do enough for us! The terrace was lovely. The breakfast included meat, yogurt, cereal, croissant, lots of spreads, cofee, cuppocino, oj, milk etc. It is at the top of the hill accross from public parking. If you have to roll your luggage up the hill to get to it it''s better if you have luggage with 4 wheels instead of 2-that way you can push it instead of pulling. There are 2 slight landings going up the hill to rest if need be. The room was very spacious, clean, and had a tub which many do not. It was cheaper than the hotel I stayed in which I did not find as nice or accomodating. Both AC and heat worked just fine. The refridgerator was tiny but stocked. My place down the street was noisy due to location next to a bar. This place was quiet. There is a restroom right by the reception area. I cannot say enough good about this place! We are planning to return and stay for a week there! We were there September 13, 2012 and it was still pretty busy. You could tell the service people were ready for the tourists to leave so running into Enrico was an absolute breath of fresh air.

Room Tip: Rooms on second and third tiers have better views. There are photos on the websites.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NurseB11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2012

This hotel has free parking - a rarity in the Cinque Terre - so that's a huge plus if you're driving, as we were.

Others have commented on the steep walk up from the station, and this must be kept in mind for every time you leave your room and go into town or off to one of the other towns - that hill's there, a reminder of the austere and striking beauty of the area, but that may not appeal to you at the end of the day.

The owners were friendly and extremely helpful, familiar with the area and its glories and recent tragedies, so don't fail to ask them for anything you need.

Rooms are motel-style, and several others have commented on having to leave the doors open, but we found the AC worked just fine, and appreciated the lovely patio to sit out on.

We'd certainly go back.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank melrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2012

While in Italy my wife and I (accompanied by two of our grandchildren, aged 17 and 19) we decided to visit, for the first time, Cinque Terre. We drove from Larino, up past Pescara, towards Bologna, Parma, Spezia, and into the Cinque Terre region (roughly and eight hour drive). We had pre-booked at the Locanda del Sole and we were not disappointed. It is a relatively small bed and breakfast (rather than a hotel) with rooms that face out on terraces. Spotlessly clean. Terrific breakfast with croissants, cereals, toast, coffee, juice, and much more all for the asking. Great clientele of families. Quiet. We booked two rooms. Each room had large beds, a small TV, air conditioning, large bathroom with shower, all nicely appointed. What was especially impressive was the host. We had originally booked for two nights, but our plans had changed. Enrico changed the booking without complaint and proceeded to assist us by helping us to plan our stay in Cinque Terre. He did all of this with patience and good humour. One of the great bonuses in staying at Locanda del Sole is that you have free parking. As you might imagine parking could have been something of a nightmare. Instead, we parked within the gates of the lodging. The host even allowed us to stay overtime on the day of book out so that we could sail down the coast to see the other towns of cinque Terre. My wife and I are experienced travellers and we both would give this locale the highest possible rating. The normal fee, per night (inclusive of that large breakfast I mentioned PLUS free parking) is 120 Euros. Additionally, you can walk down the street a short, short distance to the little port of Riomaggiore. If you're Googling the site, it is located at Via Santuario, 114. Please mention that Dr. Robert Gardner and Anna Gardner recommended the location. You will find an atmosphere that would be difficult to duplicate anywhere and the service is truly excellent. Have a great time in Cinque Terre. It is well worth the visit. Incidentally, we travelled there during the height of the holiday season in August. We had be told that it would be busy and that the highways would be jammed. Not true. The roads were almost empty and the little towns were pleasantly bustling with tourists from every corner of the world.
Dr.Robert Gardner and Anna Gardner.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank vicoduomo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2012

"Locanda del Sole" is an absolutely nice place: with very clean rooms, good breakfast and very kind and helpful host Enrico. Here you can get everything you need, if you want to rest after the long day full of impressions sightseeing in Cinque Terre. We spent 6 nights here and got a nice, clean and spacious room ("Locanda del Sole" is located in the nice and quiet part uphill Riomaggiore), also rich breakfast with great Enrico's homemade capuccino and espresso. Ant, of course, the main thing is that we left "Locanda del Sole" with the feeling, that one day we would like to come back here again. Thank you, Enrico, for your kindness, which made our holidays completely perfect.

Best regards from Rima / Lithuania.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rima J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2012 via mobile

Our family stayed here for 3 days and it was a lovely base of operations for exploring Cinque Terre. It is up a steep hill which made it difficult with our luggage from train station but we relished the workout after all of the delicious meals we had eaten! Enrico was wonderful and very accommodating! Rooms are very clean and Continental breakfast (delicious croissants and cappuccino) was great!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nohonor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Riomaggiore
1.2 mi away
Luna di Marzo
Luna di Marzo
#4 of 11 in Riomaggiore
199 reviews
5.5 mi away
Albergo Marina
Albergo Marina
#16 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
622 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Argentina
Hotel Villa Argentina
#8 of 11 in Riomaggiore
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Hotel Monterosso Alto
Hotel Monterosso Alto
#18 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
172 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hotel Porto Roca
Hotel Porto Roca
#8 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
600 reviews
0.1 mi away
Locanda Ca da Iride
Locanda Ca da Iride
#5 of 11 in Riomaggiore
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Locanda del Sole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Locanda del Sole

Address: Via del Santuario 114, 19017 Riomaggiore, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Cinque Terre > Riomaggiore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Riomaggiore
#4 Family Hotel in Riomaggiore
Price Range: £89 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Locanda del Sole 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Locanda del Sole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Locanda Del Sole Riomaggiore
Locanda Del Sole Hotel Riomaggiore
Locanda Del Sole Cinque Terre/Riomaggiore, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing