We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Little Hotel!”
Review of Locanda del Sole

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Locanda del Sole
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Riomaggiore
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 July 2014

A breath of fresh air! Our stay couldn't have been better! The rooms were spacious and spotlessly clean. Since our train didn't put us in Riomaggiore until after 7:00 p.m., we were a little nervous about checking in. But Enrico and his sweet wife, Delos, were waiting for us--in spite of the fact that they had plans for a dinner out. They both made us feel comfortable, confident about our stay in Cinque Terre, and very welcome. Breakfast, including cappuccino made by Delos, was lovely and included in the price of the room. Our terrace was a perfect place to relax in the evening with a beautiful sunset one night, and a beautiful thunderstorm another night. We highly recommend this quaint little place!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Colette H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (309)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

92 - 98 of 309 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2014

We had a spacious, clean, comfortable room with a lovely terrace and ocean view. The hotel proprietor, Enrico, was extremely helpful with anything we needed during our stay from suggestions for hiking to train schedules and more. He prepared a full breakfast daily which was included in the price of the room.

My only suggestion would be to catch the bus up the hill if you arrive with luggage. It's a very steep climb even if you are fit. There are quite a few nice restaurants and a place to do laundry in this cute little town. The train station is an easy walk down the hill. You can catch the train to all of the cities in Cinque Terre from Riomaggiore station.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cindylou123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We could not have stayed at a better place in Riomaggiore. Enrico and his lovely wife Delos were wonderful! Room was clean and bright with private balcony. Breakfast terrific with excellent cappuccinos and croissants and fruit and meat and yogurt and granola. Enrico is an expert on all things Cinque Terre as well as art in Europe. Delos was an excellent resource for our upcoming trip to Barcelona. You don't want to miss Cinque Terre seen through the eyes of Enrico and Delos. Grazie, grazie, grazie.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leekvern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Loved the hotel. Hosts were very nice and the room was perfect with all we needed to make us feel at home. The breakfast was great. Also it is very well located if you want to take the ferry ride or the trekking through the other towns.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathiast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

My partner and I enjoyed a wonderful 3-night stay at Locanda del Sole. Enrico and his wife, Maria Dolores, run a very professional, clean and inviting hotel in Cinque Terre's first town, Riomaggiore. Amenities include free parking, wi-fi, air conditioning, inexpensive mini bar and complimentary breakfast.

The breakfast was absolutely amazing and included savory & sweet croissants, fruits, meat & cheese platter, cereals, pastries, juices and an espresso bar. Enrico makes an incredible cappucino, but he also serves American-style coffee.

The best attribute of Locanda del Sole is the exemplary customer service. Enrico offered to book restaurant reservations before we arrived. We took him up on his offer and he was able to reserve the "Lover's Table" at Ristorante Belforte in Vernazza (ask for Andrea if you go). Enrico carried our luggage to our room, provided umbrellas when it rained and he gave us interesting recommendations for site-seeing all around Cinque Terre.

Riomaggiore also proved to be an excellent home base for traveling around Cinque Terre. The train and water taxi makes frequent stops in the town, and the ristorantes and bars stay open later than most other towns in the area.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank QueenJared
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We stumbled onto the Locanda del Sole on exiting the public parking lot right across the street. We inquired about a room for the next day and Enrico, the owner, took our name to reserve the room. He then was a most gracious host advising us how to reach the trail head for the hike to Manarola. The next morning we called and he advised there was space to leave the car, which we dropped off in the morning and, without having checked in, he rushed us to the bus with instructions and a map of the area so we could start our hike from Volastra to Monterosso via corniglia and Vernazza. When we arrived that evening we check in, he gave us the choice of two rooms, and restaurant recommendations for dinner. The next morning at breakfast chatted with us and gave us suggestions for San Gimignano, our next destination. The room was perfect for our needs and the price was very reasonable. We will definitely stay at Locanda del Sole on our next visit to Cinque Terre. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank crossel50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

After a long day on the train, we arrived at Locanda del Sol to the friendliest face and person we've met in Italy! I want to call him my Italian boyfriend, but I don't think my husband or his wife, for that matter would approve. Frankly? It's not the Taj Mahal, but it's quaint, charming, and very comfortable. Not to mention the cheapest beer in town! But the winning factor is ENRICO! He was always so very pleasant and helpful. He not only helped carry our huge bags up the steps, helped arrange train tickets to Venice, he drove us to the train station! I nominate him San Enrico!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bittcom1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Riomaggiore
1.2 mi away
Luna di Marzo
Luna di Marzo
#5 of 11 in Riomaggiore
202 reviews
0.1 mi away
Locanda Ca da Iride
Locanda Ca da Iride
#4 of 11 in Riomaggiore
114 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Argentina
Hotel Villa Argentina
#9 of 11 in Riomaggiore
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Ca D'Andrean
Hotel Ca D'Andrean
#2 of 2 in Manarola
224 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Marina Piccola
Hotel Marina Piccola
#1 of 2 in Manarola
301 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hotel Porto Roca
Hotel Porto Roca
#8 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Locanda del Sole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Locanda del Sole

Address: Via del Santuario 114, 19017 Riomaggiore, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Cinque Terre > Riomaggiore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Riomaggiore
Price Range: £79 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Locanda del Sole 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Locanda del Sole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Locanda Del Sole Riomaggiore
Locanda Del Sole Hotel Riomaggiore
Locanda Del Sole Cinque Terre/Riomaggiore, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing