We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Short visit to Riomaggiore” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Colombo Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Colombo Guesthouse
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Short visit to Riomaggiore”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

Very friendly and welcoming staff, we got printed list of helpful tips about things to do and restaurants. Our room had little kitchen as breakfast was not included. The room we stayed in had beautiful view to the see. The bathroom was clean but small. We stayed with little kids so the steep and narrow stairs to the room was not ideal but we knew what to expect so we were not suprised about that and for two nights this was ok. I would like to come back for hiking in the hills and I would stay again in this guesthouse.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aikamatkailija
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    13
    3
    1
    5
See reviews for
7
24
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed for two nights, and were very happy with this place. It was in riomaggiore centrum, close to everything. 5min walk from the train station. Rooms were spacious, light, clean and of good standard. Breakfast could be purchased right next door. Nice and helpful staff. Highly recommended.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Connie Villemo N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
163 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

This room was great. The AC worked well. The shower was great. The size was decent. IT WAS CLEAN. They sent someone to meet us at the train station when we called and didn't quite know where to go. If we stayed for longer than we did, I would have likely to have rented a suite. There is WIFI if you go to the office. This Guesthouse is a walk from the office - a beautiful walk, but a walk none-the-less. This wasn't terrible, it just meant we had to really unplug - something we should be doing on a vacation anyway. I would recommend this place highly. But if you're going to stay in town for a few days, get a suite, it will most likely suit your needs better.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank j0squared
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
199 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

Caribana Guesthouse has more than one place to stay in the town of Riomaggiore, we stayed in the one in the centre of the village close to the bulk of the restaurants and the train station. Sadly this Guesthouse did not have any sea view rooms available other than looking out the window and craning your neck, this was not really an issue for us as to be honest we spent very little time in the room. I booked 2 rooms for ourselves and our friends who were travelling with us and both rooms were exactly the same, simple and clean. The showers worked well and towels were changed during our 2 night stay. They do not offer breakfast but this is not an issue in our opinion with cafe's very close by and lovely delicatessens which you can get food to take on your walks. The guesthouse does have steep steps and is at the bottom of a steep hill however Cinque Terre is all about hills and walking so again not a problem for us, however not a great location for those less mobile. There is no WI-FI appart from in the office (again not a problem if like us your trip is to enjoy the walks and the beautiful towns. The only downside is the office has limited opening hours, although i think they will accommodate you if you let them know in advance that you will be arriving out of hours. Not sure what would happen if unexpectedly delayed? I would recommend this as a good base and well priced for the area.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

My husband and I stayed in Manuela studio for 3 nights.
Room was clean,has a small kitchenette with fridge, utensils, etc....
The views from the windows were brilliant and worth the price.
Our hosts were kind, friendly and spoke English which was nice as our Italian is bad. All of the five towns are wonderful but Riomaggiore is still the village I would have chosen to stay in, the most authentic one.
We enjoyed our time and would definitely stay here again

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Eva F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

We stayed in Giulia for two nights.
It was clean, charming,the balcony is stunning and the best panoramic view I have ever had; wonderful place to have dinner and watch the sunset.
We met Amy and her husband at the reception, couldn't been more accommodating and friendly with us; they provided train schedule, ferry schedule and a very helpful information packet.
Loved our stay, wish we could stay longer. Can't recommend enough.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kate p P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013 via mobile

Amy was a great host. She gave us tips and suggestions for how to make the most of our stay in 5 Terre.The accommodations were clean and quiet right in centre of the town and close to everything.
Riomaggiore is a lovely place so we will definitely be back and will stay at Caribana.


Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Andy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riomaggiore hotels
1.1 mi away
Luna di Marzo
Luna di Marzo
#4 of 10 in Riomaggiore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
0.2 mi away
Locanda del Sole
Locanda del Sole
#2 of 10 in Riomaggiore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Argentina
Hotel Villa Argentina
#6 of 10 in Riomaggiore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Affittacamere Edi
Affittacamere Edi
#8 of 10 in Riomaggiore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
1.6 mi away
Due Gemelli
Due Gemelli
#7 of 10 in Riomaggiore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mar Mar
Mar Mar
#7 of 21 in Riomaggiore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colombo Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colombo Guesthouse

Property: Colombo Guesthouse
Address: Via Sant'Antonio 50, 19017 Riomaggiore, Italy
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Cinque Terre > Riomaggiore
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 21 Speciality Lodging in Riomaggiore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Colombo Guesthouse 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, HRS and Ebookers so you can book your Colombo Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colombo Guesthouse Cinque Terre/Riomaggiore, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing