We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Off the beaten track-Beautiful View!”
Review of Luna di Marzo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Luna di Marzo
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Riomaggiore
Certificate of Excellence
Pisa, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Off the beaten track-Beautiful View!”
Reviewed 7 September 2013

My Husband and I stayed at this hotel on a recent trip. The Hotel is Very Clean and the rooms are beautiful and spacious. They had a great breakfast that was included and free wifi. The people that run the hotel are very nice and extremely helpful.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sweetwendylou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    104
    63
    13
    4
    4
See reviews for
16
132
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We really enjoyed our stay here. Clean rooms, great breakfast, typically excellent Italian coffee, and spectacular views from the terrace. They even had nice olive soap to match the surrounding trees. The only negative is that it was linked to the center of Rio Maggiore in google maps and it is actually quite far from the shore and from any real downtown area. It is quiet peaceful and nice but not the place if you are looking for some city life.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank paul m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riguepeu
Level Contributor
38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013 via mobile

This hotel is a little off the beaten track but well worth the drive. It has stunning views, clean and adequate rooms and serves a good breakfast, there is free parking in the village but some distance from the hotel if you have lots of heavy baggage. We used a night bag and left all our other clutter in the car as the village seemed safe.The icing on the cake for us was the restaurant bar Gli Ulivi in the village which served excellent dishes and had a convivial atmosphere, the wine that was recommended married perfectly with the fish.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank michaelandpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013 via mobile

I was skeptical at first when my husband and I arrived, but we soon found that the trek down to Manarola was extremely short, and the 45-minute path to Corniglia was the most beautiful part of the cinque terre. (Besides, the trail was closed down below, so all travelers had to venture up to volastra anyway). The innkeeper was the most down-to-earth, professional and nice man. He drove us to Manarola when we really needed a ride, and refused a tip! Anyway, BEST view - unreal...great breakfast...unexpectedly perfect.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RunnerJen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riomaggiore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2013

The room and hotel are spotlessly clean. Breakfast is great. The owner/manager is a great guy who will go out of his way to look after you. You might keep in mind that the walls are very thin so you hear everything in the adjacent rooms so if your unlucky and someone is snoring you'll hear it. Other than that once you find your way there via the bus or your car it's a great place.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
6 Thank Safetifirst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2012

this is my first day here and is unbelievable ... the view is amazing ... it was a long trip to get here (from Milan to here using the train ) but completely worth it ... And the service is great also the food :)

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Carelva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed at Luna di Marzo during August 2012, we found it to be a great hotel in a small, quiet town just outside Manarola. Even though the hotel is not in Riomaggiore itself, we were actually happier, as the little town of Volastra is very nice and quiet (bare in mind we could only find one restaurant (good by the way) in Volastra and the bus service up from Manarola stopped quite early, so if you wanted to go out late at night, this might not be the place for you).

While it wasn't in the centre of one of the big five towns, it was the perfect place to start the hike throughout Cinque Terre. Actually, I think the best walk was from the hotel to Corniglia, through the vineyards while still overlooking the sea, it was absolutely amazing. The main route from Manarola to Corniglia was closed during our stay anyway, so this was the perfect location for us. From Corniglia we were able to walk the coastal route through to Monterosso.

The hotel was clean, the room was large and the breakfast was great!

The service was good, i would definitely recommend this hotel for a couple..

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank LJC85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Riomaggiore
1.2 mi away
Locanda del Sole
Locanda del Sole
#2 of 11 in Riomaggiore
289 reviews
4.4 mi away
Albergo Marina
Albergo Marina
#18 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
587 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hotel Porto Roca
Hotel Porto Roca
#9 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Hotel Monterosso Alto
Hotel Monterosso Alto
#15 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
158 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Argentina
Hotel Villa Argentina
#7 of 11 in Riomaggiore
337 reviews
4.9 mi away
Suisse Hotel Bellevue
Suisse Hotel Bellevue
#13 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luna di Marzo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luna di Marzo

Property: Luna di Marzo
Address: Montello 387 Volastra, 19010 Riomaggiore, Italy
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Cinque Terre > Riomaggiore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Riomaggiore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Luna di Marzo 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luna di Marzo Hotel is located in Volastra in a panoramic position overlooking the sea in the very heart of the Cinque Terre, a UNESCO World Heritage Site since 1997. With its ten rooms, our hotel is surrounded by terraced rows of grapevines and olive trees. It offers to the lucky guests a true foreshortening on the panoramas of the Cinque Terre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Luna di Marzo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luna Di Marzo Riomaggiore
Luna Di Marzo Cinque Terre/Riomaggiore, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing