We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Locanda del Sole... great for the price.”
Review of Locanda del Sole

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Locanda del Sole
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Riomaggiore
Certificate of Excellence
Edmonton, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Locanda del Sole... great for the price.”
Reviewed 10 September 2013

I stayed here some time ago with my girlfriend. For the price, it is a nice little spot. Comfortable beds, air conditioned, and the room we stayed in had a large shared balcony, with glimpses of the sea. We had a nice evening one night with a German couple enjoying some wine.

The rooms are simple. But the get the job done. Quiet, cool, clean, and comfortable.

Note - This hotel is up the hill, so expect a bit of a hike. It wasn't difficult for myself, being athletic. But there were quite a few "heavy" American's curing the hill as we walked past them on the way up.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    179
    99
    18
    2
    0
See reviews for
34
199
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Evanston, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013

From the train station it's a 10-15 minute hike up the main (almost only) Riomaggiore street to Locanda del Sole, and the rooms are on two terraces even higher up the hill above the hotel office. Our reward for this climbing was a pleasant room with also a sizable patio. And while the views may not be the breathtaking ones seen in guidebooks, they proved to be an excellent backdrop for a late outdoor dinner of pizza brought up from the town. The room itself does not have a view except onto the terrace, but it is of good size and well furnished, and the air conditioner cooled it down quickly.

The owners were very helpful with advice on seeing the Cinque Terre towns, and provided a satisfying breakfast.

The hotel is actually a few blocks past the end of the picturesque no-car zone, but that also guarantees a degree of quiet. As a base for daily exploration, we found the location to be as good as any apparent alternatives. (The main trail from Riomaggiore was closed, so we did our hiking at a different point.) There are certainly other hotels that are more central to the old cities, but also others that are much farther from the action.

Room Tip: The last (westernmost) room on each terrace has the best view out over the hills.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob4er
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Nice hotel at the top of the town. The drive by car to the hotel wasn't as bad as some made it out to be. There was a private parking lot at the hotel which is a huge advantage since it is very hard to find parking in the town. Enrico was a wonderful host, very cheerful and helpful with restaurant recommendations, boat and train schedules. The room was clean and the A/C was nice to come back to after a long hot day hiking and visiting the other towns. After walking up the hill to the hotel you need to climb some more stairs to get to your room.

Our group loved staying here, definitely would stay again and would recommend to anyone looking for a hotel in the town.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NGOWFAMILY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maroochydore, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

After a very steep climb from the train station, I was relieved to be met by Enrico at the front gate of this charming B&B. I recommend the bus for the faint hearted! It wasn't so much the venue that we found so amazing, as the owner - Enrico! He couldn't have been more helpful and cheerful and it felt really comfortable coming back to the hotel to be welcomed by his beaming smile at the end of a big day out. Loved staying here - but you've been warned regarding the hill !!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MEG51E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Louis
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Enrico was a wonderful host and he has a nice hotel. The rooms were clean and well appointed. We stayed 2 days and were happy with our choice. Note that while the hotel is within walking distance, it is mostly up a STEEP hill. If you have lots of luggage, you might want to take the local bus or a cab from the station in Riomaggiore. Breakfast was delightful although we would have appreciated it to be served earlier in the morning. We wanted to get out on the hiking trails early in the day due to the heat, and breakfast hours did not begin until 8:30, very late for American standards.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank beber1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

My husband suffers from a cardiac condition that requires a hospital visit to sort out. While staying in Riomaggiore at this wonderful hotel, we had an unexpected occurence of this problem. After discussing it with our host he organised for his wife to take us to the nearest town in their car so we could attend the hospital there. He was kindness itself as was his wife even tho our Italian is almost non existent, he made phone calls and sought advice for us that was far and away past what we would have expected. Enrico and Maria take a bow, you have made our trip to Italy with your warm hospitality and your desire to please. We had a magnificent stay with you and would definitely recommend your hotel to anyone planning a visit to this wonderful scenic part of Italy. Enrico concluded his kindness by making sure we were safely taken to the station to carry on out trip without the need to carry our bags down the hill. We had the most wonderful breakfasts, beautiful evenings out on the patio outside our room and our every need was looked after with a smile and a joke. A truly memorable visit. thank you.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the lower terrace if you travel with lots of luggage.This is a town built on the si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gillian r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Korumburra, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013

My adult daughter and I stayed here for 4 nights in May. The hotel is clean, beds abit soft, but the owner Enrico is a delightful man, who went out of his way to help us. Even when it appeared that there may have been a train strike on the day we were leaving, he offered to drive us to the main station early in the morning. Luckily the strike did not eventuate.If you don't like stairs - this is not the hotel for you. We were on the top level - a climb of 64 stairs but ok for us. Thank you Enrico for making the stay hassel free!

Room Tip: ask for a room on ground level
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank janet a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Riomaggiore
1.2 mi away
Luna di Marzo
Luna di Marzo
#4 of 11 in Riomaggiore
196 reviews
5.5 mi away
Albergo Marina
Albergo Marina
#18 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
609 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Argentina
Hotel Villa Argentina
#7 of 11 in Riomaggiore
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Hotel Monterosso Alto
Hotel Monterosso Alto
#16 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
166 reviews
0.2 mi away
Affittacamere Edi
Affittacamere Edi
#10 of 11 in Riomaggiore
136 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hotel Porto Roca
Hotel Porto Roca
#8 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Locanda del Sole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Locanda del Sole

Property: Locanda del Sole
Address: Via del Santuario 114, 19017 Riomaggiore, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Cinque Terre > Riomaggiore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Riomaggiore
#4 Family Hotel in Riomaggiore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Locanda del Sole 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Locanda del Sole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Locanda Del Sole Riomaggiore
Locanda Del Sole Hotel Riomaggiore
Locanda Del Sole Cinque Terre/Riomaggiore, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing